ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - crossFire A88M-G/3.1
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

crossFire A88M-G/3.1

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
hydrogaming23 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Location: Jakarta
Status: Offline
Points: 23
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hydrogaming23 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: crossFire A88M-G/3.1
    Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 2:02pm
I just bought A88M-G/3.1 MB for my AMD 880k, GPU Sapphire RX470 nitro+, I was wondering since the board support crossfire, could i install 2nd sapphire Rx470, will it fit in the board and not touching each other? I really like the MATX factor ....

Please advice.....
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 3:23pm
Two of those shouldn't be a problem fit. The two x16(1 in x16mode, one in x4mode) slots you'd used are double spaced, as are the cards themselves.

http://sapphirenitro.sapphiretech.com/en/470-4.html

They'll run in CF Bridgeless Mode according to their specs.

You'll need a minimum 600w PSI that is Crossfire Certified:
http://www.realhardtechx.com/index_archivos/Page362.htm

Last. CCC will need installed to configure.




X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
hydrogaming23 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Location: Jakarta
Status: Offline
Points: 23
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hydrogaming23 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 3:46pm
Thanks for the answer, I know that my spec are budget specs, but that what I can afford now, I should get the PSU 600w before I bought it. Any way will it be any good doing cross fire with the CPU I have? 

BR
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 4:02pm
If that's your budget go for it. Been there myself once or a dozen times Tongue

Why, for the price and power requirements CF two of those though.

For the price of one GTX 1060 or 1070 you can have nearly(1060) or greater(1070) performance _and_ req a less than 600w PSU. 1060=450w , 1070=500w. Mind you, that 450 or 500 PSU will need to be a decent one and not a 500w one that comes pre installed in a $49 case purchase ok.

http://www.gamersnexus.net/guides/2547-amd-rx-470-crossfire-benchmark-vs-rx-480-and-1070
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
hydrogaming23 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Location: Jakarta
Status: Offline
Points: 23
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hydrogaming23 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 4:11pm
My Cube Gaming PC case doesn't come with the PSU so I purchase FSP Hydro 500W, the shop recommend the brand, I wanted to go for cheaper one but he advised me not to.

I'am happy with the budget setup, playing, Far Cry primal, Biohazard 7, Deathwing, On 1080p / ultra and never goes down below 50. It always on 50-60. Playable for me.


Edited by hydrogaming23 - 08 Mar 2017 at 4:28pm
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 4:44pm
Originally posted by hydrogaming23 hydrogaming23 wrote:

..... I purchase FSP Hydro 500W, the shop recommend the brand, I wanted to go for cheaper one but he advised me not to.


Wow! That was great advice he offered you. I trust you've become a regular buyer there? You should. e-tailers can't and do not offer that kind of advice, only maybe what makes themselves the greater profit.

This shop Owner is watching out for you!
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5191
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 4:50pm
I agree with Wardog 100% here, whenever I find a store that gives good advice I stick with them. I don't usually need the advice but knowing they are giving good advice makes me feel more confident in my purchases as well as in their competence should I have any issues. I will even buy from them if their prices are a little higher because this extra level of service is always worth it, it means they put the customer first.

Great stuff Thumbs Up
Back to Top
hydrogaming23 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Location: Jakarta
Status: Offline
Points: 23
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hydrogaming23 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 5:07pm
Actually not the shop owner, the technician guy who works in the shop recomends me (Buy him a cup of coffee) he insisted. In Jakarta every PC shop has tecnition to assamble new PC. But I did not, I wanted to learn assamble my self.

My PC spec are:

X4 880K
Asrock A88M-G/3.1
Team Dark 2x4GB 2133hz, (He says that the CPU only accept up to 2133)
Deepcool Mailstorm 240T
Kingstone SSD 120GB
Toshiba 1TB HHD
FSP Hydro 500w
Deepcool TF120 X2 for fan cassing (Controable fan)
MATX Cube Gaming LUXE

So can the PSU support the crossfire?



Edited by hydrogaming23 - 08 Mar 2017 at 5:09pm
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 5:14pm
While FSP PSUs are a great choice I feel it's a tad underpowered for RX 470 Nitro+'s in CrossFire.

The chart I linked above I've gone by for years and it's never let me down. It's an easier reference that scouring Google results. And it's all one one page too.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
hydrogaming23 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Location: Jakarta
Status: Offline
Points: 23
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hydrogaming23 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Mar 2017 at 10:42pm
Like I said i should get the 600W PSU........Save some money again...
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.