ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ASRock X99M Extreme 4 Motherboard - MCE issue
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

ASRock X99M Extreme 4 Motherboard - MCE issue

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
ryoko227 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Jun 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ryoko227 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ASRock X99M Extreme 4 Motherboard - MCE issue
    Posted: 21 Jun 2016 at 10:04am

I've been using this motherboard with an Intel Xeon E5-2630-V3 in our office server for about 2 months now. About a week or so ago we started getting MCE (Machine Check Errors) in the syslog as unRAID (Linux) was booting up. Nearly immediately and reliably, the Virtual machines (win10pro64) would crash the entire server while running. After pulling the entire machine apart and trying all parts (including the CPU) in another (personal) machine I was unable to reproduce the errors outside of this motherboard. After rebuilding the server using this motherboard I am still receiving the MCEs during boot, though now the VMs do not seem to crash. I am fairly confident due to the above troubleshooting that there is a physical issue with the MB itself. I have of course physically examined the motherboard and socket, but have found no visible issues. I have tried changing setting in BIOS to try and isolate and disable the issue to no avail. The mcelog (logged below) denotes the error as being related to the cpu cache, but I'm of the thinking that it has more to do with how the MB communicates with those banks, than some issue with the cpu itself.

 

As we are a small school office and really can't afford to have the server down at this point, I'm hoping (grasping at straws) that there is someone out there that might have another suggestion or experience in this matter, aside from sending it in for repair/replacement. We are completely open to any and all suggestions. 




~# mcelog
Hardware event. This is not a software error.
MCE 0
CPU 0 BANK 17
MISC 8cf00031e0000086 ADDR 5f000000
TIME 1466125355 Fri Jun 17 10:02:35 2016
MCG status:
MCi status:
Error overflow
Uncorrected error
MCi_MISC register valid
MCi_ADDR register valid
Processor context corrupt
MCA: Generic CACHE Level-2 Eviction Error
STATUS ee2000000004017a MCGSTATUS 0
MCGCAP 7000c16 APICID 0 SOCKETID 0
CPUID Vendor Intel Family 6 Model 63
Hardware event. This is not a software error.
MCE 1
CPU 0 BANK 18
MISC 1cf00031e0000086 ADDR 5f100040
TIME 1466125355 Fri Jun 17 10:02:35 2016
MCG status:
MCi status:
Error overflow
Uncorrected error
MCi_MISC register valid
MCi_ADDR register valid
Processor context corrupt
MCA: Generic CACHE Level-2 Eviction Error
STATUS ee2000000004017a MCGSTATUS 0
MCGCAP 7000c16 APICID 0 SOCKETID 0
CPUID Vendor Intel Family 6 Model 63
Hardware event. This is not a software error.
MCE 2
CPU 0 BANK 19
MISC 54f00031e0000086 ADDR 5f100000
TIME 1466125355 Fri Jun 17 10:02:35 2016
MCG status:
MCi status:
Error overflow
Uncorrected error
MCi_MISC register valid
MCi_ADDR register valid
Processor context corrupt
MCA: Generic CACHE Level-2 Eviction Error
STATUS ee2000000004017a MCGSTATUS 0
MCGCAP 7000c16 APICID 0 SOCKETID 0
CPUID Vendor Intel Family 6 Model 63


Edited by ryoko227 - 21 Jun 2016 at 3:50pm
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5825
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 2016 at 12:02pm
What BIOS version are you running? I am going to guess version 3.0 or greater? 
Back to Top
ryoko227 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Jun 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ryoko227 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 2016 at 3:47pm
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

What BIOS version are you running? I am going to guess version 3.0 or greater? 

Clap Xaltar, a god among men. Thank you for such a simple question that ultimately led to a simple fix.

For posterity's sake, I'll give the run down. After having had no issues for so long, updating the BIOS never even entered into my mind as being a possible fix. However, the motherboard was running 1.9 so I figured being out of other options I would try flashing it based off your question; entirely certain that it wouldn't fix the issue Tongue. Turned on all my virtualization options after a successful BIOS update, and she came up with no MCEs. Shocked, grateful, and elated; I wearily brought up the VMs. Again with no MCEs.

Clap Bravo sir, bravo. Thank you!!!!! Clap


Edited by ryoko227 - 21 Jun 2016 at 3:49pm
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5825
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Jun 2016 at 5:16pm
Happy to help Smile
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.