ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X99 OC Formula 3.1 Fails with 8 Sticks Ram
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X99 OC Formula 3.1 Fails with 8 Sticks Ram

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Dumor3D View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dumor3D Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X99 OC Formula 3.1 Fails with 8 Sticks Ram
    Posted: 21 Mar 2016 at 3:12am
I'm trying to go to 64GB of ram without success

ASRock X99 OC Formula/3.1 LGA 2011-v3 Intel X99 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 Extended ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core i7-5930K Haswell-E 6-Core 3.5 GHz LGA 2011-v3 140W BX80648I75930K Desktop Processor

G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2800 (PC4 22400) Memory Kit Model F4-2800C15Q-32GRBB

Are the original specs. A few months later, I order the same G.SKILL 4 stick ram kit.

When I added the additional for sticks, UEFI showed that stick B1 and B2 are not available. So, I removed the old ram and placed the new RAM in those A1, B1, C1 and D1 positions to check for bad RAM. The system found the RAM and booted properly to 32GB available. I added back in, 2 of the old sticks, in A2 and B2 (note that B1 and B2 are now populated) and the system found the ram and booted up properly to 48GB available. When I added back in the last 2 sticks of my proven good RAM, oddly, B1 and B2 are no longer available. When I look at the bios broswer, mousing over the slots shows all eight sticks of RAM and list properly the names of each stick.

Also, checking the RAM setup, which is on Auto, the voltage and timing specs are all identified properly.

I'm at a loss here? Any help on this? I did do an internet check for a new UEFI bios update and it said I was on the latest version.
Back to Top
Dumor3D View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dumor3D Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Mar 2016 at 3:20am
I should have noted that in the configuration with 8 sticks, only B1 and B2 show as not available or not installed (I've forgotten the exact message), leaving me with 48GB available. If I go on to boot into Win 7 Pro with the 8 sticks installed, it seems to try to use all 8 and gets unstable and crashes.

I did not swap out the sticks in B1 and B2 which had worked on the previous boot before adding C2 and D2, which held sticks that had worked flawlessly since the new build a few months ago and then worked again as far as UEFI was concerned.
Back to Top
asrocksg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Mar 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote asrocksg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Mar 2016 at 10:07pm
It appears the board can only support 4 sticks according to the memory compatibility. You either gotta return the other four sticks or buy the ram that has been known to work on all 8 slots. 

i dont know which ones are compadible. In fact I had the same issue with you but with a trident z so now I ordered some adata ddr4's. 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.