ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Increase RAM speed in BIOS
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Increase RAM speed in BIOS

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
DJViking View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jun 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DJViking Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2016 at 6:16pm
Originally posted by J Z J Z wrote:

Hi,

Have an OC guide of the X99 Extreme6 / 3.1

Boards are identical. Manually set DDR4. See video.

Only adjust the memory manually.



Thanks, I'll take a look at it.
I did a search myself for overclocking guide for Fa1ality X99X, but could not find any. Did not consider the Extreme6.
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 871
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2016 at 6:28pm
BIOS DDR4 setting.

Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
DJViking View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jun 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 35
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DJViking Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2016 at 8:54pm
Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:

That could be possible due to the use of Linux. There is essential Intel software that you don't have installed, since it is not available for Linux. That would be the Intel Management Engine (IME) software, that provides among other things communication between the board's firmware (UEFI/BIOS) and the OS.
Seems there is support for IME in Linux
Whether it is in use by any application I don't know
I could find the device file /dev/mei0

Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:

Yet another situation is, your boards Memory Support List does not include memory above a speed of 3000. DDR4 memory at 3600 will be really, really pushing it for an X99 system, and certainly 32GB will be extremely difficult to maintain at that speed. I really should say impossible. As you have already seen, at a memory speed of 2745, only two of the four DIMMs were detected. That indicates the memory speed and/or the latency settings and DRAM voltage are not optimally set.
What I can do is run the 3600MHz DDR4 at lower speed and thus be able to set lower timings.
I am now running at 2400MHz with timings 15-15-15-32 CR2. Stock timings where 17-18-18-35
Though I was hoping to get the memory up to at least 2800MHz, hopefully 3000Mhz, and with all 4 modules.

There is a reason I choose X99, and that was 40 PCI lanes. I knew I wouldn't get as good memory speed as with Skylake. but I know of some people who have gotten an X99 running with 3200-3400MHz DDR4 (though on ASUS. They said ASUS where better than ASRock when it came to getting higher memory speed on X99).


Edited by DJViking - 29 Oct 2016 at 8:59pm
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2016 at 9:05pm
Originally posted by DJViking DJViking wrote:


The DRAM BLCK was set to 128.7 when I selected the XMP profile. Do DRAM and CPU share the BLCK Frequency? Coz I did not venture into the CPU configuration which also had a setting for BLCK Frequency.

This is my memory specs:
http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3600c17q-32gtz

My motherboard spesifications
http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Fatal1ty%20X99X%20Killer/?cat=Specifications
Supports Quad Channel DDR4 3000+(OC)
So I was hooping at least to get 3000MHz and to set lower timings. I know of some who has gotten G.skill memory on X99 with 3400MHz (but that was an Asus MB).




Yes, the CPU and memory share the BCLK, I said that in my last post. With the CPU Ratio (multiplier) set to Auto, you can't see the actual values on that screen.

Now your CPU speed is making more sense, but as we can see in your screenshot it was not 2600MHz, it was 3346MHz with your memory at 3600MHz. The Auto setting of the CPU Ratio adjusted automatically to compensate for the BCLK at 128.7 MHz, which is an unusual value.

The Auto setting of the CPU Ratio (multiplier) must have not changed for some reason, when you set the memory to 2400, which is when we see the CPU speed at 2600 in your screenshot.

Of course you can set the memory speed manually, as J Z is demonstrating in the video. I just hope your memory will cooperate, since G.SKILL does not list it as compatible with X99 systems. Check the QVL tab on this page:

http://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-3600c17q-32gtz


Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Offline
Points: 871
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Oct 2016 at 9:26pm
To 2666 MHz = Strap 100.
Above 2666 MHz = Strap 125.

With OC socket goes greater 2666 MHz at Strap 100, when Strap and BCLK = 100.

Better without XMP or XMP and Strap to 100, further DDR manual frequency set.
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.