ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Media&User's Review > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - New Ryzen Chipset Drivers and Power Plan
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

New Ryzen Chipset Drivers and Power Plan

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 3851
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: New Ryzen Chipset Drivers and Power Plan
    Posted: 28 Apr 2017 at 12:18am
AMD has released their 17.10 chipset drivers and Ryzen Balanced Power Plan update, here:

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/chipset?os=Windows+10+-+64

If you've used the Ryzen Power Plan for Windows, you may have noticed the Maximum processor frequency setting, which is set to 0 MHz by default. Confused

I'm using an ASRock X370 Killer SLI/ac board, 1700X CPU, and G.SKILL FlareX 3200 memory.

I installed the new 17.10 chipset drivers, and set my CPU settings to stock/default in the UEFI to see what would happen. After doing that and booting into Windows 10, this is what I get for the Ryzen Balanced power plan:



Maximum processor frequency of 0 MHz? That seems to allow whatever the settings in the UEFI/BIOS are, as my CPU operated at its standard base clock and Turbo speeds.

With stock/default CPU settings, if I change the Maximum processor frequency setting to say 2500MHz, the base CPU speed was changed, but not to 2500MHz, it was about 2900MHz. Other changes to that frequency didn't do very much, I didn't try it for very long.

Next I set my CPU OC, which is just 3925MHz in the UEFI. Booted into Windows 10, checked the Ryzen Power Plan again, and now I see this:



The Maximum and Minimum processor state settings are gone.

What are you getting if you install this new (is it really new?) chipset and Ryzen Power Plan? Do you also see the changes in the plan options at stock and over clocked settings?





Back to Top
AlbinoRhino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 58
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AlbinoRhino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 May 2017 at 10:29pm
I haven't played with this very much since I lost the ability to boot into the Bios and have been trying to see what triggered it.

I do remember seeing 0% though before my Bios booting issue began.

I'll try it again once I have the PC set back up. I'm reloading all of my drivers atm.
Back to Top
Dogmifier View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2017
Location: Boston
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Dogmifier Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 May 2017 at 7:36pm
Originally posted by AlbinoRhino AlbinoRhino wrote:

I haven't played with this very much since I lost the ability to boot into the Bios and have been trying to see what triggered it.

I do remember seeing 0% though before my Bios booting issue began.

I'll try it again once I have the PC set back up. I'm reloading all of my drivers atm.



Do you have "Fast boot" or "Ultrafast boot" enabled? As I recall, you can't get into bios without
resetting bios if you do.

X99X Fata1ity / X370 Gaming K4
5930k / 1700X
16GB Crucial / 16GB eVGA
1200W Corsair / 850W eVGA
evga GTX 1080 / evga GTX 1070
Samsung 950 Pro / Samsung 960
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.