ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Asrock Z170 Pro4s
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Asrock Z170 Pro4s

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
Znastyyy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Znastyyy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Asrock Z170 Pro4s
    Posted: 07 Dec 2016 at 10:12pm
Hello everyone,
I just completed my first build and everything (apart from this) is running smoothly. For my build I chose the Corsair 460x RGB case which comes with 3 Corsair SP 120 RGB fans mounted in the front. Whilst completing my build I plugged 2 out of the 3 fans into the front panel, 4-pin, CHA_FAN 1 and CHA_FAN 2 headers on my  Asrock z170 Pro4s motherboard. The last fan I plugged into the 3-pin, CHA_FAN 3 header which is located towards the rear I/O. Now the problem is when I adjust my fan speeds either using Asrocks A-Tuning software or the BIOS, it will only change the fan speeds of my CPU fan and the CHA_FAN 1. The fans plugged into CHA_FAN 2 and CHA_FAN 3 are still running at full speed of 1500 RPMs. I should also note that in both the BIOS and A-Tuning it is showing the fan speeds set to "silent" mode and the fan speeds as a percentage correlated to motherboard temperature and the Corsair SP 120 RGB fans are 3-pin. Anyone know how to fix this? Also I need to get a splitter so I can an extra SP 120 RGB fan as an exhaust fan.

Thanks is advance for the responses
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5012
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2016 at 10:25pm
CHA_FAN 2 should work but CHA_FAN 3 is a full speed header and is not controllable, at least it isn't on my Z170 Pro4s. Make sure your temperature source is set to motherboard not CPU.

The fan headers on the Pro4s are limited (not many of them) because it is a budget oriented Z170 board but yes, you can use fan splitters. I use a fan splitter on my Corsair H105 for my radiator fans and they both are controlled by CHA_FAN 2 without issue. I should note however that they are both 4 pin PWM fans.
Back to Top
Znastyyy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Znastyyy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2016 at 11:16pm
Thanks for the reply. That is what I am confused about. If CHA_FAN 1 is working properly then so should CHA_FAN 2 right? I mean there is zero difference between them regarding fan model and such. Which splitter would you recommend using as I have ordered a separate SP 120 RGB to use as an exhaust fan in CHA_FAN 3. So I would need to have 2 fans plugged into either CHA_FAN 1 or 2 assuming I can get it working properly.


Edited by Znastyyy - 07 Dec 2016 at 11:20pm
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5012
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2016 at 11:30pm
I wouldn't know what to recommend, I used the one that came with my Corsair H105 AIO cooler. As a general rule I would go for something in a medium price range and avoid the super cheap and super expensive. 
Back to Top
Znastyyy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Znastyyy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2016 at 12:11am
Thanks, as for the fan speed issue. What would you recommend me doing to trouble shoot/solve the problem.

EDIT: Most of the splitters I'm seeing are 4-pin inputs (which is fine as the motherboard supports 4-pin) with 4-pin outputs. Would this work as my fans are 3-pin?


Edited by Znastyyy - 08 Dec 2016 at 12:13am
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5012
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2016 at 12:31am
Yes it will work fine.

As for troubleshooting I would swap fans around and see if the fault is coming from a particular fan or the controller on the board itself. Play with the settings in the UEFI and see what works for you. Not all fans are the same and no manufacturer can ensure compatibility with all fans available, some simply do not work with the fan speed controls. That said, your fans are all corsair and I would assume all the same model so if one works then the others should too. There is no established way of troubleshooting that I am aware of other than trial and error and testing.
Back to Top
Znastyyy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Znastyyy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2016 at 5:57am
I switched around some of the fans and still no luck. Really just confused on how one of the dan headers works and the one next to it doesn't.
Back to Top
Znastyyy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Znastyyy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2016 at 8:04pm
I emailed corsair. Maybe they will send me 4-pin fans since nobody can figure this outp
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5012
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2016 at 9:46pm
I am sorry I couldn't be of more help, unfortunately without having the same fans you are using I can't run tests on my own system to figure out what is going on. I am running BIOS version P3.50 and both my CHA_Fan 1 and CHA_Fan 2 are adjusting with Fantastic Tuning and in UEFI. 

My fans are:

Thermaltake Riing 14 3pin
Fractal Design GP-14 3pin

My Radiator fans are:
Corsair SP120L

I hope this extra info is of some help to you. Good luck
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4999
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Dec 2016 at 12:00am
I checked into these new Corsair SP120 RGB fans, which have several variations in models, even within one model number. The difference is one model has a "controller", which seems to be only for controlling the color settings on the fans.

Do your fans have the controller or not?

In the A-Tuning, FanTastic Tuning feature, there should be a Fan Test button above the fan speed curve display, for each of the fan headers, CPU and Chassis. Did you try running that for each fan header?

Another question, in the A-Tuning, FanTastic Tuning feature, how many of the fan headers have configuration options? Do you find entries for all the fan headers?

The manual for this board shows configuration options for all the fan headers, except for Chassis Fan3. That means, as Xaltar said, that is a full speed only fan header. But the Chassis Fan2 header should be able to control a fan's speed.

As Xaltar said, every fan model is different regarding how fast the fan spins for various applied voltages. There are no standards for this, and all fans are quite different in their speed/RPM at various voltages. The wider the speed/RPM range of a fan, the more sensitive to applied voltage it will be. That means the predefined fan speed curves, like Silent, may not be applying a voltage low enough to keep a fan from spinning fast. But if your fan is really running at full speed with the Silent setting, that does not make sense.

Have you tried creating a Custom fan speed curve on the Chassis Fan2 header?

We have seen other reports in the forum about the Chassis Fan2 header on this board not seeming to control a fan's speed. We never learned why that was apparently happening. Now with you experiencing the same thing, I'm wondering about this again.

Xaltar, I'm curious about why you suggest using the Motherboard temperature monitoring setting for a chassis fan, rather than the CPU. In my experience, my mother board temperature does not change much, if at all, a few degrees C at most. That can be a personal choice of course, not wanting the chassis fans to speed up when the CPU temperature increases for a short time, and the chassis fans become audible. I set my chassis fans to monitor the CPU temperature, since I want more cool air entering the case when the CPU is warmer. That also depends upon the CPU cooler being used.

Znastyyy, have you tried setting the Chassis Fan2 header to monitor the CPU temperature?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.