ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z170M Extreme4 & memory
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z170M Extreme4 & memory

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
175pixels View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Apr 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 175pixels Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Z170M Extreme4 & memory
    Posted: 27 Apr 2016 at 8:25pm
I recently built my new machine with a Z170M Extreme4 motherboard, a 6600K CPU cooled using a Cooler Master Seidon 120, and 2 8gb sticks of GSkill Ripjaws V F4-320016D-16GVKB memory. I am able to use the easy OC function to boost my CPU to 4.6 without a hiccup and the temps stay low. 

My problem is the memory. It is rated for 3200 and the board supports even faster ram when OC, but when I set the XMP profile I can't get the PC to boot to windows. I'm running the latest 1.70 BIOS and I've checked the DRAM voltage and it is at 1.35 so I'm wondering what I may be doing wrong, or if I should return the memory and save some money by buying memory that is meant to run at stock 2133? 

Thanks in advance.

Edit: forgot to mention I'm on Windows 10.


Edited by 175pixels - 27 Apr 2016 at 8:43pm
ASROCK Z170M Extreme4
6600K
16gb DDR4
Cooler Master Seidon 120
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5441
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Apr 2016 at 9:56pm
Have you tried manually setting your memory speed in the UEFI? I would start at 2133 then push it up a notch every time it boots successfully. Once you top out and are no longer able to boot into the OS drop it down a notch and then run memtest to make sure it is running properly. Also make sure your RAM is in the correct slots for dual DIMM operation, slots A2 and B2 preferentially according to your user manual.
Back to Top
175pixels View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Apr 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 175pixels Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Apr 2016 at 12:19am
Yes, they are in slots A2 & B2 per the manual.
I took your advice to do it manually and so far I am able to get it to boot at 2600, running memteset to verify stability.
ASROCK Z170M Extreme4
6600K
16gb DDR4
Cooler Master Seidon 120
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.061 seconds.