ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > OverClocking(OC) Zone > OC Technical Discussion
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Z270 Taichi overclocking
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Z270 Taichi overclocking

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 345
Author
Message
GothGoli View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GothGoli Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 May 2017 at 11:04pm
Originally posted by SerpentXSF SerpentXSF wrote:


Anyone able to talk about Bios settings used to get stable 5 Ghz?

Not the preset options, but manual config and whats your settings?

We all know AVX should be set to 2 or 3, and Vcore is fixed to 1.32 + depending, as well ass LLC level 2.

But the rest I am a bit off on, maybe its the fever..


Is -10 AVX too much? 
Back to Top
Johnny Rocco View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Johnny Rocco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2017 at 2:37pm
Originally posted by SerpentXSF SerpentXSF wrote:

Ignore my last reply, I am running a slight fever...

G.skill TridentZ RCG 16GB   F4-3200C16D-16GTZR

Is that what you were looking for? 


Perfect!  And it's pretty. 
Hope you are feeling better.  Overclock the CPU, keep yourself cool. 
"Some people have youth, some have beauty - I have menace"
Back to Top
Johnny Rocco View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 29 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Johnny Rocco Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 May 2017 at 3:36pm
Originally posted by SerpentXSF SerpentXSF wrote:


Anyone able to talk about Bios settings used to get stable 5 Ghz?

Not the preset options, but manual config and whats your settings?


I second the motion.  Not a lot of settings info on Z270 boards.  The Taichi, SuperCarrier, and Gaming I7 are said to have circuitry similar to the Z170 Formula OC relevant to overclocking (Tweaktown reviews). 

I have seen reviewers using LLC 1 (most extreme) and dialing up the power and current limits, but not a complete settings "dump".
"Some people have youth, some have beauty - I have menace"
Back to Top
SerpentXSF View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 17 Mar 2017
Location: Jacksonville FL
Status: Offline
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote SerpentXSF Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28 Jun 2017 at 12:04am
@GothGoli View Drop Down 

I would say AVX set to 10 is too HIGH, go with either  1 through 3.


Also my current settings, when manually config in Bios.

  1. All core set to 5 Ghz
  2. CPU Cache Ratio 4.2 - 4.5
  3. BCLK 100.0000
  4. Vcore fixed, 1.39 (1.425 for 5.1 Ghz)  < maybe 1.456 for some people
  5. LLC 3
  6. Leave everything on Auto, but turn of IGPU, Spread Spectrum, Intel Speed Shift


Settings when in OS, using AI suite from Asrock..
In bios leave everything Auto, and turn off the usual IGPU, Spread Spectrum, Intel Speed Shift
  1. Boot into OS, and open Asrock AI tuner thing, what ever it is called now...
  2. For 5 Ghz, I have a + offset of:  .125 - .150, but this will throw errors in Prime \ However everything else works fine, games and benchmarks, so adjust according to your setup
  3. For 5.1 Ghz, +offset of: .165 - .185, but again I get errors in Prime, and this can hit 1.456 in Vcore
  4. For 5.2 Ghz, +offset of: .190 - .200 (THIS IS DANGEROUS) do it ALL OF THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE, read below for testing help

You don't want to hit above 1.500 Vcore, as you can fry or reduce your CPU lifespan. unless you are using LN2 or Helium to cool your CPU

I personally prefer BIOS tuning, than OS tuning, but depending on your setup, be careful

I would open up prime 95, or LinX, or Intel Burn Test
Set the +offset low and test, while keeping an eye on HWinfo, or Cpuz, monitoring Vcore during test

If you get errors up the voltage, by .005 until the errors seem to go away, bare in mind, since you
left the bios voltage on Auto, that the motherboard may throw to much Vcore, so look at the 
Max Vcore, Min Vcore, and Average Vcore. To determine what you were running at, I use HWinfo, and compare with CPUz, and Corsair Link (Corsair Link said one time I hit 2.000 on Vcore, which would mean my CPU just got fried so don't trust it.

Good Luck,

SerpentXSF

CPUZ validation:

http://valid.x86.fr/3g0kin


Edited by SerpentXSF - 28 Jun 2017 at 1:15am
SerpentX
Z270 Taich, Intel 7700k
G.Skill TridentZ 3200
960 Evo and 850 Evo
Aorus 1080 Ti

Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 345
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.