ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z170 Extreme4 with G.Skill F4-2800C15D-16GVRB kit
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z170 Extreme4 with G.Skill F4-2800C15D-16GVRB kit

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
D32_bobjob View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Jul 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote D32_bobjob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Z170 Extreme4 with G.Skill F4-2800C15D-16GVRB kit
    Posted: 30 Jul 2016 at 9:26pm
Hi,

bought this together with a i5-6500. As soon as I put a module into one of the A*-slots the board does not boot, it cycles 00-19-00-4C. If I put them into the B*-slots, they work at least in single channel mode.

I know that this module is not in the compatibility list(while buying it I got this instead of F4-2400C15D-16GVR by accident). 

Is there a chance that the modules will work any time soon after a BIOS update(no problem playing Beta tester) or will I have to get new ones?

Greatings
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jul 2016 at 9:54pm
Most likely the sticks aren't compatible.

I trust G.Skills compatibility list. Like, really trust. They don't list that F4-2800C15D-16GVRB as compatible with your MB.

Shamelessly I'll plug G.Skill. It's the only memory I use. See the list below for what G.Skill guarantees and stands behind 100% as compatible.

http://www.gskill.com/en/configurator?manu=52&chip=2484&model=2514
 
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 5000
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jul 2016 at 10:02pm
Originally posted by D32_bobjob D32_bobjob wrote:

Hi,

bought this together with a i5-6500. As soon as I put a module into one of the A*-slots the board does not boot, it cycles 00-19-00-4C. If I put them into the B*-slots, they work at least in single channel mode.

I know that this module is not in the compatibility list(while buying it I got this instead of F4-2400C15D-16GVR by accident). 

Is there a chance that the modules will work any time soon after a BIOS update(no problem playing Beta tester) or will I have to get new ones?

Greatings


What UEFI version are you using now? The latest is 3.40 dated 7/25/16:

http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Z170%20Extreme4/?cat=Download&os=BIOS

ASRock is trying with their recent Z170 UEFI updates to increase compatibility with more DDR4 memory. But given the differences between Skylake and the Haswell-E and Broadwell-E systems, the only two so far that use DDR4 memory, that is not easy.

I cannot predict or have information if your memory model will at some point become compatible. Frankly, this memory can be used with other manufacture's Z170 boards according to G.SKILL.

So far, all DDR4 DIMMs of 8GB or greater capacity are Double Sided (DS) types. DS memory should be used in the A1 and B1 slots.

I assume this memory won't POST with Auto settings in the UEFI? You could try clearing the UEFI with them installed in the A1 and B1 slots.

Another thing to try is, if you can get into the UEFI, in the DRAM Configuration screen, at the very bottom find the MRC Fast Boot option, and set it to Disabled. That will cause memory training to be done during POST, which may help with compatibility. Also be sure to let the memory start at its default speed, which is 2133.

Back to Top
D32_bobjob View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Jul 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote D32_bobjob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jul 2016 at 10:11pm
The upgrade was the first thing I did after repeatetly reinstalling CPU and RAM. Did not change anything. 

As soon as I put any one of the ram modules into the A*-Slot, it goes into the mentioned cycle.

I use default settings in the BIOS.

But I'll try installing them in A1/B1 and doing the CMOS(that is what you mean with clearing UEFI?) reset. I can get into UEFI in single channel configuration ... but I'll try this, too.

After that I'll spend some more money in a local shop for a compatible kit. Then I have eaven more ram once this RAM is supported ...

Greatings
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jul 2016 at 10:26pm
Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:


Another thing to try is, if you can get into the UEFI, in the DRAM Configuration screen, at the very bottom find the MRC Fast Boot option, and set it to Disabled. That will cause memory training to be done during POST, which may help with compatibility.


parsec, being the AMD Fanboy I am(yea yea Keep it to yourself Tongue ) i have to ask.

In disabling MRC Fast Boot, does this also disable/negate any/the XMP Setting one may have arranged in the BIOS?
Back to Top
D32_bobjob View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Jul 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote D32_bobjob Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 30 Jul 2016 at 10:30pm
BIOS reset did not work and disabling MRC Fast Boot did not help either. I hate it if HW does not work together, despite supporting the spec ... reminds me too much of work. Well, will have to spend some money ...

Update:
Got a pair of Crucial BLS8G4D240FSA, which are supported according to the support list. Same problem, as soon as I put a module into Slot A*, it does not boot. So either the Mainboard or the memory controller is shot ...

Greatings


Edited by D32_bobjob - 31 Jul 2016 at 12:47am
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 5000
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2016 at 9:34pm
Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:


Another thing to try is, if you can get into the UEFI, in the DRAM Configuration screen, at the very bottom find the MRC Fast Boot option, and set it to Disabled. That will cause memory training to be done during POST, which may help with compatibility.


parsec, being the AMD Fanboy I am(yea yea Keep it to yourself Tongue ) i have to ask.

In disabling MRC Fast Boot, does this also disable/negate any/the XMP Setting one may have arranged in the BIOS?


If it did disable XMP, or reset any memory options, I am not aware of that. It should not do that, no reason as that is not the purpose of this option. It doesn't do it on any of my boards that I have set it to disabled.

If it did disable XMP, etc, that is a bug IMO.

After a few boots/restarts, MRC Fast Boot should be able to be reset to enabled, although I have seen cases where it seems to like being left disabled.

So AMD boards don't have this option? It's not an Intel thing AFAIK.
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 5000
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Aug 2016 at 9:40pm
Originally posted by D32_bobjob D32_bobjob wrote:

BIOS reset did not work and disabling MRC Fast Boot did not help either. I hate it if HW does not work together, despite supporting the spec ... reminds me too much of work. Well, will have to spend some money ...

Update:
Got a pair of Crucial BLS8G4D240FSA, which are supported according to the support list. Same problem, as soon as I put a module into Slot A*, it does not boot. So either the Mainboard or the memory controller is shot ...

Greatings

I'm surprised that Crucial memory did not work. It should work.

Crucial's compatibility checker states this memory is compatible with your board:

http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/z170-extreme4/CT7687522

The memory controller is part of the CPU, so if it was bad, the CPU is bad.

The only thing left is checking the CPU socket for bent pins, and returning the board regardless.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.