ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 5th Titan Z = 'bF" mobo startup error
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

5th Titan Z = 'bF" mobo startup error

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
Author
Message
GPUnk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 Jun 2015
Location: CT
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GPUnk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2015 at 9:18am
I did not see the XRam listed as a parameter in the BIOS, but when I did look it up, if I am not mistaken, it actually looked like a utility you could download and then tweak your system with.  

Just so I am getting you, you were imagining me seeing an already existing BIOS modifiable that I would be able to disable right?  Or, were you actually thinking of me downloading the external utility and then tweaking something?

I understand now that the OS offers a user a viewing lens to the BIOS.  I guess a desirable BIOS will let everything load if you 'ask' it to properly, and a 'good' OS will be able to descriptively tell you what the issue specifically is, if there exists one, and give you possible options to rectify it.  It is also more clear to me that there is not ever really a 'GPU-limit', but rather a 'resource limit'. In my case a resource limit may effectively be limiting the # of GPUs, without actually having had an intent to do so, per-say.  It is because of this my search continues in looking to see what that resource is, and if I can negotiate with some part of the BIOS and OS to yield that additional resource.

Kind of imagine it like the Matrix, trying to negotiate with the process to free the GPU core.  Xaltar, you thus far have been both a Morpheus and an Oracle.  Thanks!... 
X79 Extreme 11 / Intl Core i7 3930K/ 32gb DDR3 1600 Corsair Vengnce/ Win 7 64bit / Thermaltake 1500 W PSU / GTX Titan X
GPU Rendering - 4 Titan Z (external USB 3.0 PCIE riser)/ EVGA 1600 W PSU (2)

Back to Top
odiebugs View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 193
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote odiebugs Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2015 at 9:43am
Do you have a BIOS or a UEFI ? 

So someone can help you, can you please post all the  (model numbers ) of your hardware.
asrocking
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Europe
Status: Offline
Points: 5885
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Jul 2015 at 12:21pm
Originally posted by GPUnk GPUnk wrote:

I did not see the XRam listed as a parameter in the BIOS, but when I did look it up, if I am not mistaken, it actually looked like a utility you could download and then tweak your system with.  

Just so I am getting you, you were imagining me seeing an already existing BIOS modifiable that I would be able to disable right?  Or, were you actually thinking of me downloading the external utility and then tweaking something?

I understand now that the OS offers a user a viewing lens to the BIOS.  I guess a desirable BIOS will let everything load if you 'ask' it to properly, and a 'good' OS will be able to descriptively tell you what the issue specifically is, if there exists one, and give you possible options to rectify it.  It is also more clear to me that there is not ever really a 'GPU-limit', but rather a 'resource limit'. In my case a resource limit may effectively be limiting the # of GPUs, without actually having had an intent to do so, per-say.  It is because of this my search continues in looking to see what that resource is, and if I can negotiate with some part of the BIOS and OS to yield that additional resource.

Kind of imagine it like the Matrix, trying to negotiate with the process to free the GPU core.  Xaltar, you thus far have been both a Morpheus and an Oracle.  Thanks!... 

Hehe, glad to be of help :)

Xfast RAM is an app Wink I was suggesting you remove it if you have it installed. It improves performance but also gives access to the "memory hole", removing it may allow additional resources for your GPUs, I doubt it but its worth a shot, you can always install it again if it doesn't help Smile
Back to Top
GPUnk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 Jun 2015
Location: CT
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GPUnk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jul 2015 at 3:15am
So, was waiting for an answer on the ability of the user (via a specific parameter, or modification of settings) to modify address space allocation through the BIOS.  ASRock R&D replied:

"Because the address randomly changed may cause some unexpected symptom or error on the system, our R&D team need to get the whole system including all devices, and then do the further check."

I guess I am now past the 'try this (BIOS)' stage, and if I wanted to get any more insights it would require sending in my system for an eval.  They don't have any ready answers or suggestions, and it appears they think testing would involve random and unexpected phenomenon, which leads me to believe I'm at the resource limit.  I'm not going to send in for testing, maybe I'm past the point of where ASRock's own ready knowledge goes.  But I'll keep my eye out for any new info that comes my way.  By the way, I tried adding the 660Ti as a 12th connected GPU, and I hit the "bF" error again, even with the 4G decoding enabled.  I also tried turning off any peripheral I could find in BIOS (USB 3.0, Audio, Lan), but to no avail.  Anyone interested, my hardware is in my signature.

Xaltar, you actually mentioned music recording in one of your earlier posts, and what is odd is that I never had any issue with removing and reinstalling my Creative Soundblaster X-Fi audio card.  Given that it was going into a PCI lane, I thought it might get muffed up with all the tinkering.  But nope, always works.  Guess my PC likes music production...!  

X79 Extreme 11 / Intl Core i7 3930K/ 32gb DDR3 1600 Corsair Vengnce/ Win 7 64bit / Thermaltake 1500 W PSU / GTX Titan X
GPU Rendering - 4 Titan Z (external USB 3.0 PCIE riser)/ EVGA 1600 W PSU (2)

Back to Top
GPUnk View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 Jun 2015
Location: CT
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GPUnk Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Dec 2015 at 5:57am
Xaltar, how have you been.  A little late on this, but I was eventually able to get the 11th Core working, having a Titan X as primary, and the full 5 Titan Zs for rendering as external GPU cards.  I then proceeded to test a 12th GPU (my old 660Ti) and it worked, so I got another Z and successfully booted into Win 7 64 with 13 GPU.  What made this all work was disabling the LSI SATA ports in my BIOS and using strictly the 6 default SATA ports.  It was funny, just by trial I discovered it.  I would find after messing with BIOS some drives weren't recognized but all GPU worked.  I then put 2 and 2 together and realized that the drives all had something in common, connection to the extra LSI SATA ports (on the X79 Extreme11).  So I moved them to my reg SATA interface on the board, shut off LSI in BIOS, and now I have it all working.

I have since went on to buy water-blocks for all 6 Titan Z cards, and I have them water-cooled.  That was crazy, a lot of trial and error getting that set up right, but now have it all running.



X79 Extreme 11 / Intl Core i7 3930K/ 32gb DDR3 1600 Corsair Vengnce/ Win 7 64bit / Thermaltake 1500 W PSU / GTX Titan X
GPU Rendering - 4 Titan Z (external USB 3.0 PCIE riser)/ EVGA 1600 W PSU (2)

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.