ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 1333MHz ram runs only 666MHz
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

1333MHz ram runs only 666MHz

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
jmorten View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Feb 2016
Location: Danmark
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jmorten Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 1333MHz ram runs only 666MHz
    Posted: 23 Feb 2016 at 6:10am
Hi
I have a ram problem, on my E35LM1 motherboard I have fitted a Kingston ValueRAM DDR3-1333 SC - 4GB, but a test with Speccy shows that it only runs 666 MHz, why does it not run faster?
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5427
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2016 at 6:17am
666 x 2 = 1333

Most reporting apps report the unmultiplied clock Wink
Back to Top
jmorten View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Feb 2016
Location: Danmark
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jmorten Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Feb 2016 at 11:26pm
Thank you it makes sense, but there is a program that shows the proper speed for the ram block?
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5427
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Feb 2016 at 1:08am
Here is a screenshot from CPUz of my memory:



As you can see it lists the unmultiplied clock in brackets. If your RAM is showing say 333 in brackets (in the case of your DDR3 1333) then you know it is working at half it's rated speed. If it shows 666 as you stated in your first post then it is working as it should. This is the reason for the DDR adage at the front of the RAM type, DDR = Double Data Rate and the number after that denotes generation so DDR, DDR2, DDR3 and DDR4 with each successive generation improving performance. So in theory DDR @400 (200mhz x2) should be slower than DDR2 @400 which will be slower than DDR3 clocked  @400 etc

I hope this clarifies things for you. The DRAM frequency is always listed as the unmultiplied figure. CPUz is the go to tool to check this but even in speccy it lists RAM as "Dual/Single Channel (model) @666mhz". Note that it has "mhz" on the end, this usually means that it is listing the DRAM frequency not the rated speed.


Edited by Xaltar - 25 Feb 2016 at 1:10am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.