ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Asrock Z170 Pro4s
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Asrock Z170 Pro4s

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5426
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Dec 2016 at 12:08am
Thanks for dropping in Parsec. 

I tend to favor setting the chassis fans to monitor motherboard temps because it keeps them more consistent rather than revving up and spinning down every time the system is under load. I set the fans on a custom curve with them dropping to about 20% under 40c and spinning up to 50% at 45c then 100% at 50c+ (50c never happens in my system). It is useful to set the rear exhaust fan to monitor the CPU if heat is a concern, that should help dump the hot air out of the case faster when needed. I tend to use reasonably powerful air coolers so heat isn't usually a factor in my builds and now with water cooling it is even less so.  
Back to Top
Znastyyy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Znastyyy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Dec 2016 at 7:29am
Wow I really appreciate the help guys, thank you. I just received an email response from ASRock, "Only CPU_FAN1 and CHA_FAN1 can auto detected with 3 pins connector. If case fan connector is 3 pins that may not be worked on CHA FAN2, and CHA FAN 3 is not adjustable.". I guess that explains why I can only adjust the speeds of CHA_FAN 1 and CPA_FAN. So now it's just a matter of figuring out how I can make this work since I only have 1 header will allow me to adjust speeds and 3 case fans. What are my options. Does Corsair make a 4-pin version of the SP 120 RGB? What about a fan hub? I already have the hub and controlled that is included with the case but that is solely for lighting not speeds.
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 5002
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Dec 2016 at 10:08am
Originally posted by Znastyyy Znastyyy wrote:

Wow I really appreciate the help guys, thank you. I just received an email response from ASRock, "Only CPU_FAN1 and CHA_FAN1 can auto detected with 3 pins connector. If case fan connector is 3 pins that may not be worked on CHA FAN2, and CHA FAN 3 is not adjustable.". I guess that explains why I can only adjust the speeds of CHA_FAN 1 and CPA_FAN. So now it's just a matter of figuring out how I can make this work since I only have 1 header will allow me to adjust speeds and 3 case fans. What are my options. Does Corsair make a 4-pin version of the SP 120 RGB? What about a fan hub? I already have the hub and controlled that is included with the case but that is solely for lighting not speeds.


Does Corsair have a four pin PWM version of the SP120 RGB? They sure do, the HD120 RGB. For example: (sorry the link tool fails with some URLs. Just highlight the text below, right click on it and select an open option)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16835181121

IMO, it is unusual for a fan header to be PWM only, even for a four pin header. If you can test the Chassis Fan2 header with a PWM fan first, I would suggest that.

About how to control all your fans, I was thinking about something, but one question first. What type of fan is used by your CPU cooler, three or four pin PWM? You never answered any of my other questions in my previous post, but I'll ask that anyway.

I'll assume your CPU cooler fan is a four pin PWM fan. Since we know the fan headers labeled CPU_FAN1 and CHA_FAN1 can control both four pin and three pin fans, and (apparently) the CHA_FAN2 header is four pin PWM control only, just ignore the labels and put the three pin fans on the CPU_FAN1 and CHA_FAN1 headers. Connect the four pin PWM fan for the CPU cooler to the CHA_FAN2 header, and set it to monitor the CPU temperature. Then get a one to two fan splitter cable, and use it to put two of the case fans on the CPU_FAN1 or CHA_FAN1 header.

If the fan speed control options are the same for those two headers (except the ability to monitor the mother board temperature with the CPU_FAN1 header), then the name or label for the headers do not mean anything. We are not required to put the CPU cooler's fan(s) on a header named CPU FAN, those are just labels to identify each of them. All you need to do is remember the CPU cooler's fan in on the CHA_FAN2 header, and the chassis fans are on the other headers.

Or you can somehow get the four pin HD120 fans. They cost more than the standard SP120 fans, so I doubt Corsair will just send them to you. Corsair is usually good about replacing defective parts, but your fans are not defective.
Back to Top
Znastyyy View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Znastyyy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Dec 2016 at 10:52am
Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:

Originally posted by Znastyyy Znastyyy wrote:

Wow I really appreciate the help guys, thank you. I just received an email response from ASRock, "Only CPU_FAN1 and CHA_FAN1 can auto detected with 3 pins connector. If case fan connector is 3 pins that may not be worked on CHA FAN2, and CHA FAN 3 is not adjustable.". I guess that explains why I can only adjust the speeds of CHA_FAN 1 and CPA_FAN. So now it's just a matter of figuring out how I can make this work since I only have 1 header will allow me to adjust speeds and 3 case fans. What are my options. Does Corsair make a 4-pin version of the SP 120 RGB? What about a fan hub? I already have the hub and controlled that is included with the case but that is solely for lighting not speeds.


Does Corsair have a four pin PWM version of the SP120 RGB? They sure do, the HD120 RGB. For example: (sorry the link tool fails with some URLs. Just highlight the text below, right click on it and select an open option)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16835181121

IMO, it is unusual for a fan header to be PWM only, even for a four pin header. If you can test the Chassis Fan2 header with a PWM fan first, I would suggest that.

About how to control all your fans, I was thinking about something, but one question first. What type of fan is used by your CPU cooler, three or four pin PWM? You never answered any of my other questions in my previous post, but I'll ask that anyway.

I'll assume your CPU cooler fan is a four pin PWM fan. Since we know the fan headers labeled CPU_FAN1 and CHA_FAN1 can control both four pin and three pin fans, and (apparently) the CHA_FAN2 header is four pin PWM control only, just ignore the labels and put the three pin fans on the CPU_FAN1 and CHA_FAN1 headers. Connect the four pin PWM fan for the CPU cooler to the CHA_FAN2 header, and set it to monitor the CPU temperature. Then get a one to two fan splitter cable, and use it to put two of the case fans on the CPU_FAN1 or CHA_FAN1 header.

If the fan speed control options are the same for those two headers (except the ability to monitor the mother board temperature with the CPU_FAN1 header), then the name or label for the headers do not mean anything. We are not required to put the CPU cooler's fan(s) on a header named CPU FAN, those are just labels to identify each of them. All you need to do is remember the CPU cooler's fan in on the CHA_FAN2 header, and the chassis fans are on the other headers.

Or you can somehow get the four pin HD120 fans. They cost more than the standard SP120 fans, so I doubt Corsair will just send them to you. Corsair is usually good about replacing defective parts, but your fans are not defective.


Thanks again for the response. I looked at those HD 120s and noticed that the lights are around the outside of the fan blades as opposed to on the inner circle of the center in the SP 120s. It might seem picky but I like the look of the SP 120s.

As for my CPU_FAN 1, it is a 4-pin PWM header.

I like your solution and I think it will work nicely and also given that I guess the only other real option is to buy three of those HD 120s. One question though just to clarify, will using a 4-pin PWM splitter plugged into CHA_FAN 1 and then having my 3-pin fans plugged into the other end allow me to control the fan speeds via PWM? Also can you link me to a splitter I should use?

EDIT: I just tried the aforementioned solution and it will not work because the CPU fan cable isn't long enough to reach over my graphics card and down to the bottom of the board where the header is. Is there anything else we can do, maybe some kind of a controller?


Edited by Znastyyy - 09 Dec 2016 at 11:07am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.046 seconds.