ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z77 Extreme4 - USB 3.0 not working
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z77 Extreme4 - USB 3.0 not working

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
fox85 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Apr 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote fox85 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Z77 Extreme4 - USB 3.0 not working
    Posted: 04 Apr 2016 at 4:36pm
Hi,
I have a Z77 Extreme4 motherboard and the USB 3.0 ports work only as 2.0
I've upgraded drivers both Intel and Asmedia for USB 3.0 but no change.
 
The issue occurs with the front and also with the rear USB 3.0
I'm using Win 7 64bit and the BIOS version is 2.90.
Strangely when I start the computer with the device already inserted it will be recognized but if I unplug the device, this is no longer recognized if I try to reconnect...if I plug this in the 2.0 port works normally.

Can anyone help?
Thanks
Back to Top
Lex Tertia View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 May 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lex Tertia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 May 2016 at 3:08pm
When you say "it will be recognized", do you mean recognized correctly as USB 3.0 Device?
I'm asking because I have the Z77 Pro with a similiar or may be the same problem. If my computer is off and I boot it up USB 3.0 are recognized as USB 2.0 only. Device Manger only lists "Generic USB-Hub".

A workaround for this is everytime I cold boot the PC (For me once a day), as soon as it boots into windows I click restart. This time the Device-Manager shows "Generic High Speed USB-Hub (SuperSpeed)" and windows stops complaining that my devices can't reach full speed. Annoying.

Like I said this only occurs on a cold start.
Asrock Z77 Pro4
Intel i7 3770
2x8GB RAM
Geforce 770
Windows 10 Pro x64
Back to Top
Lex Tertia View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 May 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lex Tertia Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2016 at 4:53pm
Found a fix for this problem in a German forum by user sapkra


Control Panel --> Power Options --> Choose what power buttons do --> click on "Change settings that are currently unavailable" --> uncheck "Turn on fast startup (recommended)" -- Save changes
Asrock Z77 Pro4
Intel i7 3770
2x8GB RAM
Geforce 770
Windows 10 Pro x64
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.