ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Media&User's Review > Intel Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ASRock N3150M Review
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

ASRock N3150M Review

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
Message
Biscu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Sep 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Biscu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Sep 2015 at 12:52am
Hello,
Sorry for my potential stupid question :) i'm not a pc specialist...
for mainboards N3150M and N3150DC-ITX, does HDMI accept CEC (Anynet) so I can use my TV remote control for Kodi?
Thank you
Back to Top
Biscu View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 05 Sep 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Biscu Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Sep 2015 at 9:48pm
WoW ... so many answers ... :) 


Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Bulgaria
Status: Offline
Points: 4131
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09 Sep 2015 at 10:49pm
I am sorry but without a CEC device to test with I can't say. I had hoped someone with some experience on the matter would answer but it seems no one who has read your post has tried it.

Sorry I couldn't be of more help. 


Edited by Xaltar - 12 Sep 2015 at 10:03pm
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Bulgaria
Status: Offline
Points: 4131
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Sep 2015 at 9:41pm
Just a little update, CPUID now properly reads the N3150 CPU and RAM information. During my review there were some anomalies with CPUID's readouts that led me to believe that their may be an issue with the way the N3150M handles dual channel memory. I am pleased to report this is not the case as the latest CPUZ reports the memory as dual channel 800mhz (x2=1600) as it should. 




This is the last issue I had left bothering me about the N3150M and it is now put to bed. 


The board has been working flawlessly for months now and handles everything I throw at it without complaint. I couldn't be happier with the ASRock N3150M as a low power/low cost solution. I would happily recommend the N3150M to anyone looking for a small form factor, low cost system that uses standard DDR3 RAM rather than more costly SODIMMs.

Great stuff ASRock Clap 

My only complaint now is that I can't overclock it LOL
Back to Top
bog_xdan View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 May 2015
Location: ROMANIA
Status: Offline
Points: 74
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote bog_xdan Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Oct 2015 at 4:40am
Very good and complete review man, good work!
Live free or die hard
Back to Top
dml33 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dml33 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2015 at 4:16am
Originally posted by rebutia rebutia wrote:

Nice reviewSmile
I bought the same motherboard a week ago. 

Am I the only one who found out non-UEFI booting problem in this motherboard?
This motherboard just won't boot with anything that is not UEFI based. I tried CD, DVD, USB stick, USB harddisk and nothing works. After passing the UEFI startup screen, there will be a blinking cursor on a blank screen.

I also turned on/off on all switches in UEFI menu, CSM, USB legacy mode, legacy rom, virtually all combination have been tested. 

Yes, UEFI boot is the future and it has many advance features. However, if it is not designed to compatible to old BIOS bootable device, at least Asrock should state clearly on the box, right?
Hi, rebutia.

I found the same problem. I am running P1.30 BIOS version and I cannot boot up any USB in BIOS Legacy mode, but just only in UEFI Mode. 

Therefore, for example, I canot install FreeNAS 9.3, which was the main purpose when I bought this awesome motherboard...

You said you contacted Asrock to tell them. Please, tell me how, so I do it, as well.

I'm quite interested because I seriously doubt FreeNAS will boot up in UEFI mode in a near future (even FreeNAS 10 Alpha does not boot in UEFI mode, even there is a FreeBSD 10.1 and 10.2 UEFI bootable)...

Thanks!!


Edited by dml33 - 13 Oct 2015 at 4:18am
Back to Top
David257 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David257 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2015 at 7:46pm
Hey guys, 

I think the lowest Pico that's available for this board is the 80 watt one?  Would this be compatible:

http://linitx.com/product/minibox-12v-80w-picopsu80/11459?gclid=CLXwtIP0y8gCFcHGGwodZ5gC0g

Or does it also support 19v input like some of the bay trail models (currently using a Q1900DC-ITX)? If so, maybe this one?

http://linitx.com/product/minibox-1232v-80w-picopsu80wi32v/11460?gclid=CN_S-Nr0y8gCFUHlwgoduKcKSA

Asrock say that the 3150M supports low voltage memory.  Would that include 1.35v? 

Thanks!






Edited by David257 - 18 Oct 2015 at 7:48pm
Back to Top
David257 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David257 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2015 at 7:49pm
duplicate post..





Edited by David257 - 19 Oct 2015 at 1:33am
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Location: Bulgaria
Status: Offline
Points: 4131
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Oct 2015 at 8:22pm
Sorry it has taken me so long to get back to you. I have tried to no avail to get my hands on DC power converters like the ones you posted to test with. I suspect both will work as they offer more than enough power for this little SoC setup but not having one to test with means I can only say they "should" work. It has been driving me a little crazy, I had planned to use a converter like the ones you posted myself for a custom built case I wanted to make for it but despite my best effort the damn things just aren't available locally at any decent price point and I refuse to spend as much on a converter as I would a decent brand 600w PSU and then additionally have to purchase a ~12v/19v power adapter. I guess I will just wait until find a decently priced one.

As for the memory, yes, it does support 1.35v memory. In fact I was able to undervolt my DDR3 1600 kit to 1.35v without any loss in stability. There is no incremental voltage adjustment in the BIOS but you can select between 1.5v and 1.35v.
Back to Top
David257 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 Oct 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote David257 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Oct 2015 at 2:03am
Originally posted by Xaltar Xaltar wrote:

I suspect both will work as they offer more than enough power for this little SoC setup but not having one to test with means I can only say they "should" work. 

As for the memory, yes, it does support 1.35v memory. In fact I was able to undervolt my DDR3 1600 kit to 1.35v without any loss in stability. There is no incremental voltage adjustment in the BIOS but you can select between 1.5v and 1.35v.


Thanks for the info!

Cool, will just have to see for myself if the 80w 12v version works.  

Will look for some 1.35v memory (CL9 or below), ideally 2 x 2GB but may end up with 2 x 4GB because specialist 2GB doesn't appear that common. Main function of the build will be as audio pc where low latency/ low voltage is desirable Smile




Edited by David257 - 19 Oct 2015 at 7:27pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.