ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Will ASRock update BIOS with AGESA updates?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Will ASRock update BIOS with AGESA updates?

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Trender View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Mar 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 52
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trender Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Will ASRock update BIOS with AGESA updates?
    Posted: 27 Mar 2017 at 5:44am
Hello, Im looking for a motherboard for Ryzen and I may buy the X370 Killer. My RAMs are the Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 and Im wondering if ASRock will update their BIOS as I've read a new patch been released from AMD and some motherboard manufactures are implementing it, which improves RAM speeds.

Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2017 at 10:26am
Originally posted by Trender Trender wrote:

Hello, Im looking for a motherboard for Ryzen and I may buy the X370 Killer. My RAMs are the Corsair CMK16GX4M2B3200C16 and Im wondering if ASRock will update their BIOS as I've read a new patch been released from AMD and some motherboard manufactures are implementing it, which improves RAM speeds.




The 1st BIOS patch AMD will release is to address the FMA3 issue.


I am sure an AGESA update(not patch!) will not nor could not address any memory compatibility issue as this is solely within a block of the BIOS totally unrelated.

AGESA updates are issued to address new/future processors.


Can I ask the Thread/post location you read this?





X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Trender View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Mar 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 52
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trender Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2017 at 8:58pm
Oh well then I was wrong I thought It was for improving RAM speed. I wonder if you know if ASRock is going to improve RAM speeds with BIOS updates, Im between ASRock Killer or gigabyte Gaming 3 but the Gaming 3 runs at 3200 MHz with my RAM (CMK16GX4M2B3200C16)
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2017 at 9:28pm
There are three places i know where you can check compatibility.

1. The motherboards Memory QVL

2. http://www.corsair.com/en-us/memory-finder

3. Unofficial - http://rymem.vraith.com/
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Trender View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 27 Mar 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 52
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Trender Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2017 at 11:27pm
Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

There are three places i know where you can check compatibility.

1. The motherboards Memory QVL

2. http://www.corsair.com/en-us/memory-finder

3. Unofficial - http://rymem.vraith.com/
But according to cpu-z, rymem and people Gigabyte gaming 3 is getting more RAM speed than the rest of manufacturers with BIOS.But motherboards have to update their BIOS improve the speeds as some boards are getting more speeds than others from what I've saw. Also: https://community.amd.com/community/gaming/blog/2017/03/14/tips-for-building-a-better-amd-ryzen-system "AMD will increase support for overclocked memory configurations with higher memory multipliers. We intend to issue updates to motherboard partners in May that will enable them, on whatever products they choose, to support speeds higher than the current DDR4-3200 limit without refclk adjustments." I think Im getting the X370 Killer hoping updates, with my CMK16GX4M2B3200C16, hoping on getting 2400-2933 for now, because althought the Gaming 3 looks like getting more RAM speed for now the ASRock have more VRM and propably have better build quality. 
Some questions, how I make a bootable USB to update my BIOS? http://www.asrock.com/support/BIOSIG.asp?cat=DOS8 I have to download Microsoft Millenium and burn it with Rufus lol? Also its safe to update though bios internet or something?
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27 Mar 2017 at 11:49pm
Rufus doesn't need anything "extra' to create a bootable USB stick.

It, the download, will default to using the included FreeDOS that is packaged within the program.




STAY FAR AWAY from flashing the BIOS in anything but DOS or, from within the BIOS proper, Instant Flash.

What with all the background processes Windows has running we here see and answer TOO many horror stories of bricked BIOSes/boards from folks flashing their BIOS from within Windows.




X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Gitsum View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 01 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Gitsum Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 2017 at 11:00am
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6334
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Apr 2017 at 11:44am
Originally posted by Gitsum Gitsum wrote:

http://www.guru3d.com/news-story/amd-fixes-more-ryzen-issues-with-new-microcode.html


Careful there. That's not 6ns relating to system memory, instead internal to the processor itself.

I'm certain you system memory is NOT running anything near 6ns latency Wink
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 5.10), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 970 EVO M.2 250GB + 500GB, Tt Core X9 Black

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.059 seconds.