ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Use VGA Video Card?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Use VGA Video Card?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
abrogard View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote abrogard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Use VGA Video Card?
    Posted: 15 Aug 2016 at 11:17am
I'm building this computer using an Asrock H110-DGS and it only has a DVI video out and I don't have a DVI monitor.

Well, I do, just one. But I took it over there with an old DVI cable I found (it is DVI and AVG, this monitor) and it didn't work.

I don't know if that's because the cable is bad, or the monitor is analog and using DVI-A, or the Asrock board has something wrong.

I found a VGA PCIe card in my gear.

Can I just stick that in and expect it to work, no special jumpers or anything to do?

Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Aug 2016 at 6:58am
The monitors Make and Model would maybe go a long way in helping here.

Also, a description of the DVI cable you have.
Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
abrogard View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote abrogard Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2016 at 10:55am
It was a bad DVI cable. Got a new one today and tried it and all's good.

FWIW the monitor is an Acer AL1916W.  Lovely little thing.   Did you get three pc's stolen?  What an amazing bummer.  I feel for you,  I got a welder stolen a little way back and the sick angry feeling still lingers..  and that's only a welder..  no data...  no nothing...
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6336
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2016 at 8:11pm
Originally posted by abrogard abrogard wrote:

Did you get three pc's stolen?


Yes I did. That was just the assembled ones too. In moving from Michigan to Arizona. Some low-life basta*d popped the lock on my trailer and helped themselves to roughly half the trailer.

No data was lost thankfully. The boxes containing my drives(yes, I removed them from their cases for transport) were luckily farther forward in the trailer. Still, a big loss.
Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.