ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - How To set Bios in Legacy Mode
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

How To set Bios in Legacy Mode

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
needtocamp View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote needtocamp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How To set Bios in Legacy Mode
    Posted: 13 Dec 2016 at 10:57am
Title says it I was wondering how to set bios as legacy mode in windows 8.1
Motherboard :Asrock z97 Anniversary
graphic : Amd R9200
Gpu: Intel i7 4790k 
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2016 at 11:03am
Just don't use a CD/Thumb drive that begins with UEFI: <drive name> and the install will proceed in Legacy Mode.

MDL/Daz? Do NOT discuss this if this is the case here that you need Legacy Mode.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
needtocamp View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote needtocamp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2016 at 11:10am
Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

Just don't use a CD/Thumb drive that begins with UEFI: <drive name> and the install will proceed in Legacy Mode.

MDL/Daz? Do NOT discuss this if this is the case here that you need Legacy Mode.
I have no idea what MDL/Daz is, but will do .
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 5001
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2016 at 11:38am
Originally posted by needtocamp needtocamp wrote:

Title says it I was wondering how to set bios as legacy mode in windows 8.1
Motherboard :Asrock z97 Anniversary
graphic : Amd R9200
Gpu: Intel i7 4790k 


What wardog said.

Also, be sure the CSM option is Enabled, it is by default.

I'm curious why you are asking about this.
Back to Top
needtocamp View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote needtocamp Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2016 at 1:16pm
What would i need to do when installing new clean windows, im kinda lost on the steps for legacy im at the point of choosing whrre to install windows.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Dec 2016 at 2:37pm
At the screen that offers you boot options, as I said above, choose the drive with the OS installer that begins with AHCI: xxx , not the one that begins UEFI: xxx
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.