ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X370 Fatal1ty Gaming Professional - [BIOS v2.x]
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X370 Fatal1ty Gaming Professional - [BIOS v2.x]

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 8>
Author
Message
twf85 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Location: Tucson, AZ
Status: Offline
Points: 96
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote twf85 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X370 Fatal1ty Gaming Professional - [BIOS v2.x]
    Posted: 06 Apr 2017 at 11:50pm
For those who were brave enough to update to the latest stable BIOS, please post the following:

1. Your system's specs.

2. The BIOS version that was installed before updating.

3. Update method (BIOS/DOS/WINDOWS).

4. Your experience so far with the new BIOS.


Edited by twf85 - 16 May 2017 at 11:13pm
Back to Top
Fraggers View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Location: Geneve
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fraggers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2017 at 1:09am
what are your settings for 3200 ram?

I bought this mainboard but if I try3200 will not boot and goes into loop F9

Edited by Fraggers - 07 Apr 2017 at 1:10am
Back to Top
twf85 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Location: Tucson, AZ
Status: Offline
Points: 96
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote twf85 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2017 at 1:24am
Have you updated to BIOS v2.0?

If you read through this forum, you will find quite a few people who cannot get their RAM up to their max rated speed. Right now, you need to have compatible sticks to get the speeds you are looking for.

This is a good resource - AM4/Ryzen Specific Memory and Tips
Back to Top
Fraggers View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Location: Geneve
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fraggers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2017 at 1:39am
Originally posted by twf85 twf85 wrote:

Have you updated to BIOS v2.0?

If you read through this forum, you will find quite a few people who cannot get their RAM up to their max rated speed. Right now, you need to have compatible sticks to get the speeds you are looking for.

This is a good resource - AM4/Ryzen Specific Memory and Tips


yes, updated today :)
I have ripjaws V with Samsung B-Die, try XMP without success




Edited by Fraggers - 07 Apr 2017 at 1:43am
Back to Top
twf85 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Location: Tucson, AZ
Status: Offline
Points: 96
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote twf85 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2017 at 2:42am
I'm still on the 1.6 BIOS, but all I had to do to get my sticks running at 3200 was enable XMP and set the timings.

What BIOS version were you using prior to updating to 2.0?

What RAM are you specifically using? (e.g. my sticks are F4-3200C14D-16GFX)

How did you perform the BIOS update to version 2.0?

Other then failing to get the RAM up to the speed you'd like, what else have you noticed since updating to 2.0? Is the system stable when you run your RAM at lower speeds?




Edited by twf85 - 07 Apr 2017 at 2:43am
Back to Top
Fraggers View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 05 Apr 2017
Location: Geneve
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Fraggers Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2017 at 3:09am
Originally posted by twf85 twf85 wrote:

I'm still on the 1.6 BIOS, but all I had to do to get my sticks running at 3200 was enable XMP and set the timings.

What BIOS version were you using prior to updating to 2.0?

What RAM are you specifically using? (e.g. my sticks are F4-3200C14D-16GFX)

How did you perform the BIOS update to version 2.0?

Other then failing to get the RAM up to the speed you'd like, what else have you noticed since updating to 2.0? Is the system stable when you run your RAM at lower speeds?




1) 1.93D
2) F4-3200C14D-16GVR
3) Instant Flash
4) it is very stable, until 2933 14-14-14 I have no problem (prime95 and gaming)

but in 3200 does not boot successfully, display debug loops to F9

you have suggestions for SOC Voltage?

Edited by Fraggers - 07 Apr 2017 at 3:11am
Back to Top
twf85 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Location: Tucson, AZ
Status: Offline
Points: 96
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote twf85 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2017 at 3:33am
Nah, I'm not much of an overclocker. Perhaps someone else may have some advice for you though. There are other threads that talk about RAM speeds, or you could start your own with your specific memory model in the title..
Back to Top
captaintwinkie View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote captaintwinkie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Apr 2017 at 5:19pm
Very interesting that beta 1.93D is no longer listed
Back to Top
Mextech View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 26 Mar 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 14
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mextech Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2017 at 2:39am
Originally posted by captaintwinkie captaintwinkie wrote:

Very interesting that beta 1.93D is no longer listed


Yes.... That Bios was last for me :) bricked my board.
Back to Top
twf85 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Mar 2017
Location: Tucson, AZ
Status: Offline
Points: 96
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote twf85 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Apr 2017 at 7:02am
1.
1800X @ 4000
F4-3200C14D-16GFX x 2 (16GB) @ 3200
Samsung 950 Pro 512GB / M.2_1
Windows 10 Pro 64bit / v.1607 b.14393.969

2.
v1.6

3.
Windows / UpdateBIOS.bat

4.
No major issues, aside from a few minor nuisances.

Still experiencing a bug in the Restart to UEFI app with RAM at 3200/XMP that isn't present if I cycle down to 2400/Auto. I run the App, the system restarts, but at the first post screen, it stutters and then restarts again. Then the computer boots as normal, taking me into Windows.

Also, my boot times seem higher than they should be. First boot with the updated BIOS (with most of the settings reset) returned a boot time of ~12.7 seconds, versus the ~17.6 seconds its at now. Seems odd that the time would increase with quicker RAM, but oh well. I guess this board and RAM combo has trouble with XMP profiles.

Lastly, I had my first BSOD with this system after updating. While I was watching a show or something on the TV I connect to occasionally, an email notification came in. The wonderful noise that kept repeating until it restarted was one of the final notes in the alert that had sounded. The BSOD was related to the graphics driver, so probably not to do with the new BIOS. More likely due to the speed I have the RAM at, or the fact that I had forgotten to disable CSM Compatibility after updating.


NOTE: If you are running a UEFI OS, make sure you go in and turn off CSM Compatibility after you update the BIOS. This shaved my boot time from ~20.8 seconds down to ~17.6, and the system seems a touch more stable than with CSM enabled.


Edited by twf85 - 08 Apr 2017 at 7:09am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 8>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.094 seconds.