ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X370 Gaming K4 can't power up
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X370 Gaming K4 can't power up

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
edogawa View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 Sep 2017
Location: Singapore
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote edogawa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X370 Gaming K4 can't power up
    Posted: 03 Sep 2017 at 10:57am
Help! I'm having a bad problem with my PC, about 3.5 months after my purchase

Frequency of problem: intermittent (every other morning)

Details of problem
I turn off my PC every night before bed. However in the morning for the past 3 weeks... Motherboard LED is functional when PSU switch is on, but PC can't power on. No beeps. No Dr Debug. No fans. No HDD spin. May have to press power button several times any time between 1 to 10 minutes to get system to power on. On power on, time is lost (usually between 3 to 5 hours, both in windows and uefi/bios). No other problems.

Steps taken so far (ineffective, sadly)
1. Jumper reset CMOS and replaced CMOS battery
2. Rolled back to v3.00 of uefi
3. Reset bios settings

Hardware profile
(Should appear in signature)

Please let me know what other info I should provide!


Edited by edogawa - 03 Sep 2017 at 11:00am
Asrock x370 gaming K4, AMD Ryzen 5 1600 + stock cooler, 2 x 8Gb Gskill ripjaw f4-2666c15d-16gvr, Radeon HD7790, FSP Aurum Gold 500W, Win 10 Home 64bit, v3.00bios
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6332
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2017 at 11:29am
You should beg or borrow a 550w or larger PSU to test with.

The 400w FSP, while good, doesn't cover the requirements/needs of the 7790, which is 430w Min..

http://www.realhardtechx.com/index_archivos/Page362.htm
Nothing here. Move on!

16,441 - https://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
edogawa View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 Sep 2017
Location: Singapore
Status: Offline
Points: 4
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote edogawa Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2017 at 12:26pm
Hi there, I took out my PSU and realised that it's a 500W model and not 400W as I had remembered. Updating signature.

Should I still borrow a 550W psu?

Another piece of semi-to-nonuseful information:
Back before my pc upgrade (Ryzen + AM4 +ddr4), I had problems cold booting every few months of the year (but without the time loss), which were solved by reseating both RAM (which was DDR3) and GPU (which is still the HD7790).

Didn't try that yet because it's new RAM and PC did start intermittently...


Edited by edogawa - 03 Sep 2017 at 12:31pm
Asrock x370 gaming K4, AMD Ryzen 5 1600 + stock cooler, 2 x 8Gb Gskill ripjaw f4-2666c15d-16gvr, Radeon HD7790, FSP Aurum Gold 500W, Win 10 Home 64bit, v3.00bios
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03 Sep 2017 at 6:37pm
The loss of time normally means the board's battery is bad. Since you turn off the PSU, the battery is not being charged as much as it could be. Or it is related to your potential PSU problem. The batteries in PCs can last for many years, or fail quickly, just random. The battery is a CR2032.

The need to reseat your memory and video card could be caused by a humid environment.

Trying a different PSU is the first thing to do.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.