ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AGESA 1.0.0.6a
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

AGESA 1.0.0.6a

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 19202122>
Author
Message
Maddreg View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 08 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 26
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Maddreg Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Aug 2017 at 4:06pm
Originally posted by Windows98 Windows98 wrote:

I haven't had any issues with 2800 @ 16-15-15-35 so I guess that'll do for now. 

I am sure you can go 14-14-14-28 at 2800 without a problem. 
ASRock AB350M Pro4//Ryzen R6 1600@3800=1.275v+Macho rev.B//GTX 1060//Ripjaws V@3200 16-18-18-38-56=1.4v (2x8Gb)//Corsair RM550x
Back to Top
Asingo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Jul 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 110
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Asingo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2017 at 2:35am
Originally posted by Asingo Asingo wrote:

When will next agesa update come out?

???
Back to Top
foppe View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Jul 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 17
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote foppe Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2017 at 4:58pm
Not sure what your rush is, but probably 4-6w from now.
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4995
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Aug 2017 at 11:42pm
Originally posted by Windows98 Windows98 wrote:

Originally posted by BoneCrusherXes BoneCrusherXes wrote:

Uneven CAS values like 13 or 15 are not supported by AMDs AGESA code for (correct if if im wrong) 2666mhz and higher. So this is a limitation that applies to all AM4 boards.
What you can do is either run with CAS 16, or try CAS 14 with GearDown enabled for example, if it works you might also want to try with GearDown disabled.

Got around to testing tonight. All of the above appears true.

At or below 2400, my sticks will commit @ 15-15-15-35 with no problem. As soon as I get into the 2666+ range, the CAS changes from 15 to 16 no matter what I put in there. 

Geardown doesn't make any difference, as soon as I disable it my board no longer posts. 

I haven't had any issues with 2800 @ 16-15-15-35 so I guess that'll do for now. 





Geardown mode, which is enabled by default (Auto setting) at speeds above 2667, lets the command rate run at 2T, or as AMD puts it, "Allows the DRAM device to run off its internally-generated ½ rate clock for latching on the command or address buses... 2T CR can be very beneficial for stability with high memory clocks, or for 4-DIMM configurations.".

https://community.amd.com/community/gaming/blog/2017/05/25/community-update-4-lets-talk-dram

So disabling geardown mode forces the use of your CR setting. If it is 1T, that is more difficult to maintain and would explain the failure to POST.

Ryzen Master has odd CAS, etc values in the drop down selection list for memory over clocking. If they were not usable, why include them? But who knows? It also seems to have a maximum of 3200 for the memory speed. Unless that is based upon the XMP speed of your memory. Is anyone able to select a memory speed in Ryzen Master above 3200?

About the next AGESA update, with the recent release of Threadripper, AMD is focused on that. Does Treadripper use the same AGESA microcode as Ryzen 7, 5, 3? Apparently it uses the same Zepplin dies, but binned higher, and seems to have a bit higher DDR4 speed potential. Again, who knows?
Back to Top
Logan7o2 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Logan7o2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2017 at 1:55am
I updated awhile ago to 3.0, but I was checking back on the bios page and I noticed 2 (3.0) versions? I could be wrong, but I don't remember there being 2 different versions of the 1.0.0.6a? Does anyone know why, or what the difference is. I ask due to the difference in file size (albeit very small.)

http://imgur.com/a/pg2fc


Edited by Logan7o2 - 15 Aug 2017 at 1:55am
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1381
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Aug 2017 at 2:10am
one is flash based (eg run in bios flasher)
and one is dos based (eg boot pc into dos and run)
Back to Top
Logan7o2 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Logan7o2 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 1:34am
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

one is flash based (eg run in bios flasher)
and one is dos based (eg boot pc into dos and run)

Well I'm a idiot....Thanks lol
Back to Top
Pencha View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 9
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pencha Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Aug 2017 at 7:33am
I finally got my 4 sticks to work stable @3066MHz CL14 Big smile
Back to Top
Zach1928 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 56
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zach1928 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2017 at 12:33am
Can any B350 Pro 4 owners out there tell me if they've had any issues with 3.0? Trying to do my due diligence before flashing
Back to Top
Drain_Bamaged View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 14 Jul 2017
Location: Lalaland
Status: Offline
Points: 48
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Drain_Bamaged Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2017 at 3:54am
newest Agesa update isnt suomething to worry about, you want to flash.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <1 19202122>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.