ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ASROCK X99 Extreme 4 Needs BIOS Update ?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

ASROCK X99 Extreme 4 Needs BIOS Update ?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ASROCK X99 Extreme 4 Needs BIOS Update ?
    Posted: 09 Dec 2016 at 5:17am
Originally posted by worksleepwork worksleepwork wrote:

I ended up just leaving it running and the screen eventually came on.
It turns out it is taking around 50 seconds or so to hit the post screen.
Is there a particular reason that it is taking so long? 


Coming back to this .......

Hmmm, by chance did the OS install onto MBR or UEFI?
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 5001
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2016 at 10:14am
Originally posted by worksleepwork worksleepwork wrote:

So it turns out that it did in fact have the latest bios update.
I ended up just leaving it running and the screen eventually came on.
It turns out it is taking around 50 seconds or so to hit the post screen.
Is there a particular reason that it is taking so long? 


Do you have a POST beep speaker installed on the board, and the POST beep option enabled in the UEFI/BIOS? The single POST Ok beep is the signal that POST has completed successfully.

While 50 seconds seems to be a long POST period, don't expect an X99 board to POST quickly.

The X99 chipset is the consumer/PC version of Intel's enterprise C602 chipset. The differences are few, if any. Enterprise/professional boards are not concerned about a fast POST time. Instead they value stability, so the POST process operations will be more strict and extensive. Don't forget there are four memory channels to test, twice that of standard two channel boards. Plus there are eight DIMM slots to check, instead of four. How much memory are you using in your board?

There are 10 Intel SATA III ports, instead of the usual six. More PCIe lanes to check, 28 - 40, compared to 16 on most boards, those just from the CPU. A review comparing X99 boards showed the ASRock board (not yours, an ITX model) had the fastest POST time of all tested, about 20 seconds vs up to 40 for the others. Of course, that board has only two DIMM slots, and two channel only. UEFI option settings can affect POST time.

You can always enable Fast Boot, but can't use Ultra Fast unless you installed Windows with CSM disabled.

Is Windows installed yet? If not the UEFI is looking for a bootable drive, which takes time.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2016 at 8:08am
Hmmm

Directly above the top x16 PCIe slot is a 4-pin female molex connection that feeds additional voltage to the PCIe bus.

For an experiment arrange a cable from the PSU to this 4-pin connection to see if doing this makes a diff.


Are you OC'ing any parts of this build?



X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
worksleepwork View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote worksleepwork Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2016 at 3:59am
Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

Originally posted by worksleepwork worksleepwork wrote:

So it turns out that it did in fact have the latest bios update.
I ended up just leaving it running and the screen eventually came on.
It turns out it is taking around 50 seconds or so to hit the post screen.
Is there a particular reason that it is taking so long? 


Using a PCIe slot based nVME by chance?

Nope just a Crucial MX300 2.5" 525GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD).

Rest of specs if it helps are :

  •  G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB (2 x 16GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2133 (PC4 17000) Intel 

  •  Intel Core i7-6800K

  • GeForce GTX 1060 TURBO-GTX1060-6G 6GB

  • EVGA 850 GQ, 80+ GOLD 850W, Semi Modular
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2016 at 2:48am
Originally posted by worksleepwork worksleepwork wrote:

So it turns out that it did in fact have the latest bios update.
I ended up just leaving it running and the screen eventually came on.
It turns out it is taking around 50 seconds or so to hit the post screen.
Is there a particular reason that it is taking so long? 


Using a PCIe slot based nVME by chance?
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
worksleepwork View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote worksleepwork Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2016 at 2:42am
So it turns out that it did in fact have the latest bios update.
I ended up just leaving it running and the screen eventually came on.
It turns out it is taking around 50 seconds or so to hit the post screen.
Is there a particular reason that it is taking so long? 
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5346
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2016 at 3:11am
I wouldn't worry, even if you do need a new BIOS chip ASRock is very helpful with this issue (X99 and broadwell). Replacing the chip itself is very simple and straight forward too. 
Back to Top
worksleepwork View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote worksleepwork Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2016 at 2:48am
Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

Too, you haven't by change overlooked plugging in the 8-pin CPU Power at the top middle of the motherboard have you?

No, first thing I checked when I noticed the initial problem. I will have to double check the bios version when I get home though thanks for noting that. Hopefully it is the most recent and my problem just lies in something else rather simple.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2016 at 2:36am
Too, you haven't by change overlooked plugging in the 8-pin CPU Power at the top middle of the motherboard have you?


Edited by wardog - 07 Dec 2016 at 2:36am
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2016 at 2:34am
It's 3.30 that begins BIOS support for the i7-6800K:
http://asrock.com/mb/Intel/X99%20Extreme4/index.us.asp?cat=CPU


Look on the lower edge at the lower right corner. There are two stickers covering both BIOS chips that have printed on them the BIOS rev. that the motherboard came with from the factory.

What is printed on your stickers?
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.