ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - No HDMI2.0 @60Hz from Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

No HDMI2.0 @60Hz from Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
mz4 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Nov 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mz4 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: No HDMI2.0 @60Hz from Fatal1ty Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac
    Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 2:39pm
Hi,

I use anFatal1ty Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac Mainboard.
Biosversion 2.30 and HDMI 2.0 Chip Firmware 1.48.
Intel HD Graphics .4538 (Windowsupdate from yesterday)

CPU Pentium G4400 with HD Graphics 510
RAM: 2x 4GB DDR4 Kingston

Windows 10 Professional X64


This is only an Mediacenter PC.

But i can't use more than 30Herz @ 4K Screen.
This is really terrible :D

Thanks a lot for help.
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
ASRock_Partner
ASRock_Partner
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Online
Points: 776
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 3:54pm
Hi,

DisplayPort = 60Herz @ 4K Screen
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 3:54pm
First, I'm not totally coherent with things Intel.

You need to use DisplayPort connections for anyything above 24Hz.

http://ark.intel.com/products/88179/Intel-Pentium-Processor-G4400-3M-Cache-3_30-GHz

and as an example, the i7-6700
http://ark.intel.com/products/88196/Intel-Core-i7-6700-Processor-8M-Cache-up-to-4_00-GHz

Both show HDMI capped at 24Hz



X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 5002
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 6:02pm
Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

First, I'm not totally coherent with things Intel.

You need to use DisplayPort connections for anyything above 24Hz.

http://ark.intel.com/products/88179/Intel-Pentium-Processor-G4400-3M-Cache-3_30-GHz

and as an example, the i7-6700
http://ark.intel.com/products/88196/Intel-Core-i7-6700-Processor-8M-Cache-up-to-4_00-GHz

Both show HDMI capped at 24Hz





Seems rather coherent to me. Just the specs maam, just the specs.

We'll see if Kaby Lake takes HDMI beyond 24 Hz, and HDMI 1.4.

DisplayPort is hardly exotic anymore, video cards now have more DP outputs than HDMI.
Back to Top
J Z View Drop Down
ASRock_Partner
ASRock_Partner
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2016
Location: Germany
Status: Online
Points: 776
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J Z Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Nov 2016 at 9:01pm
Intel簧 Pentium簧 Processor G4400

Max Resolution (HDMI 1.4) = 4096x2304@24Hz
Max Resolution (DP) = 4096x2304@60Hz
Max Resolution (eDP - Integrated Flat Panel) = 4096x2304@60Hz
Kind Regards,
JZ

https://shop.JZelectronic.de - Der Shop mit ausgesuchter ASRock Profi Hardware

https://www.facebook.com/asrock.de
Back to Top
ocFTW View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Apr 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ocFTW Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Nov 2016 at 5:53pm
everyone that has replied so far is wrong

LOL

maybe at leat check the official spec from asrock before posting incorrect information

http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Fatal1ty%20Z170%20Gaming-ITXac/?cat=Specifications
- Supports HDMI with max. resolution up to 4K x 2K (4096x2160) @ 24Hz / (3840x2160) @ 30Hz (on HDMI1)
- Supports HDMI with max. resolution up to 4K x 2K (4096x2160) @ 60Hz (on HDMI2)


I bought this board not too long after release and it did have issues with 4K @ 60Hz in the beggining but none after I did an HDMI fw upgrade [with a gigabyte package no less Wacko] some of their boards use the same LSPCON chip to enable HDMI2.0 on the HDMI2 port; if I recall it was fw1.3x so I'm guessing yours should be ok since it's even newer just make sure it's in the correct HDMI port on the motherboard and also on your TV, some with multiple HDMI are only 2.0 enabled on certain ports, specially budget TVs

other than that try different cables I bought a nice thin sanus hdmi cable that while they claimed it would support 4K @ 60Hz, it didn't and when I had it hooked up to the PC the display looked like it was blanking and failed to connect


Edited by ocFTW - 26 Nov 2016 at 5:54pm
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Nov 2016 at 6:42pm
Originally posted by ocFTW ocFTW wrote:

everyone that has replied so far is wrong

LOL

maybe at leat check the official spec from asrock before posting incorrect information


http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Fatal1ty%20Z170%20Gaming-ITXac/?cat=Specifications
- Supports HDMI with max. resolution up to 4K x 2K (4096x2160) @ 24Hz / (3840x2160) @ 30Hz (on HDMI1)
- Supports HDMI with max. resolution up to 4K x 2K (4096x2160) @ 60Hz (on HDMI2)


I bought this board not too long after release and it did have issues with 4K @ 60Hz in the beggining but none after I did an HDMI fw upgrade [with a gigabyte package no less Wacko] some of their boards use the same LSPCON chip to enable HDMI2.0 on the HDMI2 port; if I recall it was fw1.3x so I'm guessing yours should be ok since it's even newer just make sure it's in the correct HDMI port on the motherboard and also on your TV, some with multiple HDMI are only 2.0 enabled on certain ports, specially budget TVs

other than that try different cables I bought a nice thin sanus hdmi cable that while they claimed it would support 4K @ 60Hz, it didn't and when I had it hooked up to the PC the display looked like it was blanking and failed to connect


^^Pardon me but I'm gonna call BS here.^^

If the OPs CPU states ""Max Resolution (HDMI 1.4)??/span> 4096x2304@24Hz"" on the Intel page I linked, just where magically does the output revert from a 24Hz output to a 60Hz output?


ocFTW, I think you should double check just what your panel is saying it is receiving in Hz.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
mrlanz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mrlanz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Dec 2016 at 4:44am
Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

Originally posted by ocFTW ocFTW wrote:

everyone that has replied so far is wrong

LOL

maybe at leat check the official spec from asrock before posting incorrect information


http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/Fatal1ty%20Z170%20Gaming-ITXac/?cat=Specifications
- Supports HDMI with max. resolution up to 4K x 2K (4096x2160) @ 24Hz / (3840x2160) @ 30Hz (on HDMI1)
- Supports HDMI with max. resolution up to 4K x 2K (4096x2160) @ 60Hz (on HDMI2)


I bought this board not too long after release and it did have issues with 4K @ 60Hz in the beggining but none after I did an HDMI fw upgrade [with a gigabyte package no less Wacko] some of their boards use the same LSPCON chip to enable HDMI2.0 on the HDMI2 port; if I recall it was fw1.3x so I'm guessing yours should be ok since it's even newer just make sure it's in the correct HDMI port on the motherboard and also on your TV, some with multiple HDMI are only 2.0 enabled on certain ports, specially budget TVs

other than that try different cables I bought a nice thin sanus hdmi cable that while they claimed it would support 4K @ 60Hz, it didn't and when I had it hooked up to the PC the display looked like it was blanking and failed to connect


^^Pardon me but I'm gonna call BS here.^^

If the OPs CPU states ""Max Resolution (HDMI 1.4)??/span> 4096x2304@24Hz"" on the Intel page I linked, just where magically does the output revert from a 24Hz output to a 60Hz output?


ocFTW, I think you should double check just what your panel is saying it is receiving in Hz.


Sorry to jump in here but you are both right but important is that the OP question are related to 4k@60Hz and that is supported by the G4400 CPU and ASRock MB. HDMI port 1 is v1.4 and only supports 30 Hz but HDMI port 2 supports v2.0 that are 60Hz. The issue here is that it is not fully clear how Intel supports 4k@60Hz. If you read the data sheet from Intel regarding Skylake the GPU (in this case HD 510) supports taking DP1.2 video signal at 4k@60Hz and audio channel from HDMI1.4 and convert them together via MC2800 that output HDMI 2.0 signal to port 2 in the ASRock MB.

4K SupportYes, at 60Hz
Max Resolution (Intel簧 WiDi)??/span> 1080p
Max Resolution (HDMI 1.4)??/span> 4096x2304@24Hz
Max Resolution (DP)??/span> 4096x2304@60Hz
Max Resolution (eDP - Integrated Flat Panel)??/span> 4096x2304@60Hz

I have used this board for more then 1 year and had issue in the beginning because a damaged MC2800 chip. I now use firmware v1.48 and works fine with 4k@60Hz in Deep Color (4:4:4). But I now have issue with HD audio on HDMI port 2. ASROck say that the issue are Intel's driver and they will not update anything and fix the issue including the MC2800 firmware. So I can not run ATMOS with 4k@60Hz, and that is a shame.

If anyone have the same issue or even better have solved it I would be glad to here it.

Cheers!
Back to Top
bmouse View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 Apr 2016
Location: Hong Kong
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bmouse Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Feb 2017 at 6:45am
Can anyone forward me the HDMI firmware update 1.48? I updated to 1.61 yesterday and my PC always gave black via HDMI2.
Back to Top
mrlanz View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Nov 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote mrlanz Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Mar 2017 at 5:22am
ASRock MB is still broken after 2 years!

More then 1 year ago I have my last contact with ASRock and they told me that HDMI port 2 did not work and it was a Intel driver issue. Last month in February of 2017 ASRock delivered a new firmware for the Japanese MegaChip that is part of the HDMI 2.0 converter. After this update the HD sound started to work. So yes it was a failure on ASRock side and not Intel. BUT! the sound drops constantly when playing over HDMI 2.0. So it still not work and 2 years have passed. Intel have also delivered updates in February 2017 but the last 6 months this updates from Intel have been game related updates and nothing with sound.

I believe that ASRock just now do not care about there customer and the fact we paid a premium price for getting HDMI 2.0 that never worked! This is not acceptable and I recommend that you should be extra careful when consider buying from ASRock again.

It will never be fixed! And I could bought a more cheaper MB with HDMI 1.4 and skip all hours I spent on this.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.