ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - 16 GB RAM only 8 used
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

16 GB RAM only 8 used

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Phoenix View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Phoenix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: 16 GB RAM only 8 used
    Posted: 25 Dec 2016 at 6:20pm
Hi, 

I have: 

990FX EXTREME4
AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
16 GB RAM 4 sticks
GTX 970
WINDOWS 10 PRO

My issue that windows and BIOS recognize 16GB of RAM and us only 8GB, I couldn't use the setup disk that came with the product so i install ALL IN 1 from the website {AllIn1(v15.20.1060_9)}

Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6285
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Dec 2016 at 6:50pm
Your 4x4GB of memory. Are all 4 sticks from the same 16GB Kit? Or purchased separately?
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Phoenix View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Phoenix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Dec 2016 at 7:20pm
all 4 sticks from the same 16GB Kit, Same pass
Back to Top
Phoenix View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Phoenix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Dec 2016 at 9:20pm
I noticed that in boot written 

AMD Phenom II P1.0

Does the (P1.0) refer to bios version?

Should i update it to version 2.7 as you provide here?
 http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/990FX%20Extreme4/?cat=Download&os=BIOS 

And what is (instant flash, dos, windows)? As i understand they are different ways to update BIOS, So for me i am taking the windows way  
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5113
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Dec 2016 at 11:47pm
Never use the windows way. Always use instant flash, instructions can be found by clicking the medical cross icon next to the download. 

Instant flash is by far the safest and most reliable method to use.
Back to Top
Phoenix View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Phoenix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Dec 2016 at 11:59pm
So updating BIOS maybe a solution ?
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6285
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2016 at 1:00am
Originally posted by Phoenix Phoenix wrote:

So updating BIOS maybe a solution ?


On the opening page displayed in the BIOS at the top is the BIOS revision.

Is this a new build?
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Phoenix View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Phoenix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2016 at 1:35am
Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

Originally posted by Phoenix Phoenix wrote:

So updating BIOS maybe a solution ?


On the opening page displayed in the BIOS at the top is the BIOS revision.

Is this a new build?

It was P1.0 and now i upgrade it to P2.7 



Back to Top
Phoenix View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Dec 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Phoenix Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2016 at 1:49am
Originally posted by Phoenix Phoenix wrote:

Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

Originally posted by Phoenix Phoenix wrote:

So updating BIOS maybe a solution ?


On the opening page displayed in the BIOS at the top is the BIOS revision.

Is this a new build?

It was P1.0 and now i upgrade it to P2.7 




Nothing change but windows became heavy at startup 

AND this what i got in Main screen:

UEFI Version     : 990FX Extreme P2.7 
Processor Type   : AMD Phenom II X6 1100T
Processor Speed  : 3300HHZ
Microcode update : 100FA0/10000BF
L1 Cache Size    : 768KB
L2 Cache Size    : 3072KB
L3 Cache Size    : 6144KB

Total memory     : 16384MB
                   Single-channel memory mode

DDR3_A1          : 4069MB (DDR3-1333)
DDR3_A2          : 4069MB (DDR3-1333)
DDR3_B1          : 4069MB (DDR3-1333)
DDR3_B2          : 4069MB (DDR3-1333)
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6285
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26 Dec 2016 at 10:28am
Originally posted by Phoenix Phoenix wrote:

AND this what i got in Main screen:


Total memory     : 16384MB
                   Single-channel memory mode

DDR3_A1          : 4069MB (DDR3-1333)
DDR3_A2          : 4069MB (DDR3-1333)
DDR3_B1          : 4069MB (DDR3-1333)
DDR3_B2          : 4069MB (DDR3-1333)


It being in Single Channel yet recognize 16G, all 4 GB sticks, I'd say you need to pull the CPU and check for bent or broken pins.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.