ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - J4205-ITX HDMI output
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

J4205-ITX HDMI output

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 11>
Author
Message
alexdanis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote alexdanis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jun 2017 at 10:46pm
Hi all,

I am experiencing the same problem.
When waking up from sleep i can't see anything on my screen even though the computer/board is on.

The problem persists even with firmware 1.3 and on both HDMI (converted to DVI) and VGA connections to my Dell U2311H monitor

Any hope on this?




Back to Top
beste-spellen View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote beste-spellen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 Jun 2017 at 12:24am
I am also still experiencing the same issues.
Motherboard: J3455-ITX
TV: LG OLED 55E6V

Running the latest beta BIOS, but to no avail...
Back to Top
alexdanis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote alexdanis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Jun 2017 at 12:08am
If I am not alone on this, then the problem is not fixed with bios 1.3

Any response from ASROCK on this issue?
Back to Top
beste-spellen View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 24 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote beste-spellen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2017 at 3:18am
Originally posted by alexdanis alexdanis wrote:


Any response from ASROCK on this issue?


Yup, I'm still busy with ASRock Tech Support. They do give some helpfull advice, but I'm not there yet.

HDMI works, but only:

  • if in the BIOS, the Launch Video OpROM Policy is set to Legacy Only, and
  • The Microsoft Basic Display Adapter is being used


When I install the Intelē°§ HD Graphics - the latest version or the version from the ASRock site - the HDMI video output stops working again...
Back to Top
alexdanis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote alexdanis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2017 at 4:52am


so that means that bios 1.3 did not solve the issue. When can we expect a new bios that solves this issue?

It's a pity cause its such a nice board!
Back to Top
Sireone View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Jul 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sireone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2017 at 7:21am
Same issue here running a J3455-ITX.  HDMI works perfectly fine on my 1080P Sharp, but no signal on my LG UH8500 4K TV.  

On an interesting note, I did an motherboard swap from an Asus N3150I-C (in order to her 4K@60Hz) and noticed that Libreelec booted up on the LG 4K set.  In display settings, I had Default, eDPI and HDMI.  I had to set it to HDMI for it to work (via a VGA monitor first).  I then set Libreelec to Adjust Display Refresh Rate to Always and then would get a blank screen when playing a video.  So I reinstalled Libreelec and now no signal at all on the LG, not even post.  I connected it back to the Sharp and everything works.  Looking at the display settings, HDMI is gone and now I see Default & DP.  

Not sure what that means, but could probably get it to work (in Libreelec at atleast) by adjusting some settings?

Back to Top
Sireone View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 Jul 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Sireone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Jul 2017 at 11:14am
Progress!!!  I was able to get Libreelec to recognize the HDMI, but I had to run the following command.  Still no output from post.  I only see the display once Kodi is booted.

xrandr --output eDP1 --mode 1920x1080 --rate 60.00

And added it to startup with this.

/storage/.config/autostart.sh
(                                                
 xrandr --output DP1 --mode 1920x1080 --rate 60.00
) &
Back to Top
MediaCenterWorld View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 09 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote MediaCenterWorld Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jul 2017 at 5:38pm

You should use firmware version APLITX1.30A to solve this problem, which it does.

1.30 (without the A) does not solve this problem

It's a bit of a shame that I am not allowed to put a attach (why not??)

Asrock should put the 1.30A firmware on the download page a long time ago to solve this isseu, but at this moment it is still not available!

Back to Top
alexdanis View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote alexdanis Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Jul 2017 at 6:42pm
Hi MediaCenterWorld thanks for the tip!!!ClapClap

I updated to firmware 1.30A and indeed it has solved the problem. When using windows, after waking up from sleep I can finally see the Windows login page again!
Using the HDMI output (cable to DVI) to my Dell 2311H this now finally works!
However, when using the VGA output the problem persists. For me this is fine as I mostly use the HDMI out, but thought i should mention it here.

For anyone looking for the firmware, in the j4205 official AsRock webpage, at the bottom of the left menu there is a "Beta zone". You can find it there! Version 1.30A reads (Do not launch vBIOS if not detect HDMI monitor). There are even some other versions like 1.20H (improve TV card compatibility) and 1.20D (Modify vBIOS setting for HDMI display) which i haven't tried


Edited by alexdanis - 15 Jul 2017 at 6:43pm
Back to Top
energy2k View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 18 Jul 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote energy2k Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Jul 2017 at 7:47pm
Hello,
I am in the same situation as you. I have a Samsung TV 4K Series 6 (KU6500) that does not recognize video input via HDMI.
I have tried all the bios that have been published, both those that are in the official section as in the beta section and none has worked.
With what little I have researched, it seems that the Intel NUCs have a similar problem and Intel has released an upgrade firmware for HDMI 2.0 with the Samsung 4k Televisions.
I know it is not specific to this model of plate, but from the comments I read it seems to work.
I'll try it this afternoon and tell you something.

More info:


Edited by energy2k - 19 Jul 2017 at 3:46pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 23456 11>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.