ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ASRock Z87 EXTREME4 won't restart - debug code 4F
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

ASRock Z87 EXTREME4 won't restart - debug code 4F

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
enorbet2 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Jul 2019
Location: Va,USA
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote enorbet2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ASRock Z87 EXTREME4 won't restart - debug code 4F
    Posted: 16 Jul 2019 at 2:16am
Thank you for your reply and useful link, badbri. FWIW I'd be more disappointed than I already am if anything else is bad, considering how I build my systems with superb cooling and the best PSUs protected by 900 watt UPS. Monitoring voltages and temps seems essential to me and my Asrock rarely exceeds 47C though the GPU will hit 56C during heavy loads.

I have many PCs more than twice as old that still run just fine, including a few Socket 7s and even an Asus Slot 1. I'm typing this from the Asrock Z77 right now. It runs just fine. It's just that if it shuts down it can take upwards of an hour to get past the 4F cycling and it isn't the code that is corrupted since it successfully flashed but to no avail. Something must've physically failed in the chip.

Anyway thank you since I'll likely try replacing that chip.
Back to Top
badbri View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 20 Feb 2018
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 393
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote badbri Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jul 2019 at 8:52am
Your BIOS is socketed not soldered so you may be able to get a new BIOS chip from Asrock support. Go here: http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=5265&title=howto-contact-tech-support
However being near 7 years old it may be more than the BIOS that has gone bad.
https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=99573335296
Back to Top
enorbet2 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Jul 2019
Location: Va,USA
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote enorbet2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jul 2019 at 11:28pm
Nevermind... I guess this just shows how rattled and pissed off I am. I totally missed this thread is specific to Z87 not Z77... guess Asrock wised up after Z77...kinda. No backup chip for me :(
Back to Top
enorbet2 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Jul 2019
Location: Va,USA
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote enorbet2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Jul 2019 at 9:18pm
Greetz
I know this is nearly necro but I'm still using my Asrock Z77 Extreme 4 for my Main and it has served me quite well for years but I have much older PCs that work just fine. I'm a bit peeved at this issue for such a ridiculously small thing to make my whole system unreliable. Here's my exact deal.

It began slowly and escalated. First 3 quick beeps followed by a pause and another set of 3. Since that is supposed to be memory issue and I spent a lot extra for Corsair Vengeance hi performance ram, naturally I ran Memtest+ for many hours - No errors. It was common that after a Reset pulse or 3 it would boot and run for months (up 25/7) just fine. Since I have a 1KW UPS it has never suffered spikes or a bad shutdown.. but it kept getting longer (more cvcling, more beeps) any time I did have to reboot. It would, like everyon's here, pause at 4F and recycle... for very long times.

Finally one day the Reset button stopped working altogether! so I cleared CMOS (removed battery too) and then just let it run for around an hour till it finally came up and I successfully Instant Flashed a newer BIOS version. RESET is fixed but that is ALL!

I don't see anything in my Manual about Backup BIOS nor any chips marked so on the board. I don't know how to swap for Backup despite having experience at Hot Swapping BIOS chips back in the day.

TLDR - Where do I find and/or how do I swap for Backup BIOS?

Is it necessary to buy a new CMOS chip?

Any help greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Back to Top
rafadr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Feb 2018
Location: Brazil
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rafadr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Mar 2018 at 6:53pm
According to the Asrock support, we can switch BIOS A to BIOS B by changing the BIOS jumper.



After changing, you can enter in BIOS setup and backup the working BIOS to the corrupted one.

No need to buy a new chip.

Cheers!


Edited by rafadr - 06 Mar 2018 at 6:55pm
Back to Top
rafadr View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 23 Feb 2018
Location: Brazil
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote rafadr Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Feb 2018 at 9:25pm
Originally posted by tempy tempy wrote:

According to this forum post, 4F is a faulty BIOS Chip. Temporary solution would be to switch BIOS A with BIOS B, and acquire a new one online to replace BIOS B. Tried it on mine and it worked, and it happened right when I attempted System Restore on Windows 7, thought I corrupted the OS on my SSD but no, I figured a mobo code has nothing to do with SSD filed being corrupted.

https://forums.tweaktown.com/asrock/62764-asrock-error-code-4f.html

Replacing BIOS A chip with BIOS B chip solved my issue too. Thanks, I had this problem for a while.

I'll buy a new BIOS chip to replace the problematic one.

Here is an image with the location of BIOS chips:




Back to Top
HaveNoName View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Dec 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote HaveNoName Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Jan 2018 at 5:16pm
I had 4F error when waking up from sleep cause i had disabled gear down mode.
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 5001
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2017 at 9:43am
The Dr Debug display shows various POST codes as the POST process runs when the PC starts. That does NOT mean each code you see is flagging an error.

The only code shown that has any significance is the last POST code shown, and then ONLY if the PC does not allow you to enter the UEFI/BIOS, or does not boot your OS. If you can get into the UEFI UI or boot the OS, POST completed fine, and any code shown is just leftover, the code of the last POST process that ran.

While an electrical problem could have caused a damaged UEFI chip, just the UEFI code may have been corrupted. I would first try to install whatever UEFI version you are currently using again, and see if that solves the problem. Please use the Instant Flash method to flash to the same or newer version, it is the most reliable.

If that does not work, as suggested above, switch to the backup UEFI chip, and see if the board still behaves as it has been with your issue. If that seems to fix the problem, you can get a new UEFI chip from ASRock and insert it yourself, no soldering necessary.


Back to Top
tempy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote tempy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2017 at 8:48am
According to this forum post, 4F is a faulty BIOS Chip. Temporary solution would be to switch BIOS A with BIOS B, and acquire a new one online to replace BIOS B. Tried it on mine and it worked, and it happened right when I attempted System Restore on Windows 7, thought I corrupted the OS on my SSD but no, I figured a mobo code has nothing to do with SSD filed being corrupted.

https://forums.tweaktown.com/asrock/62764-asrock-error-code-4f.html
Back to Top
Zearon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Nov 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zearon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Nov 2017 at 3:58am
Same problem here. After power on while all coolers are working got repeatable post codes 15 and 4f.

CMOS cleared, all cables checked, 2 modules of RAM were changed in all possible positions.

PC not working, nothing happens.

Just wanna know how to be sure is it a motherboard error or maybe RAM, so i csn buy a new one.

Please help!
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.064 seconds.