ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AMD CPU Onboard QC5000 series update ?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

AMD CPU Onboard QC5000 series update ?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Brane212 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18 Feb 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Brane212 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AMD CPU Onboard QC5000 series update ?
    Posted: 18 Feb 2016 at 2:54am
Hi to all.

We have an application that we were so far tried to fill with AM1 platform ( small, but lively computer with optimized Linux for schools and office work etc), but since no goo d AM1 board has Displayport and a few other bits, we startd looking into CPU onboard serise with A4-5000 etc chips. 

These are becoming cheaper by the day and now there is no big price difference WRT to similar AM1 baord combo.

But A4-5000 chip runs only up to 1.5GHz and we are used to Athlon 5350's speeds ( quad core 2.05GHz).

As I understand, AMD has presented Athlon's 5350 rough equivalent under the name A6-5200 and some XXX-5000 boards have been updated with new CPU.

I like Asrock's QC5000 a lot and we would like to migrate there, if there is coming 5200 upgrade.

If it had speedier CPU, QC5000-ITX/PH would be _ideal_ for me. 
It small, it ha s a sh*tload of video outputs, and even mini-PCIe and 4 USB-3.0 ports on the back with two more on the board.

So, is there coming QC5200-ITX/PH or similar board or should we look elsewhere ?

Best regards to all and keep the good work you have been doing...





Back to Top
Brane212 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18 Feb 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Brane212 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Feb 2016 at 10:48pm
One suggestion:

Upgrade to A6-5200 is nice, but AMD has on their "G SoC" platform a few more intersting models:


I assume those are "pin-comptible" to old A4/A6 models.

Jump from 1.5GHz to 2GHz is nice, but they offer even more- ther is 4-core 2.5GHz model with 25W envelope.
I can't reach their page at the moment ( 404-error), so I can't give you the chip's name, but it would tbe cool if you could use one of those instead of A6-5200...




Back to Top
Brane212 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18 Feb 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Brane212 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Feb 2016 at 12:15am
It works now:

http://www.amd.com/Documents/AMDGSeriesSOCProductBrief.pdf

Look at the GX-424CC: 4 jag+ cores, 2.4GHz, 497MHz GPU, 25WTDP. And it can use DDR3-1866.

A bitof a brake on GPU clk so that CPU can reach higher within the 25W envelope, but stil very respectable, especially since GPU probably can be OC-ed if one is willing to churn a few W more...
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Feb 2016 at 8:13am
Originally posted by Brane212 Brane212 wrote:

"G SoC"


Nope. Not gonna work.

The BGA769 G series processors you linked are soldered directly to the motherboard. One would need a big BIG money IR re-flow solder station to replace them.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Brane212 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18 Feb 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Brane212 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Feb 2016 at 8:33am
1. I did not suggest replacing SoC on existing specimens by customers , but for Asrock to upgrade their the design into new model that would have minimal changes except for the SoC itself.

2. refflow is not that inaccessible. I have Ersa's IR2000 ( infrared) for rework, a couple colleagues have hot-air production reflow etc.

We are about to do cute, small mini-ITX enclosure with accompanying mini PSU unit, cooling etc. It should be Athlon 5350 with Asus AM1I-A AM1 board , but I'd much rather use Asrock's QC5000 board, were it to have beefier APU unit. A6-5200 would be fine, and that GX-424CC even better.

3. Are you suuggeting that Asrock existing QC5000 boards have ZIF socket ? 
I understood "AMD Chip on board" as soldered, not socketed solution...


Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Feb 2016 at 12:34pm
Knowing you have that equipment at hand I'll back out of here with it being my understanding you have a handle on this.

You're one of a very VERY small percentage of posters that does. Mea Culpa.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 13.059 seconds.