ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - How to install USB 3 drivers?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

How to install USB 3 drivers?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
JohnS View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Nov 2016
Location: California
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How to install USB 3 drivers?
    Posted: 28 Nov 2016 at 7:53am
Motherboard: FM2A88M Extreme4+
BIOS: P.290

Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit

USB 3 Controller in BIOS is set to "Auto"

When I plug a USB 3 capable external drive into any USB 3 port, I get a message that a driver failed to install. Device Manager shows two entries named Universal Serial Bus Controller under "Other Devices".  

USB 2 controllers work normally.

Have looked in the Support section here and downloaded All-In-1 driver package 15.20.1065. Extracted and ran it . It loads Catalyst drivers and such, but no USB 3 drivers.

Uninstalled the two controllers from Other Devices in Device Manager and rebooted. They came back.

Uninstalled them again but did not reboot. Ran All-In-1 driver setup again, but did not help.

Rebooted and two USB controllers again showing in Other Devices in Device Manager.

What else can I do?

thanks
john
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Nov 2016 at 10:09am
Hi John,

What "drive' is it you're plugging in?



If this a new build go to the below link and at the very bottom is "AMD Chipset, AHCI, USB 3.0 and RAID Drivers" for x86 or x64 editions of 10, 8.1, and 7.
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download

Run it after downloading, then reboot immediately afterwards.


Please post the results.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Nov 2016 at 10:18am
Meh, we really should get that BIOS updated to the current, L3.10, first.

DO NOT use internet Flash.

Download the Instant Flash file, unpack it, then move the BIOS file itself onto a freshly formatted FAT32 thumb drive. Then shut down and insert the thumb drive into a USB 2.0 port at the rear I/O panel, boot up, enter the BIOS and use the Instant Flash utility from inside the BIOS to upflash to L3.10. IIRC look under the Tools tab for the instant Flash utility. Once launched it should read the thumb drive and offer to upgrade the BIOS to the 3.10 file that is on it. Hit Enter when the file is displayed in the popp-up and follow any prompts till it asks to Reboot. Presto.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
JohnS View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Nov 2016
Location: California
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Nov 2016 at 10:42am
Hello,

First of all, thank you for the quick reply.

You posted two responses, and it seems like I should follow the second one first. However, where do I download BIOS v.  L3.10? I look in the support section and don't see it. Even the "Beta" section only shows a version earlier than the one I have installed already.

As to your first post, the external drive I mentioned is a brand new WD 2TB external USB drive, but the same problem occurs with other USB drives that I already have.

This is not a new installation ... probably about a year old or so ... I believe the USB 3 ports worked correctly when I first built this, but I have a USB 2 port and a USB 3 port on the front panel, and had a Logitech wireless mouse dongle plugged into the USB 2 port. When I plugged a USB 3 external hard drive into the USB 3 port, the mouse started to act weird. I thought it might be a radio frequency interference problem, so went into BIOS and disabled USB 3.  After that, the mouse worked correctly and the external hard drive ran correctly, but at 2.0 speeds (of course)

After moving the mouse dongle to another location and re-enabling USB 3 in BIOS, I have not been able to re-activate the USB ports as USB 3. This has been going on for some months, but only today I decided to try to fix it.

Kindly show me a link to the BIOS upgrade that you mentioned and I will do it.

ps. I have installed the ASRock "AppShop" to monitor driver and BIOS updates, but it does not show either BIOS updates nor USB driver updates.

thanks
john


Edited by JohnS - 28 Nov 2016 at 10:46am
Back to Top
JohnS View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Nov 2016
Location: California
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Nov 2016 at 1:51pm
Update:

Haven't heard back from you, so perhaps you've gone to bed? Anyway, I discovered that the "Instant Flash" that you referred to is a selection in the UEFI setup utility (used to be called the BIOS, as you know) (in case someone else reads this). Although I've explored the UEFI setup, I apparently do not have the familiarity that you do. Which, of course, is why I am here.

Clicked on that and a window opened that showed "No updates available" (or words to that effect), so clicked Refresh.

Now screen goes to semi-transparent and no activity indicated after waiting 4-5 minutes. I do have a freshly reformatted USB flash drive inserted (formatted to FAT32).

By moving the mouse cursor around (but not clicking on anything), certain things appear. One is a red circle with a white X in it ... another is a dashed line going completely horizontal left to right, another is a "Yes" click button, the last is a "NO" click button.

Have tried clicking both the Yes, the No and the red circle (each on multiple tries), but none do anything but exit back to the UEFI screen, so gave up.

Rebooted into Windows and followed your link to the AMD site. Clicked the link that you mentioned, and downloaded the utility to flash drive.  Ran that utility and it installed USB 3.0 drivers.

Now, Device Manager shows USB 3.0 controllers installed under the USB listings, but under "Other Devices" shows two Unknown Devices.

Plugged in my new USB 3.0 external hard drive into a USB 3.0 port and it is not recognized, neither in File Explorer nor Device Management, even though it has files on it (used it today as a USB 2.0 drive to do a Macrium Reflect System Image, which is still there)

Just noticed that my rank here is "Newbie" .... LOL!  I presume that is because I just registered today. After 56 years of interest in electronics / computers on the hobbyist level, I find that quite amusing (thanks!)

I guess I should have known that the USB drivers would be available from the AMD website, but I expected ASRock to have the appropriate ones for their board. But the ones from AMD didn't fix the problem anyway.

Still curious as to how to obtain the BIOS version you mentioned, when I can't find it anywhere that I looked. 

But that will have to wait until tomorrow ... My bed time now .... and getting too tired to type, and then fix the typos.





Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Nov 2016 at 2:23pm
Originally posted by JohnS JohnS wrote:

I guess I should have known that the USB drivers would be available from the AMD website, but I expected ASRock to have the appropriate ones for their board. But the ones from AMD didn't fix the problem anyway.


They do. Just that I pointed you to the newest ones on AMDs site.

Originally posted by JohnS JohnS wrote:


Still curious as to how to obtain the BIOS version you mentioned, when I can't find it anywhere that I looked. 

But that will have to wait until tomorrow ... My bed time now .... and getting too tired to type, and then fix the typos.


John, my bad. Not sure what MB I clicked on to see L3.10 but it was not your motherboard. Please accept my humble and sincere apology for my misleading you.



Ok. You installed the latest chipset driver and have two Unknowns huh?

Let's see what they are and if one or both might be an issue here.

In Device Manager, click on both to bring up their Properties, click on the Details tab, then select Hardware Ids from the drop down. Copy and paste both the Hardware IDs displayed fror each please. We'll first get those two cleared out and proceed from there.



Noob.I have decades into computing but even you make me feel young with 56yrs of it Tongue





[/QUOTE]
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Nov 2016 at 2:29pm
And no. Wasn't sleeping but instead I had taken the Wife out to dinner. Gotta keep her happy.Wink
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5346
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Nov 2016 at 2:51pm
Newbie is just the "rank" assigned to new members, it is based on your points Wink
Back to Top
JohnS View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 28 Nov 2016
Location: California
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote JohnS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2016 at 10:07am
To Wardog:

No problem ... I was curious however why Instant Flash didn't find it. 

Device Manager shows two identical entries under "Other Devices". Checking the Details page in Properties gives this Hardware ID:

AMDUSB30\ROOT_HUB30&VID_1022&PID_7814&REV_0009&SID_78141849

(both are the same IDs)

I did find an offer to obtain a driver at this site, but don't know if they can be trusted:

http://drivers.awdit.com/amd/amd-usb-3-0-root-hub/

Screenshot of the Details page (showing the other USB 3.0 controllers already installed ) should be here:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/gwl9lh1osyqen9u/AAADXgQrvEQ26lQ5MqZ4gdgAa?dl=0

thanks



Edited by JohnS - 29 Nov 2016 at 10:11am
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 5001
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 29 Nov 2016 at 10:51pm
Originally posted by JohnS JohnS wrote:

To Wardog:

No problem ... I was curious however why Instant Flash didn't find it. 

Device Manager shows two identical entries under "Other Devices". Checking the Details page in Properties gives this Hardware ID:

AMDUSB30\ROOT_HUB30&VID_1022&PID_7814&REV_0009&SID_78141849

(both are the same IDs)

I did find an offer to obtain a driver at this site, but don't know if they can be trusted:

http://drivers.awdit.com/amd/amd-usb-3-0-root-hub/

Screenshot of the Details page (showing the other USB 3.0 controllers already installed ) should be here:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/gwl9lh1osyqen9u/AAADXgQrvEQ26lQ5MqZ4gdgAa?dl=0

thanks



Yes, I see two entries for the AMD USB 3.0 Host Controller in Device Manager. But the two unknown devices are the hubs for the controllers, that seems to be the problem. Windows 7 is not friendly with USB 3.0 at all, no inbox drivers for it.

Your board has two AMD all in 1 driver packages for Windows 7, have you tried the second one? The AMD all in 1 driver ver:15.20.1065?

http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/FM2A88M%20Extreme4+/?cat=Download&os=Win764

I assume you are trying to use the USB 3.0 ports on the board's IO panel? Are you connecting the USB device (flash drive?) directly to the USB 3.0 ports on the IO panel?

Just noticed you may be using the USB 3.0 ports on your PC case. Better check the cable connection on the board for the USB 3.0 ports on your case. The connector is not very tight and easily moved out of place. I've had the USB ports on a PC case fail in the past, I had to replace the circuit board for the PC case's front panel assembly. Also, there is usually a power connection to the circuit board in a PC case, molex usually, be sure that is connected properly.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.