ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ASRock Taichi Debug@99+never POSTed, N00Born Build
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

ASRock Taichi Debug@99+never POSTed, N00Born Build

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
22curious View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Jan 2017
Location: Georgia
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 22curious Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Jan 2017 at 8:45am
Well, I tried my friend's GTX 9800 on my out-of-case stripped down build.  No joy in Taichiville.  Still stuck at 99. 
Finding solutions requires asking better questions, and being receptive to answers that might not be comfortable...
Back to Top
22curious View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Jan 2017
Location: Georgia
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 22curious Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2017 at 9:14pm
Last two times I've tried to post, I get 500+Chinese characters? This is a test.
Finding solutions requires asking better questions, and being receptive to answers that might not be comfortable...
Back to Top
22curious View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Jan 2017
Location: Georgia
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 22curious Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Jan 2017 at 9:17pm

Received 1 stick 2133MHz QVL-listed RAM as recommended by @parsec*, and tried it in D1** and A1***, clearing CMOS between, but still stuck on 99.

 

Also tried 1 stick in each of the 8 slots, clearing CMOS between.

@parsec: *"Some cheap DDR4 memory I can guarantee will work in your board is the Crucial model below. I've used it with my ASRock X99 board, and an i7-6800K:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148856"

Crucial 4gb DDR4-2133 UDIMM 1.2V CL15, CT4G4DFS8213

 

  • One stick in D1** per X99 memory config, population priority diagrams shared by @wardog, this thread.
  • One stick in A1***, implied by the Taichi manual, and as the ASRock TSD explicitly instructed  Zachary:

Manufacturer Response:

Dear Zachary,

 

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. 

Please trouble shoot the mainboard whether the issue is resolved.

If problem still persist, check the last code that shown on the board to report us when contacting tech support.

 

??Unplug the ATX power, remove all components from mainboard.

??Remove the mainboard from chassis, place it on mainboard?嚙編 box.

??Clear the CMOS.

??Reseat the CPU and heatsink fan.

??Test with single memory module on Al slot.

??Reseat video card firmly and 6+6 PCIE power (if applied).

??Connect the monitor.

??Plug the 24 + 8 or 4 pins ATX power.

??Connect the chassis power switch to mainboard.

??Turn on the power to check if its post.

 

If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

We will assist you shortly.

 

Thank you

 

ASRock Support

Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

 

From <http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157719&nm_mc=AFC-C8Junction&cm_mmc=AFC-C8Junction-PCPartPicker,%20LLC-_-na-_-na-_-na&cm_sp=&AID=10446076&PID=3938566&SID=>

 

I've done everything suggested in  ASRock TSD's list of instructions to Zachary.  Still stuck on 99.

 

I've also done everything suggested on this most excellent post "PERFORM THESE STEPS before posting about POST/boot/no video problems!"

<http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261145-31-perform-steps-posting-post-boot-video-problems>, except:
 

  • #17. My board does not have a system speaker - however it does have the Dr Debug LED.
  • #22, I need to try DVI still. I've tried HDMI and VGA so far.  (22. If you have integrated video and a video card, try the integrated video port. Resetting the bios, can make it default back to the onboard video. (AFAIK, the Taichi has no onboard video). If you are trying to use HDMI outputs, try using DVI or VGA instead. Sometimes the HDMI ports won't work until the correct drivers are installed.)
  • Also, I've not checked voltages on my PSU, but it's not dead - the fans whiz and lights glow - and I didn't exactly cheap out on it. (SeaSonic PRIME 750W 80+ Titanium Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply)
  • I have not yet gotten to these additional threads:
     
    • jsc's breadboard

      Edited by 22curious - 15 Jan 2017 at 1:18am
Finding solutions requires asking better questions, and being receptive to answers that might not be comfortable...
Back to Top
stookie72 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 12 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote stookie72 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2017 at 2:17am
Hi there.
I am here stuck at the same problem.
GTX1050 card in slot 1-2, error 99.
Slot 3, error d6 (although that must be because the M2 stick which makes sense according to the manual).

In another forum someone mentioned that it is regarding the MB is not able to deliver enough power to the PCI. Could this be?
My GTX1050 card does not have a additional Powerplug.

Any idea or better, did solve your issue?
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 May 2017 at 8:39am
Originally posted by stookie72 stookie72 wrote:

Hi there.
I am here stuck at the same problem.
GTX1050 card in slot 1-2, error 99.
Slot 3, error d6 (although that must be because the M2 stick which makes sense according to the manual).

In another forum someone mentioned that it is regarding the MB is not able to deliver enough power to the PCI. Could this be?
My GTX1050 card does not have a additional Powerplug.

Any idea or better, did solve your issue?


This is a Z270 board?


Please list your system components and what BIOS the MB is flashed to?
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
22curious View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Jan 2017
Location: Georgia
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 22curious Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2017 at 4:36am

Hey stookie72 - sorry you're having a similar experience. ptsd d矇j? vu!  Wink


Take a deep breath - you might be in the home stretch!

Maybe you'll need to do more troubleshooting to find YOUR obstacle.  Yet before you do, you might try something super fundamental.

I took many detours to around the 'Error' code 99 roadblock. How I FINALLY* got to UEFI? 
 

  • Recognized (thanks to @James999 and @parsec)* that the Dr. Debug codes are NOT 'error' codes, but rather mal-documented post process codes.
  • Acquired 1 stick of 2133MHz DDR4 memory on the QVL.
  • Reconnected my devices.
  • IGNORED the 'error' code, and kept devices installed.
  • Rebooted, this time hit F2.
     

GOT TO UEFI!!

~~~~ more na簿ve n00b saga excerpts below ~~~~

I think my post was too long -- got 500+Chinese characters again, so I'll try this in chunks. 

Finding solutions requires asking better questions, and being receptive to answers that might not be comfortable...
Back to Top
22curious View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Jan 2017
Location: Georgia
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 22curious Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2017 at 4:38am
~~~~ more na簿ve n00b saga excerpts below ~~~~

 

*Deep thanks to @James999 for his post:

 

"This is bizarre, because it is contradicted by the (extremely brief) section in the manual on error codes.

If the error code is steady on 99 after power up, the BIOS will load.  (with 1 or 2 sticks of RAM).


"So bottom line, I think Dr. Debug code 99 is not actually an error. I think it indicates that the final step of boot-up has finished and the BIOS is loading. One additional item: on both boards, with one stick of DDR4, you will not get to the 99 code unless the memory is in a particular slot. It was different on each board which slot worked. I had to use trial and error to find the right one on the ASRock board because the *&#^% manual does not indicate which one to use first."#9James999Jan 18, 2015  <https://forums.anandtech.com/threads/error-code-99-asrock-x99m.2417200/>

 

*Thanks to @parsec for clarifying " The codes do not identify an error, they simply identify each POST test/procedure??/span>IF a POST code is shown on the Dr Debug display, and it remains displayed, that means that particular POST test failed for some reason??  From @parsec's 02 Jul 2016 at 11:20pm post here<http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=2966&title=fatal1ty-x99x-killer-problem-starting-up>  Note that in my case -- that word 'failed' kept me in a breadboarded loop troubleshooting 'error' codes without my peripherals attached. 

 

*Despite the manual, that says "Dr. Debug is used to provide codes that represent different errors that your system has encountered. Please see the diagram below for reading the Dr. Debug codes and how to troubleshoot." 

Thanks also to @DJViking for sharing the sequence of POST tests on an X99 board.  <http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=2966&title=fatal1ty-x99x-killer-problem-starting-up>

Post edited by DJViking - 02 Jul 2016 at 1:55am

 

Very useful general guidance for new builders:

+STICKY: PERFORM THESE STEPS before posting about POST/boot/no video problems!

<http://tomshardware.com/forum/261145-31-perform-steps-posting-post-boot-video-problems>

 

That sticky also suggests:

"...jsc's breadboarding thread:

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/262730-31-breadboardi...

(see my BREADBOARDING DETOUR notes below.)
 

If you make it through the entire checklist without success, Proximon has put together another great thread with a few more ideas here:

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/264823-31-progess-tro...

 

More about : perform steps posting post boot video problems"

 

+Build guide from Paul's Hardware <https://youtu.be/XQEwQ-sRUZU>  (via @Xaltar, <http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=3599&title=build-guide-how-to> )

 

MY BREADBOARDING DETOUR

 

I turns out that I had already taken the breadboarding steps recommended by @jsc <http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/262730-31-breadboarding>

 

Despite repeating the breadboarding steps after multiple deep overnight resets, I remained 'stuck' at Dr. Debug code 99?守ntil I questioned the troubleshooting instructions.  See next post... 

Finding solutions requires asking better questions, and being receptive to answers that might not be comfortable...
Back to Top
22curious View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Jan 2017
Location: Georgia
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 22curious Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2017 at 4:52am

MY BREADBOARDING DETOUR

 

As mentioned above, I had already taken the breadboarding steps recommended by @jsc <http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/262730-31-breadboarding>  Despite repeating the breadboarding steps after multiple deep overnight resets, I remained 'stuck' at Dr. Debug code 99?守ntil I questioned the troubleshooting instructions.


My breadboarding sequence, (w/ ASRock X99 Taichi Dr. Debug LED codes).


53: Problem related to memory. (I re-installed the CPU & HSF (no visible bent pins on mobo)). Got 53 again.

 

Q: Does the fact that I did NOT get 55 indicate a problem?  "55: The Memory could not be detected. Please re-install the memory and CPU. If the problem still exists, please install only one memory module or try using other memory modules."

I added one stick of 2133MHz DDR4 memory on the QVL (specifically, Crucial 4GB 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 2133 (PC4 17000) Desktop Memory Model CT4G4DFS8213). Then get Debug code "d7: The Keyboard and mouse could not be recognized. Please try re-installing the keyboard and mouse."

  So I plugged in the USB keyboard and mouse.


Got

"d6: The VGA could not be recognized. Please clear CMOS and try re-installing the VGA card. If the problem still exists, please try installing the VGA card in other slots or use other VGA cards"

 

Cleared CMOS, using the CLR CMOS jumper and removing the battery (for 10 min??.
Installed three different VGA cards
Each time I got code 99. Both with and without the monitor connected to the card.
 

1.Video card from a Dell XPS, ATI Radeon HD3650 (PCI-e 2.0 x16, uses onboard power).  Got code 99.
 

2.GTX9800 (6pin power connected) Got code 99.  Then when retried after the Radeon card, got stuck at d6 (had cleared CMOS prior, but might not have waited quite 10 minutes?安hat? Try again. oops. had unplugged both ends of the power cord). Now stuck at 99 again.
 

3. GTX 1070 (8pin power connected).  Code 99

(Added keyboard and mouse prior to graphics card, to get past code d7) Stuck at 99 again.
 

Debug codes "92-99 Problem related to PCI-E devices. Please re-install PCI-E devices or try installing them in other slots. If the problem still exists, please remove all PCI-E devices or try using another VGA card."

Debug code 99? Specifics anyone?
No.

I had not proceeded to connect drives - because the codes kept telling me that there was a problem. And the forums kept telling me to strip things down to basics, without any SATA or M.2 devices.

Should I?
Why not?

 

Connected the SATA SSD to SATA3~0. Rebooted. Got to code A2

 

Connected the SATA HD to SATA 3~0. Rebooted. Got to A2.

"A0-A7:
Problem related to IDE or SATA devices.

"Please re-install IDE and SATA devices." Did that. Still got A2.

"If the problem still exists, please clear CMOS and try removing all SATA devices."  Back to 99

 

Connected the SATA SSD to SATA3~2. Rebooted. Got to code A2.
 

Re-connected the SATA SSD to SATA3~0. Rebooted. Got to code A2.

 

Decided to ignore the 'problem' and connect the monitor anyway.
Debug says A6. Yay?

 

A6: Problem related to IDE or SATA devices. Please re-install IDE and SATA devices. If the problem still exists, please clear CMOS and try removing all SATA devices.

 

Decided to continue ignoring the 'problem' code, and kept devices installed. Rebooted, this time hit F2.
 

GOT TO UEFI.
Clap

Finding solutions requires asking better questions, and being receptive to answers that might not be comfortable...
Back to Top
22curious View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 Jan 2017
Location: Georgia
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 22curious Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 May 2017 at 4:55am
EPILOGUE (naive n00b saga)

 

I delayed posting my rather anti-climactic solution because I felt rather like an idiot + I didn't want to say something I would regret?地nd then life happened.  The note that I wrote to myself then:  

 

I expect to be happy about this tomorrow.  Right now I just feel bruised from the mostly unnecessarily long journey it took to get here. Seriously.

Suggestions to ASRock:

 

Why perpetuate the incorrect descriptor 'error' codes -- why not call them Dr. Debug 'post progress' or 'post sequence' codes?
 

Wouldn't it be helpful to share a FULL list of Dr. Debug codes and related troubleshooting steps?

Why not share which Dr. Debug code indicates that all is well and no obstacles to booting remain?
Perhaps a 'GO' success code?
No LEDs lit? 
 

If having one stick of (maximum) 2133MHz DDR4 memory on the QVL is essential for the initial boot (before installing more or faster RAM) -- shouldn't this be in the motherboard documentation?

Likewise, isn't the DIMM population priority sequence basic information that should be in the mb manual? 

 

@parsec discussed mem configs here Posted: 11 Jan 2016 at 2:47am

<http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=1704&title=x99-extreme-6-code-b0-or-60>

As @parsec points out, "Unfortunately, when using two DIMMs as you are, their location is ambiguous given this information.  A non-intuitive bit of information from Intel about the order of use of the DIMM slots is this: 

Populate the the DIMM slots that are the farthest from the processor first.
Based on Intel guidance @parsec reasonably concludes that "Two DIMMs in a quad channel X99 board should be put in slots A1 and C1."

and "Very important, every time we move memory from one slot to another, we MUST clear the UEFI/BIOS! If you don't do this, you're on your own."

 

From <http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=1704&title=x99-extreme-6-code-b0-or-60>

 

Yet this (guidance to prioritize DIMM_A1 and DIMM_C1) conflicts with 'mem configs for X99 boards' image shared by 

@wardog that indicates populating DIMM_D1 + DIMM_B1 (for two sticks), and DIMM_D1 for one.  From 11 Jan 2017 at 8:59am  post

<http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=4217&PID=22004&#22004>

 

I'm deeply grateful for forum and tech support - yet it seems that a few basic manual clarifications could prevent a lot of confusion and conserve valuable time. 

Finding solutions requires asking better questions, and being receptive to answers that might not be comfortable...
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.064 seconds.