ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z170 GAMING K4 - RAMslots A1 and A2 not working
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z170 GAMING K4 - RAMslots A1 and A2 not working

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Tomaschewski View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Aug 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tomaschewski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Z170 GAMING K4 - RAMslots A1 and A2 not working
    Posted: 31 Aug 2016 at 6:47am
Hello everybody,

I've got an issue with the RAM slots on my mainboard. I have two 4GB HyperX Fury  DDR4-2133 modules, if I put them into the B1 and B2 slots, everything is working perfectly (in single channel mode, of course).
But as soon as I put a RAM module into either A1 or A2, the system won't boot, not even beep, there's just the BIOS-LED flashing.

I tried every possible combination and tried using only one RAM module. BIOS is updated to the newest version.

Any help would be more than welcome!
Tomaschewski
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 5000
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Aug 2016 at 10:42am
Originally posted by Tomaschewski Tomaschewski wrote:

Hello everybody,

I've got an issue with the RAM slots on my mainboard. I have two 4GB HyperX Fury  DDR4-2133 modules, if I put them into the B1 and B2 slots, everything is working perfectly (in single channel mode, of course).
But as soon as I put a RAM module into either A1 or A2, the system won't boot, not even beep, there's just the BIOS-LED flashing.

I tried every possible combination and tried using only one RAM module. BIOS is updated to the newest version.

Any help would be more than welcome!
Tomaschewski


It sounds like you know both of your 4GB DIMMs are working, since they are both detected in the B channel, and you see a total of 8GB in the UEFI and in Windows, right?

If so, then for two 4GB DIMMs, they should be put in the A2 and B2 slots.

Give that a try, and while the PC is apart, clear the UEFI/CMOS. Then start the PC and check the memory detection.

If the PC won't start and the UEFI LED is flashing (I've never seen that), something is wrong.

Check if something is shorting the pins from the A channel DIMM slots on the underside of the board. Such as a mother board standoff that should not be there. Or the pins from the DIMM slots are bent and have shorted. I know that is a pain, but the PC not starting is a major, bad reaction.

Did you use the PC case you are using now for another PC? Did it use a different size board?

If a new PC case, were the mother board standoffs pre-installed?

You might have a short circuit elsewhere on the bottom of the board, but the A channel DIMM slots would be the primary place to look.

Otherwise, did you inspect the CPU socket for bent pins when you installed the CPU? I've never heard of bent pins in a CPU socket doing what you are experiencing, but who knows?
Back to Top
Tomaschewski View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 31 Aug 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Tomaschewski Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Sep 2016 at 3:53am
Thanks for your reply! :)

After disassembling the whole system i got to the root of the problem - the mounts of my CPU cooler were causing a shortage between two DIMM-lines on the mainboard. Wrapped them in tape, did a few test runs with every RAM combination possible, et voila: Everything works perfectly now!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.