ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - G31M-VS2 - High density memory compatibil
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

G31M-VS2 - High density memory compatibil

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Tzani View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Jun 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tzani Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: G31M-VS2 - High density memory compatibil
    Posted: 08 Jun 2015 at 3:09pm
Hello,

Dos anyone knows if the G31M-VS2 motherboard is compatible with 4GB DDR2 High Density modules?

***** Topic moved to Technical Support > Intel Motherboards *****


Edited by parsec - 09 Jun 2015 at 11:20am
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 5003
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jun 2015 at 11:39am
The memory QVL for the G31M-VS2 includes five models of 4GB DDR2 DIMMs that were tested in this board. You can see that here:

http://www.asrock.com/mb/memory/G31M-VS2.pdf

So in general, it is possible to use 4GB DIMMs in this board.

I suggest using the latest BIOS version for your board if you decide to use 4GB DIMMs:

http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/G31M-VS2/?cat=Download&os=BIOS
Back to Top
Tzani View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 08 Jun 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tzani Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jun 2015 at 3:51pm
I wanted to buy this kit: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/281608789184?euid=6cefd68b644147ff8cac74de812f1dba&cp=1

It is stated that only AMD chipsets support this memory as it is High Density.

I was wonderign if it will be supported on my mainboard.
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5666
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Jun 2015 at 4:16pm
Generally speaking with RAM you don't want to take the risk unless you are easily able to return the product. You will not likely get a definitive response on that specific RAM. My suggestion would be to look at the supported RAM list and try and find something on there that you know will work. 
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.