ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AGESA 1.0.0.6
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

AGESA 1.0.0.6

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 21>
Author
Message
 Rating: Topic Rating: 1 Votes, Average 5.00  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6276
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AGESA 1.0.0.6
    Posted: 01 Jun 2017 at 1:31pm
I've been testing 1.0.0.6 for two weeks now on my X370 Killer SLI/ac.

It's not stable. Well, not completely stable. The DRAM additions have a few issues that need ironed out yet. Which, to be fair, is expected seeings the AM4 BIOS is still maturing. 1.0.0.6 is/was(?) a monstrous step in the right direction.

Sadly, it's still problematic. I don't foresee many if any manufacturers releasing it.



Stay tuned.



Edit: Explanations of changes and additions made with AGESA 1.0.0.6.
https://community.amd.com/community/gaming/blog/2017/05/25/community-update-4-lets-talk-dram




 


Edited by Xaltar - 02 Feb 2018 at 8:55pm
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS L4.71), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 850 EVO 500GB+1TB, ThermalTake Core X9 Black

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Spawne32 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 11 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 20
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Spawne32 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Jun 2017 at 1:46pm
Damn, was hoping for better news than that.  Keep up the good fight there.

Edited by Spawne32 - 01 Jun 2017 at 1:46pm
Back to Top
404CN View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 31 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote 404CN Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2017 at 12:16am
??没?b350k4??试???
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6276
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2017 at 12:59am
Originally posted by 404CN 404CN wrote:

?�?没�?b350k4?��?试�??�?


If there is/was I wouldn't be aware of one.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS L4.71), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 850 EVO 500GB+1TB, ThermalTake Core X9 Black

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Heyitsaaron View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 30
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Heyitsaaron Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2017 at 1:50am
Yeah. Wished they had a roadmap and actually posted betas in the official forums. Communication is lacking compared to other board makers for sure.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6276
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2017 at 9:55am
Originally posted by Heyitsaaron Heyitsaaron wrote:

Yeah. Wished they had a roadmap and actually posted betas in the official forums. Communication is lacking compared to other board makers for sure.


A Road Map would need provided by AMD themselves.

The New AGESA 1.0.0.6 thread here mimics my experiences using the seven kits of DDR4 I have. It, 1.0.0.6, just isn't the release manufacturers want to give Users, hence many releasing BETAs with it instead of actual releases. To temporarily quell the masses.

I too had high hopes, and still do.


X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS L4.71), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 850 EVO 500GB+1TB, ThermalTake Core X9 Black

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
TooQik View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Apr 2017
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 99
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TooQik Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2017 at 10:49am
Hi wardog,

Are you able to elaborate more on the stability issues that you have found please?

I had a couple of random crashes when running the 2.34 BIOS on the Taichi but I've not yet struck any issues with 2.36.


Edited by TooQik - 02 Jun 2017 at 2:43pm
Back to Top
soleil14 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 03 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 21
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote soleil14 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2017 at 2:20pm
I can get my ram to work at 3600Mhz, timing 16 16 16 36 with 2.36:
https://scontent.fsgn2-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t35.0-12/18901496_10209505830943677_566597026_o.png?oh=288d55f8f04aa3b106819ae21193cd11&oe=5932B631


Edited by soleil14 - 02 Jun 2017 at 2:20pm
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6276
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2017 at 9:24pm
Originally posted by TooQik TooQik wrote:

Hi wardog,

Are you able to elaborate more on the stability issues that you have found please?


Pretty much echos the sentiment of some Users in the "New AGESA 1.0.0.6" thread.

The DRAM tweaks intro'd in it are still a wee bit problematic. Some Users see better and many call it a step back. Ryzen, last I knew, looked at what was programmed into/onto the SPD chip to use. Unfortunately, many sticks only have two "speed' timings programmed whereas again many have 3 and 4 programmed onto their SPD chip.

On two heretofore unnamed brand kits with only two SPD timings things got wierd. Yet with one kit with twp in SPD it did as was expected. The kits I have that have 4 programmed fared better.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS L4.71), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 850 EVO 500GB+1TB, ThermalTake Core X9 Black

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
TooQik View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Apr 2017
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 99
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TooQik Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Jun 2017 at 9:41pm
I'm hearing what you're saying but to me this is more of an end user learning curve problem rather than a stability issue.

Each user now has access to a multitude of settings and potentially RAM profiles that weren't previously available. While some profiles may not work it's a case of working through each until you find one that does, or alternatively tweak RAM settings individually for those inclined to do so.

Granted this is not ideal for people who are not overly computer literate, but it does bring better RAM compatibility.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 21>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.093 seconds.