ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X99 Extreme6/3.1 RAM
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X99 Extreme6/3.1 RAM

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6333
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X99 Extreme6/3.1 RAM
    Posted: 26 Oct 2016 at 4:33pm
Originally posted by Licius1991 Licius1991 wrote:

using Crucial  DDR4 2133 4GB CL15 CT4G4DFS8213 allowed to enter the bios and update to the newest one (3.3) and then my kingston RAM worked fine


Great. Glad to hear that.
Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Licius1991 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Oct 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Licius1991 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Oct 2016 at 3:20pm
using Crucial  DDR4 2133 4GB CL15 CT4G4DFS8213 allowed to enter the bios and update to the newest one (3.3) and then my kingston RAM worked fine
Back to Top
Licius1991 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Oct 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Licius1991 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 20 Oct 2016 at 12:06am
Quote
About the UEFI/BIOS version, you asked earlier is a certain version would help with your memory. You said it had 1.00, but you have never been able to get into the UEFI/BIOS yet, right? The UEFI chips will have stickers on them that indicate the version shipped with the board. That is my only point, to verify what UEFI version you have.

My version is p1.00. That's what stickers say.

Thank you for all the information about memories and how they workSmile
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2016 at 11:57pm
Originally posted by Licius1991 Licius1991 wrote:

Quote
The b7 POST code is a memory problem. Kingston lists this memory as compatible with X99 systems on this page:

http://www.hyperxgaming.com/en/memory/savage-ddr4

Therefore it should be compatible even if it is  not listed right?

Quote
By default, that memory should be only at 2133.

No it is 3000 MHz. Check HX430C15SB2K2/16. Am I wrong or 3000MHz is maximum when overclocked?

Quote
Which memory slots are you using? Try the A1 and B1 slots.
I'm using A1 and B1

Quote
You know your board has the 1.00 UEFI version? That is printed on the stickers on the UEFI chips?
I don't know I'll check ASAP. would it somehow solve the problem?


If Kingston states the memory is compatible, then it should be compatible. But I don't know that personally to be true. Look at the models on the page in the link, your memory is listed there, right?

The maximum speed of your memory should be enabled only if you use the XMP profile option, or set it manually to that speed in the UEFI/BIOS. That is the way most memory works. Most memory defaults to a lower speed, so it will work with systems that may not be able to run it at higher speeds. My G.SKILL 3200 DDR4 memory runs at 2133 by default, and must be set to 3200 with its XMP profile, or set manually to 3200.

Any memory speed above 2133 is a memory over clock, since the Intel spec for the maximum memory speed for your CPU is 2133.

About the UEFI/BIOS version, you asked earlier is a certain version would help with your memory. You said it had 1.00, but you have never been able to get into the UEFI/BIOS yet, right? The UEFI chips will have stickers on them that indicate the version shipped with the board. That is my only point, to verify what UEFI version you have.


Back to Top
Licius1991 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Oct 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Licius1991 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2016 at 11:30pm
Quote
The b7 POST code is a memory problem. Kingston lists this memory as compatible with X99 systems on this page:

http://www.hyperxgaming.com/en/memory/savage-ddr4

Therefore it should be compatible even if it is  not listed right?

Quote
By default, that memory should be only at 2133.

No it is 3000 MHz. Check HX430C15SB2K2/16. Am I wrong or 3000MHz is maximum when overclocked?

Quote
Which memory slots are you using? Try the A1 and B1 slots.
I'm using A1 and B1

Quote
You know your board has the 1.00 UEFI version? That is printed on the stickers on the UEFI chips?
I don't know I'll check ASAP. would it somehow solve the problem?


Edited by Licius1991 - 19 Oct 2016 at 11:33pm
Back to Top
Licius1991 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Oct 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Licius1991 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2016 at 11:24pm
Originally posted by J Z J Z wrote:

And what is 1x DDR4 single test and then BIOS update?

I don't understand the question. Probably I wrote something confusing:

I still have to wait for the new fully compatible 1xDDR4 RAM. I'll be able to test probably during weekend. don't think earlier.

About my current RAM configuration, I'm not able to enter the BIOS so how to update it?

In any case I tried to reinstall CPU, clear CMOS ecc...no way. I can only report this tests results:
 1) 2 modules installed (A1 and B1 slot) --> b7 error
 2) 1 module installed (A1 slot) --> Dr debug goes through different Error codes and then stabilizes on b7     error
 2) 1 module installed (the other module) --> Dr Debug goes through many error codes (FF, 19 ecc... i'll        check all of them ASAP) and then stabilizes on 60
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2016 at 10:44pm
Originally posted by Licius1991 Licius1991 wrote:

Hi, I just purchased an X99 Extreme 6/3.1 MB.

Dr Debug gives me error b7.

I installed a dual channel memory  HX430C15SBK2/16 and an i7-5930k (I don't know if it is R2 as required in the supported cpu list, hope it does not affect anything)

Unfortunately I found out that  HX430C15SBK2/16 is not supported in the memory list.
Does anyone knows if by updating the BIOS (current version is 1.00) it could be supported?

My memory is a Kingston HyperX Savage 3000MHz 2X8GB, Can it be used even at lower frequencies than the nominal one (it is a pain but I prefer not to put it in the bin)?


The b7 POST code is a memory problem. Kingston lists this memory as compatible with X99 systems on this page:

http://www.hyperxgaming.com/en/memory/savage-ddr4

By default, that memory should be only at 2133.

Which memory slots are you using? Try the A1 and B1 slots.

You know your board has the 1.00 UEFI version? That is printed on the stickers on the UEFI chips?
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
ASRock_Partner
ASRock_Partner
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 871
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2016 at 10:41pm
And what is 1x DDR4 single test and then BIOS update?

Edited by J Z - 19 Oct 2016 at 10:41pm
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
Licius1991 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 19 Oct 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Licius1991 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2016 at 10:08pm
No this is the first time I start it up.

My idea is to buy the cheapest Memory fully supported (I found this one: Crucial  DDR4 2133 4GB CL15 CT4G4DFS8213) and then hopefully i could get into the BIOS and then try to upate it.

I know from this post http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=2669 that by sure a BIOS update is necessary (to 1.3) to read the 4x16GB Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz

But apart from this I'd like not to throw away my RAM bank. Do you know any compatibility? 


Edited by Licius1991 - 19 Oct 2016 at 10:16pm
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
ASRock_Partner
ASRock_Partner
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 871
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2016 at 9:55pm
Hello,

Do you get into the BIOS?
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.043 seconds.