ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Overclocking on B350 Pro4
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Overclocking on B350 Pro4

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 5>
Author
Message
Zach1928 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zach1928 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Overclocking on B350 Pro4
    Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 9:30pm
[URL=][/URL]I'm trying to OC my R5 1400 on the B350 Pro 4 with no luck. Using Ryzen master, it'll go to 3.7ghz @1.3v with seemingly no issues. However it doesn't consistently apply the profile. I went into the UEFI on the OC tab and manually set the speed to 3700 and the voltage to 1.3, and the machine refused to even post. Am I missing something here? This is my first time, but it seems fairly straight forward for modest improvements.

System specs
R5 1400
8gb DDR4 2666mhz
BIOS is 2.6

Edited by Zach1928 - 18 Aug 2017 at 9:32pm
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4731
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 18 Aug 2017 at 10:56pm
Originally posted by Zach1928 Zach1928 wrote:

[URL=][/URL]I'm trying to OC my R5 1400 on the B350 Pro 4 with no luck. Using Ryzen master, it'll go to 3.7ghz @1.3v with seemingly no issues. However it doesn't consistently apply the profile. I went into the UEFI on the OC tab and manually set the speed to 3700 and the voltage to 1.3, and the machine refused to even post. Am I missing something here? This is my first time, but it seems fairly straight forward for modest improvements.

System specs
R5 1400
8gb DDR4 2666mhz
BIOS is 2.6


What version of Windows are you using?

For manual over clocking in the UEFI, try using a VCore of 1.35V. Your board's manual is not up to date with the new UEFI versions, so I cannot tell what new options you have. Do you have a VCore mode of Offset, and an LLC option? If so, try using Offset mode, at 1.325 - 1.350V, with LLC at 1 or 2.

You can also try setting Cool n Quiet to disabled, and C6 Mode to disabled. Set SVM Mode to disabled.

It's possible that your memory is border line compatible, and the CPU OC causes it to fail POST. What model of memory are you using?

I don't know what problem Ryzen Master has at times. The latest AMD chipset drivers can be found here:

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/chipset?os=Windows+10+-+64

Your board has a new UEFI version, if you want to try it:

http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/AB350%20Pro4/index.asp#BIOS
Back to Top
Zach1928 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zach1928 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2017 at 12:17am
Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:

Originally posted by Zach1928 Zach1928 wrote:

[URL=][/URL][URL=][/URL]I'm trying to OC my R5 1400 on the B350 Pro 4 with no luck. Using Ryzen master, it'll go to 3.7ghz @1.3v with seemingly no issues. However it doesn't consistently apply the profile. I went into the UEFI on the OC tab and manually set the speed to 3700 and the voltage to 1.3, and the machine refused to even post. Am I missing something here? This is my first time, but it seems fairly straight forward for modest improvements.

System specs
R5 1400
8gb DDR4 2666mhz
BIOS is 2.6


What version of Windows are you using?

For manual over clocking in the UEFI, try using a VCore of 1.35V. Your board's manual is not up to date with the new UEFI versions, so I cannot tell what new options you have. Do you have a VCore mode of Offset, and an LLC option? If so, try using Offset mode, at 1.325 - 1.350V, with LLC at 1 or 2.

You can also try setting Cool n Quiet to disabled, and C6 Mode to disabled. Set SVM Mode to disabled.

It's possible that your memory is border line compatible, and the CPU OC causes it to fail POST. What model of memory are you using?

I don't know what problem Ryzen Master has at times. The latest AMD chipset drivers can be found here:

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/chipset?os=Windows+10+-+64

Your board has a new UEFI version, if you want to try it:

[URL=http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/AB350%20Pro4/index.asp#BIOS]http://www.asrock.com/mb/AMD/AB350%20Pro4/index.asp#BIOS[/URL]


I'm using windows 10 with the latest updates. As far as UEFI options, all I've found are voltage and speed. Nothing about offsets, SOC voltage, etc. As far as RAM is concerned, I've got Team Vulcan 2666 which I don't believe is on the QVL, but since updating to 2.6 it runs at rated speeds and I've gotten the timings down with DRAM voltage @ 1.275. I can try moving up the voltage to 1.35 and see if that helps with those other settings tweaked. Ryzen master works if I'm in windows, but it doesn't seem to apply after a reboot for some reason.

Is the newest 3.0 UEFI stable? I've not had any noticeable issues with 2.6 so I didn't update.
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 740
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2017 at 2:18am

as above really
try the cpu overclock at dram set to 1.35 and the timings exactly what the team ram quotes
i get 3.9 on 1,3 volt cpu (but it would seem im lucky to get it at that low voltage)

to sum up i think your pushing the under volt a little too hard, i would definatley leave the dram at 1.35 myself
Back to Top
Zach1928 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zach1928 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2017 at 10:51pm
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:


as above really
try the cpu overclock at dram set to 1.35 and the timings exactly what the team ram quotes
i get 3.9 on 1,3 volt cpu (but it would seem im lucky to get it at that low voltage)

to sum up i think your pushing the under volt a little too hard, i would definatley leave the dram at 1.35 myself


No dice with CPU vcore @ 1.35 and DRAM @ 1.35. SVM is disabled also. I forgot to adjust the timings on the RAM, but I have a feeling it'll be the same result. Basically upon save & exit, the machine just hangs with fans spinning at normal RPM. Is OC'ing on Ryzen impacted by RAM that much? I only dropped the timings from 15-17-17-17-35 to 14-14-14-14-30
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 740
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 19 Aug 2017 at 11:02pm
have you tried disabling the ram overclock entirely

just to check the ability of the cpu overclcok alone ?
i mean literally setting it at 2133 stock while you test the cpu

i done a system overclock last night with a b350 and ryzen 1600

weirdly enough the ram overclock was insanely easy and extreme 2400 ram clocked to 2933 !

but the initial cpu clock to 3,8 forced a very hard dead pc (needed power down and cmos clear to do anything , even to try and post )
we resolved it wierdly enough by trying a basic schoolboy noob attempt
we literally just slid the multi to 38 and left everything else at auto
guess what instant boot and stable ...go figure !

yet it locked up with volts set nice and cool n quiet etc disabled before that..............
Back to Top
Zach1928 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zach1928 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23 Aug 2017 at 12:51am
I'll give it a shot with UEFI at default. I haven't had a chance during the week so I'll try this weekend. In a similar vein, I can't get my RAM above 2666 even with higher timings and voltage so I wonder if there is something related..

Has the 3.0 UEFI update been stable? I'm always hesitant to flash those things, but maybe I'll get some performance increases with better OCing.
Back to Top
Zach1928 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zach1928 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Oct 2017 at 4:37am
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

have you tried disabling the ram overclock entirely

just to check the ability of the cpu overclcok alone ?
i mean literally setting it at 2133 stock while you test the cpu

i done a system overclock last night with a b350 and ryzen 1600

weirdly enough the ram overclock was insanely easy and extreme 2400 ram clocked to 2933 !

but the initial cpu clock to 3,8 forced a very hard dead pc (needed power down and cmos clear to do anything , even to try and post )
we resolved it wierdly enough by trying a basic schoolboy noob attempt
we literally just slid the multi to 38 and left everything else at auto
guess what instant boot and stable ...go figure !

yet it locked up with volts set nice and cool n quiet etc disabled before that..............


Not proud that I'm reviving a 2 month old post.. however I finally did that (reset UEFI to default) and set speed to 3700mhz and voltage to 1.35 and the same thing happens. Save & exit > pc hangs until I use the jumper to clear the bios. Tried again at 3500mhz with same voltage and happens again. What could be going on? My bios is 1.06 agesa (non-a or b versions)

Edited by Zach1928 - 08 Oct 2017 at 4:37am
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 740
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Oct 2017 at 8:32pm
have you tried p state overclock ?
or even just a basic overclock set multiplyer and leave volts on auto just to check whats happening
Back to Top
Zach1928 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 46
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Zach1928 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Oct 2017 at 11:11pm
I've not tried p-state OC. I looked in those settings and was thoroughly confused lol. Could it a UEFI issue, requiring an update to 1.06b? As far as voltages, this board requires you to set them and has no auto option that I've found. For what its worth, Ryzen Master seems to overclock to 3.7 @1.325v, however that doesn't seem to apply consistently (i.e. after reboot, sleep, etc.)

Edited by Zach1928 - 08 Oct 2017 at 11:51pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 5>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.