ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ASRock AB350 Pro with Ryzen 5 1600 wont post
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

ASRock AB350 Pro with Ryzen 5 1600 wont post

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
Author
Message
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5793
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 2017 at 3:06pm
The PSU is one of the most common culprits when it comes to post issues. A PSU is far more complex than simply the box everything gets power from. The PSU provides multiple power rails, 12v, 5v and 3.3v. If any one of these rails is malfunctioning (low, high or not working) the system can fail to post. If the 12v rail is working the system will power on, even if the other rails are not working correctly. 

The components of a PC will require certain voltages (like the CPU vcore) to be exact and while the regulator circuitry on the motherboard can correct some slight variance coming from the PSU, it can't compensate beyond a certain point. 

If the PSU is new then it is fairly unlikely to be the cause, the problem is that the same can be said about all the components. PSUs are about as likely to be defective out of the box as say RAM or a GPU. Better brands and higher end models will be less likely to be faulty at purchase but it can still happen. Manufacturers can't control what happens to a component once it leaves the factory. Items can be dropped in shipping, exposed to excessive humidity etc etc.

I hope that answers your question Wink


So if you are taking your parts back to the store to be tested then I would bring the PSU along too. Taking parts back to the store to be checked is always a good idea when you have the option and something isn't right. If the store charges for checking parts then get them to test the CPU and motherboard first, that combo is more likely to be the issue followed by GPU then PSU. If there is not additional fee then get them all tested for your peace of mind.

Good luck GizRev, let us know what happens.
Back to Top
TooQik View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Apr 2017
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 104
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TooQik Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 2017 at 3:06pm
Just a thought, you've been checking everything on the motherboard side, have you checked that you plugged the 8 pin CPU power cable into the correct port on the PSU itself ie. the PSU port labeled 4+4 CPU (Top far right) and not the 6+2 PCI-E by mistake?
Back to Top
GizRev View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GizRev Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 2017 at 11:03pm
Originally posted by TooQik TooQik wrote:

Just a thought, you've been checking everything on the motherboard side, have you checked that you plugged the 8 pin CPU power cable into the correct port on the PSU itself ie. the PSU port labeled 4+4 CPU (Top far right) and not the 6+2 PCI-E by mistake?


Actually, that's an acute observation TooQik. I wondered the same thing, but someone IRC and Discord's #buildapc channel told me that "it didnt really matter" -- is that true? (BTW, I got my PC spec suggestions from there).
Nonetheless, here is the picture of the setup... http://imgur.com/OPE6K08
So yes, I put the CPU cable (the end labelled "Type4") into the slot marked "4+4 CPU"


Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2047
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 2017 at 11:21pm
^and the one to the left of that into the graphics ^ ?
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
GizRev View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GizRev Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 2017 at 11:24pm
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

^and the one to the left of that into the graphics ^ ?

correct
Back to Top
Xaltar View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 16 May 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 5793
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Xaltar Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 May 2017 at 11:25pm
It absolutely does matter Shocked You should never connect the PCIe 8 pin power lead to the CPU 8 pin connector. It doesn't always damage the board but it certainly can.

I have to clarify this for anyone reading this thread. There is a reason they are labeled PCIe and CPU 12v not just generically 8pin 12v. They have different pinouts and are even keyed differently.



Back on topic. I take it you have had no luck with any of the suggestions here? If you have not already, take it all apart completely and put it back together again carefully. Quite often that will sort things out.
Back to Top
GizRev View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GizRev Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 May 2017 at 5:32am
Bought and tried a new PSU (Corsair VS650) No luck. So I assumed it must be the mobo.
Therefore, I sent the ASRock AB350 Pro4 for RMA and replaced it with another. Still no luck.
Bought an ASUS Prime b350 mobo. No luck.
Only CPU and GPU remains. New ones will arrive tomorrow. Will keep you updated.

BTW, for some of these tests I am not attaching the heatsink on the CPU as I am only looking for a POST signal. On reddit, IRC and Discord's #buildaPC, I was assured that that should be OK... and infact, it's even possible to run a PC normally without a heatsink (though not recommended). Am just curious if these AM4 motherboards would prevent a POST due to lack of a heatsink.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6333
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 24 May 2017 at 10:27am
Originally posted by GizRev GizRev wrote:

BTW, for some of these tests I am not attaching the heatsink on the CPU as I am only looking for a POST signal. On reddit, IRC and Discord's #buildaPC, I was assured that that should be OK... and infact, it's even possible to run a PC normally without a heatsink (though not recommended). Am just curious if these AM4 motherboards would prevent a POST due to lack of a heatsink.


I do not believe it will give you ANY beeps w/o a heatsink/fan.

Having a heatsink/fan attached is one of the first checks a motherboard/cpu/bios does.


Edited by wardog - 24 May 2017 at 10:28am
Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
GizRev View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 18 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GizRev Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2017 at 11:29am
I am writing this from the new PC! All good now. The problem was the "MSI RX 580 gaming X 4g" GPU that was DOA. BTW, for future reference:
* A glowing GPU doesnt not mean a functioning one
* It is possible to POST without attaching the heatsink, except this mobo will give a "CPU Fan Error" message at startup
Back to Top
TooQik View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Apr 2017
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 104
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TooQik Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 May 2017 at 1:42pm
Glad to hear you're up and running.

Enjoy your new PC, you've earned it. Thumbs Up
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1234>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.