ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X99 WS-E/10G problems with 128GB
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X99 WS-E/10G problems with 128GB

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
abrnangate View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote abrnangate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X99 WS-E/10G problems with 128GB
    Posted: 17 Oct 2016 at 9:44pm
Hi.

In order to have two powerful machines we have assembled two times X99 WS-E/10G with i7-6900k and 128GB of HX430C15PB3K4/64 as it is on the supported memories list.

The problem is that we on both machines can only use 96GB of ram as seen here:


But it can actually detect all the memory modules we do have:



We have tried with bios version 3.20, 3.30 and 3.40. Different frequencies and voltages for the rams. And all the times we only got these 96GB.

Any advise on what to do?
Back to Top
abrnangate View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote abrnangate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2016 at 12:24am
Any ideas are welcome. If we don't find a solution we will end up with 2*32GB of unused fast RAM.
Back to Top
abrnangate View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Oct 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote abrnangate Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Oct 2016 at 8:50pm
After running with 128GB (seen as 96GB) for around 10-30 minutes in Ubuntu, the system crashed, the bios needed a reset, and now it can only utilize 64GB
Back to Top
O_and_N View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Sep 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 26
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote O_and_N Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 6:27pm
How much does windows see?These new i7 shoud support 128gb as stated in intel ark.
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 5003
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Oct 2016 at 11:51pm
Missing memory like that on X99 systems usually means the memory speed is to high, or the DRAM voltage is not high enough. When some tools can detect all the memory, like System Browser, but in actual use only some of the memory is not seen, that is another symptom of this problem.

The more memory you use, the more difficult it is for the CPU's memory controller to deal with at higher speeds. If you check the memory support list for any Intel board, the higher the memory speed is, the amount that may be used is reduced.

Try setting the memory speed to 2133 as a test. Also set all the memory timings to Auto. Find the MRC Fast Boot option in the DRAM Configuration screen, usually at the very bottom. Set it to Disabled, to allow memory training to occur during POST. POST will be longer, so start up time will be longer.

Also try increasing the DRAM voltage by 0.5V.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.062 seconds.