ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X370 Taichi system no POST dr. Debug 46
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X370 Taichi system no POST dr. Debug 46

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
Diegobah View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 04 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Diegobah Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X370 Taichi system no POST dr. Debug 46
    Posted: 04 Aug 2017 at 11:12pm
Trying to setup a new build with ryzen 5 1600 on the taichi. The system instantly hits error code 46 and hangs before repeated restarts. This happens with or without the ram socketed, regardless of slot/s used.

I've tried basic clear cmos and then full CPU reinstall plus battery removal and clear.

Am I wrong in thinking that if ones RAM is not slotted that the board should show the 55 dr. debug code?

I have read a few other forum threads here regarding similar issues e.g. http://forum.asrock.com/forum_posts.asp?TID=4750&title=asrock-x370-taichi-error-code-07

I have no idea whether I should just RMA the board as its within 7 days for DOA. How can one tell if the BIOS the board shipped with is not prone to breaking if you can't get it to POST to see the BIOS version?


Edited by Diegobah - 05 Aug 2017 at 2:12pm
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Location: Metro Sexual
Status: Offline
Points: 5808
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Aug 2017 at 5:27am
This most likely the mem you have causing this behavior. Ryzen is very particular.

What Kit of mem do you have?

46 is mem related.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 4.50) , 1500X 4GHZ Stable @ Fixed 1.375v , 850 EVO 500GB, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA@ 3333

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Codemang87 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Jul 2017
Location: Usa
Status: Offline
Points: 19
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote Codemang87 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Aug 2017 at 6:06am
Originally posted by Diegobah Diegobah wrote:

Am I wrong in thinking that if ones RAM is not slotted that the board should show the 55 dr. debug code?


The way i understand it, Dr. Debug runs a sequence of tests and stops on the first one it fails on and displays its code.


Edited by Codemang87 - 06 Aug 2017 at 6:07am
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Location: Metro Sexual
Status: Offline
Points: 5808
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Aug 2017 at 9:03am
Originally posted by Codemang87 Codemang87 wrote:

Originally posted by Diegobah Diegobah wrote:

Am I wrong in thinking that if ones RAM is not slotted that the board should show the 55 dr. debug code?


The way i understand it, Dr. Debug runs a sequence of tests and stops on the first one it fails on and displays its code.


Codemang87 is right, That is how and what you see displayed.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 4.50) , 1500X 4GHZ Stable @ Fixed 1.375v , 850 EVO 500GB, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA@ 3333

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Location: Metro Sexual
Status: Offline
Points: 5808
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Aug 2017 at 3:26pm
Originally posted by Diegobah Diegobah wrote:

Am I wrong in thinking that if ones RAM is not slotted that the board should show the 55 dr. debug code?


Code of 55 is plain ugly, pointing more to the processor than mem.

Dr Debug Codes explained:
http://asrock.com/support/faq.us.asp?id=334


What processor are you using?

The BIOS chip on the board has a sticker over it with the BIOS rev it shipped with from the factory.

Processor to BIOS rev chart for the X370 Taichi:
http://asrock.com/mb/AMD/X370%20Taichi/index.us.asp#CPU


OP, are you still here?



X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS 4.50) , 1500X 4GHZ Stable @ Fixed 1.375v , 850 EVO 500GB, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA@ 3333

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
Oliveo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 2
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Oliveo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Aug 2017 at 5:33pm
RMA The motherboard.  Error 46 Is a common fault with new x370 Asrock boards indicating Dead memory slots. You can verify by removing the memory and seeing the same error code 46. I work for a retailer and we've had over 20 asrock rmas since ryzen release.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.