ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z77 Extreme 4 NVME PCI-E SSD BOOTING!
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z77 Extreme 4 NVME PCI-E SSD BOOTING!

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 5>
Author
Message
rock_solid View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05 May 2018
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote rock_solid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2018 at 8:21am
hello major,

Pro M.2 NVMe SSD NGFF TO PCIE 3.0 X16 X4 Adapter M Key Interface Card Full Speed

It was AUD$9 on ebay.com.au

https://www.ebay.com.au/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=Pro+M.2+NVMe+SSD+NGFF+TO+PCIE+3.0+X16+X4+Adapter+M+Key+Interface+Card+Full+Speed&_sacat=0

worked well.
AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Back to Top
leo soares View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Location: Brasil
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote leo soares Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2018 at 8:46am
Someone help me . my mobo asrock z77 extreme 4 does not have the option of XMP ja zerei a bios. I've updated more anyway so do not have the option. the 2: problem and that she put 12 gb of ram more only recognize 8 Gb help me ??
Back to Top
rock_solid View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05 May 2018
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rock_solid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2018 at 9:00am
memory needs to TRAIN when you plug it in and boot. let it keep trying.
try all different combinations of placement in memory slots, but always match slot to get dual channel

i tried 6 different combinations, ramping up from one stick, letting the pc train the memory then add another stick reboot etc until it trained in all sticks. trying pairs in diff slots also

google ram training

make sure you dont have any bios settings manually set for ram, best to load factory defaults
AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Back to Top
leo soares View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Location: Brasil
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote leo soares Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2018 at 9:04am
already tried in several cobina and nothing to recognize the 12 gb only 8 gb.



Edited by leo soares - 18 Aug 2018 at 9:06am
Back to Top
rock_solid View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05 May 2018
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rock_solid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2018 at 9:11am
i know the feeling. try to get the 2x2 that dont work first. honestly it took me an hour to get it to work and every combo
AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Back to Top
leo soares View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Location: Brasil
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote leo soares Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2018 at 9:15am
add me on facebook friend   https://www.facebook.com/leozinho.misere
Back to Top
rock_solid View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05 May 2018
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rock_solid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2018 at 9:25am
done
AsRock Z77 Extreme4
Back to Top
Thunderg0D View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 16 Sep 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Thunderg0D Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2018 at 6:51am
Rock_Solid, do you know if the Z77 Extreme4's PCIE bus actually supports bifurcation or not?

I'd consider getting something like this if it'd support more than 1 card:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815548004

This spec has always confused me a little:

2 x PCI Express 3.0 x16 slots (PCIE2/PCIE3: single at x16 (PCIE2) / x8 (PCIE3) or dual at x8/x8 mode)
Back to Top
majorpdd View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote majorpdd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Sep 2018 at 5:17pm
Originally posted by rock_solid rock_solid wrote:

hello major,

Pro M.2 NVMe SSD NGFF TO PCIE 3.0 X16 X4 Adapter M Key Interface Card Full Speed

It was AUD$9 on ebay.com.au

https://www.ebay.com.au/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=Pro+M.2+NVMe+SSD+NGFF+TO+PCIE+3.0+X16+X4+Adapter+M+Key+Interface+Card+Full+Speed&_sacat=0

worked well.

Little late but thanks rock, grabbed a bargain myself too :)

Seems I found on the exreme6 slot PCIE5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 slot is only x4, but seems to drop in performance on the NVMe I am using...

I have to use slot PCIE4 which then halves the lanes on PCIE2 down to x8, then I get the full throughput that the NVMe can support.

From what I reading though, and the performance tests I have done on my 1060 6gb in PCIE2, there is not really much loss!

Does anything actually use x16! to the max...

Never used to boot, only as 4th drive... I boot already from another SSD, which takes 5 seconds, so not really sure if 1 more second is going to kill me Wink


Edited by majorpdd - 23 Sep 2018 at 5:26pm
Back to Top
majorpdd View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18 Aug 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote majorpdd Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Sep 2018 at 5:22pm
Originally posted by Thunderg0D Thunderg0D wrote:

Rock_Solid, do you know if the Z77 Extreme4's PCIE bus actually supports bifurcation or not?

I'd consider getting something like this if it'd support more than 1 card:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815548004

This spec has always confused me a little:

2 x PCI Express 3.0 x16 slots (PCIE2/PCIE3: single at x16 (PCIE2) / x8 (PCIE3) or dual at x8/x8 mode)

Hey Thunder,

I feel your pain with that one... it could do with a little better grammar!

PCIE2 = x16 Slot = x16 Capability
PCIE3 = x16 Slot = x8 Capability

If you use these slots in single mode, you get their capability.

If you use these slots together (Dual), PCIE2 = x8, PCIE3 = x8, this does not matter what is in the slot, GPU, NIC, NMVe (with adapter)... you will only get x8.


Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234 5>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.