ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z97 Pro4 Ethernet
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z97 Pro4 Ethernet

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
cochinada View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cochinada Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Z97 Pro4 Ethernet
    Posted: 10 Feb 2016 at 6:39am
Hi,

I have this motherboard and although ASRock advertises "Intel Gigabit LAN", on the Device Manager /Network Adapters I see this Intel (R) PROSet Version 20.4.207.0 with Link Speed of only 100 Mbps.

How come?

Thanks.
Back to Top
greddy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Feb 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote greddy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2016 at 3:22pm
What's the exact speed you connected for now?. Through Gigabit LAN Hub?
Back to Top
cochinada View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cochinada Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2016 at 4:15pm
Originally posted by greddy greddy wrote:

What's the exact speed you connected for now?. Through Gigabit LAN Hub?


Actually I was thinking about this. I have a switch connected to a router but the switch is almost certain only 100Mbps. However I was still expecting to see the 'maximum' capabilities on the device manager, or is this normal and because of the switch? I mean, if I replace it with a 1Gbps capable will I see also an increase in link speed in the Device Manager?

Thanks!
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Feb 2016 at 10:05pm
It negotiates to the first device it connects to. In your instance 10/100, as the switch is now the limiting factor.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.076 seconds.