ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X399 board Maximum RAM
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X399 board Maximum RAM

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
boukenger View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote boukenger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X399 board Maximum RAM
    Posted: 01 Sep 2017 at 3:02pm
With the introduction of 32GB non-ECC RAM and 32/64GB ECC RAM Modules.
Do the ASRock X399 motherboards support 256+ GB of RAM or would still be limited to 128GB?

Back to Top
ASRock_TSD View Drop Down
ASRock_Official
ASRock_Official


Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 2196
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ASRock_TSD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Sep 2017 at 5:33pm
Dear Boukenger,

Greetings, this is ASRock TSD.


Fatal1ty X399 Professional Gaming and X399 Taichi support DDR4 3600+(OC)/3200(OC)/2933(OC)/2667/2400/2133 ECC & non-ECC, un-buffered memory(U-DIMM).

And X399 series motherboards support maximum capacity of system memory is 128GB.
 
Please refer below link for detailed specification.
Fatal1ty X399 Professional Gaming: 

X399 Taichi: 


Thanks!

All the best,
ASRock TSD

Back to Top
O_and_N View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Sep 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 26
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote O_and_N Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Sep 2017 at 11:25pm
Double post,my bad(fast clics)


Edited by O_and_N - 06 Sep 2017 at 11:26pm
Back to Top
O_and_N View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 20 Sep 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 26
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote O_and_N Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Sep 2017 at 11:26pm
Originally posted by ASRock_TSD ASRock_TSD wrote:

Dear Boukenger,

Greetings, this is ASRock TSD.


Fatal1ty X399 Professional Gaming and X399 Taichi support DDR4 3600+(OC)/3200(OC)/2933(OC)/2667/2400/2133 ECC & non-ECC, un-buffered memory(U-DIMM).

And X399 series motherboards support maximum capacity of system memory is 128GB.
 
Please refer below link for detailed specification.
Fatal1ty X399 Professional Gaming: 

X399 Taichi: 


Thanks!

All the best,
ASRock TSD


I am sorry for the bump,but why do you say 128gb only?The threadripper can go up to 1tb of ram.Now i doubt anyone will do it but just like the xeons,woudnt lets say 256gb ram be a realistic number on the x399 taichi/gaming?(no oc)
Thank you Wink
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Sep 2017 at 11:49pm
O_and_O, according to both specifications the restrictions are BIOS:
Quote - 128Mb AMI UEFI Legal BIOS with GUI support

I supposed the board vendor could ask for more.  You would need to do that with ASRock as most here are users. ASRock_TSD is real technical support in Taiwan - good place to lobby.  Enjoy, john.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1753
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep 2017 at 1:24am
mister j
sorry to point out
the quote is refering to the 128 meg of onboard bios (eg the bios chip ram i believe)
not the ability to run the system ram of 128 gig

allthough i presume we both remember having systems using far far less than 128 meg of system ram (in my case i recall a 8 meg  i fitted ,as an upgrade haha)

r7 1700 powercolor reddevil vega64 gskill tridentz3866 taichi x370 evga 750watt gold
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep 2017 at 2:19am
Oops, I am sure you are correct, datonyb.  Boukenger does need to plead with ASRock.  Thanks and enjoy, John.

EDIT: It even says 128 Mb.




Edited by MisterJ - 07 Sep 2017 at 2:29am
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1753
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep 2017 at 3:09am
john i confess i had to read your answer at least 3 times (saying 128mb)

as i was convinced you dont make errors when posting ,so i wasnt understanding what i thought i did haha

r7 1700 powercolor reddevil vega64 gskill tridentz3866 taichi x370 evga 750watt gold
Back to Top
ASRockRocks View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 15 Sep 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ASRockRocks Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2018 at 4:32am
Hello, Is the 128GB RAM limit electrical or BIOS or ...? With the new 2990WX the per thread memory amount is not very large. If the Taichi will never (or can't) support more, is there a MOBO on the horizon that can accommodate substantial amounts of memory? (FYI, My server has 512GB and I also own multiple Taichi MOBOs) 

Thanks


Edited by ASRockRocks - 15 Sep 2018 at 5:15am
Back to Top
kerberos_20 View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie
Avatar

Joined: 06 Dec 2017
Location: czech republic
Status: Offline
Points: 542
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote kerberos_20 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2018 at 8:31am

the cpu itself support up to 1tb of memory.so i safely say that it will support 256gb if available.

maybe bios update will be needed as 128gb was max tested when it was made



Edited by kerberos_20 - 15 Sep 2018 at 8:41am
https://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/14185108
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.031 seconds.