ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - AGESA 1.0.0.6b
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

AGESA 1.0.0.6b

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 12>
Author
Message
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6235
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: AGESA 1.0.0.6b
    Posted: 06 Sep 2017 at 10:32am
Share your experiences.

But please, before beginning any LONG troubleshooting, begin a new Thread.

And remember, whether asking or answering, to have created a Sig so others know what you have.




Thanks,
.... wardog


Edited by Xaltar - 02 Feb 2018 at 8:54pm
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS L4.61), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 850 EVO 500GB+1TB, ThermalTake Core X9 Black

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
AlbinoRhino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 153
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AlbinoRhino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Sep 2017 at 8:53pm
Performance is degraded significantly on the Killer SLI A/C using the same Bios settings when updating from v3.1 to v3.2. 

-221 points in Cinebench. Performance score dropped from almost 1700 points down to 1470.
Asrock X370 Killer SLI A/C Rev 1.03 b3.1, Ryzen 1700X - 3.9@1.34V, Nvidia Geforce GTX1080 FTW2 ICX, 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LED 3200@2933Mhz (3200 unobtainable)
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6235
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Sep 2017 at 9:00pm
Originally posted by AlbinoRhino AlbinoRhino wrote:

Performance is degraded significantly on the Killer SLI A/C using the same Bios settings when updating from v3.1 to v3.2. 

-221 points in Cinebench. Performance score dropped from almost 1700 points down to 1470.


This is with clearing the BIOS before flashing to 6b?
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS L4.61), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 850 EVO 500GB+1TB, ThermalTake Core X9 Black

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
grenrozo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote grenrozo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Sep 2017 at 9:22pm
no changes in Cinebench by my side - Ryzen 1600X @Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 (bios cleared before update).

Back to Top
AlbinoRhino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 153
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AlbinoRhino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Sep 2017 at 10:08pm
Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

[URL=][/URL]
Originally posted by AlbinoRhino AlbinoRhino wrote:

Performance is degraded significantly on the Killer SLI A/C using the same Bios settings when updating from v3.1 to v3.2.?

-221 points in Cinebench. Performance score dropped from almost 1700 points down to 1470.


This is with clearing the BIOS before flashing to 6b?


The procedure I used is one that I've always used.
1. Download bios, unpack it to my USB drive.
2. Boot into UEFI, Load Bios Defaults, Save and Exit, reboot into Windows once.
3. Boot into UEFI, flash new Bios, Save and Exit. Load Windows once.
4. Boot into UEFI, apply CPU OC, Save and Exit. Boot into Windows once.
5. Boot into UEFI, apply RAM OC, Save and Exit. Boot into Windows, Benchmark.

As soon as I reverted back to 3.1 using the above method my scores are normal again.

Next I will clear the CMOS with a battery pull and a jumper reset to see if it makes a difference.
Asrock X370 Killer SLI A/C Rev 1.03 b3.1, Ryzen 1700X - 3.9@1.34V, Nvidia Geforce GTX1080 FTW2 ICX, 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LED 3200@2933Mhz (3200 unobtainable)
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6235
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Sep 2017 at 10:29pm
Meh, you don't need to go to Windows FYI.

As far as you doing RAM and CPU separately, ... well, that's something I don't do either.

BUT, if on the odd chance after flashing it kept any Saved Profiles, consider the junk/toast and overwrite them once on the new BIOS. Never, NEVER, reuse them from one BIOS to another. Big no no.
X370 SLI/ac(r1.03, BIOS L4.61), 1500X, H115i, F4-4133C19D-16GTZA, 850 EVO 500GB+1TB, ThermalTake Core X9 Black

16,441 - http://www.3dmark.com/fs/13030306
Back to Top
AlbinoRhino View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 28 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 153
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AlbinoRhino Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep 2017 at 12:45am
No profiles are saved. You also can't use a profile you've saved on a USB drive on an alternate Bios. Ex: a saved profile from 3.1 will not be recognized at all on 3.2.

I do my CPU OC first since I always attempt a lower CPU voltage to see if the new Bios improves it.

The RAM OC is simply setting XMP to 2933 since I've given up on 3200 and cannot remember how I got 3066 stable. I wasn't expecting a change in the XMP profile this go around since it stated in the release notes that the compatibility code wasn't touched.

Kudos to ASRock on the change notes BTW.
Asrock X370 Killer SLI A/C Rev 1.03 b3.1, Ryzen 1700X - 3.9@1.34V, Nvidia Geforce GTX1080 FTW2 ICX, 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LED 3200@2933Mhz (3200 unobtainable)
Back to Top
Ricky View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 43
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ricky Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep 2017 at 2:52am
Is pstate oc with CPU voltage offset broken in Bios 3.20?  Since i notice the CPU Vcore is not consistent in Bios or is it a display error and readout bug? Confused

For example, in previous Bios 3.10, i will add 0.08125v under CPU offset voltage to reach Vcore 1.248v. From H/W Monitor in bios, the Vcore is quite stable and always shown 1.248v every time i check it. 

For Bios 3.20, i also do the same by adding 0.08125v CPU offset voltage to get Vcore 1.248v. But, somehow the H/W Monitor in Bios display the Vcore as 1.298v. So, i reboot the system and check it again in Bios, this time it show Vcore 1.248v. But after i try to reboot and check it again in bios at 3rd time , the Vcore will show 1.298v. Shocked

In other words, with pstate oc and CPU voltage offset in Bios 3.20, the CPU Vcore in Bios become different each time after we reboot the system. As a result, i cannot set an accurate value of CPU Vcore. Besides, i don't use any user profile and will always clear cmos / reset default before flashing to new Bios. And this issue will not happen if i use OC Tweaker in Bios to OC the CPU.

So, i think maybe is some bug with Bios 3.20?

Fyi, i use LLC level 4 and using Asrock X370 K4.


Edited by Ricky - 07 Sep 2017 at 2:57am
Back to Top
Ken429 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 30 Sep 2015
Location: Indiana
Status: Offline
Points: 136
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ken429 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep 2017 at 4:17am
Updated the BIOS on my Taichi from 3.0 to 3.1. IBT ran ~160.16 seconds on 3.0 and 163.09 seconds on 3.1. The max core temp increased from 65.5C to 67.5C. Cinebench cpu numbers went from 1718 on 3.0 to 1717 on 3.1 and the OpenGL numbers went from 95.35 on 3.0 to 94.66 on 3.1. I guess the differences could be attributed to needle quiver!?

However, using Pstates for the 3.9GHz OC under 3.1 the minimum idle Vcore drops to ~.368V versus the .900V in Pstate2. The minimum cpu speed dropped to 2200 as it should have based on the Pstate2 settings. That is a step backward from 3.0 where the minimum Vcore and cpu speed were the same as Pstate2 specified.

Edited by Ken429 - 07 Sep 2017 at 4:21am
X370 Taichi, 1700X (3875MHz @ 1.35V), BIOS v3.20, 960 EVO M.2 250GB, Flare X 2X8 3333-14, Extreme Pro 240GB, MX200 500GB, WD 1TB, MSI GTX 560 TI, Seasonic Platinum 760, W10 1709
Back to Top
Ricky View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Jun 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 43
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ricky Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Sep 2017 at 4:28am
Originally posted by Ricky Ricky wrote:

Is pstate oc with CPU voltage offset broken in Bios 3.20?  Since i notice the CPU Vcore is not consistent in Bios or is it a display error and readout bug? Confused

For example, in previous Bios 3.10, i will add 0.08125v under CPU offset voltage to reach Vcore 1.248v. From H/W Monitor in bios, the Vcore is quite stable and always shown 1.248v every time i check it. 

For Bios 3.20, i also do the same by adding 0.08125v CPU offset voltage to get Vcore 1.248v. But, somehow the H/W Monitor in Bios display the Vcore as 1.298v. So, i reboot the system and check it again in Bios, this time it show Vcore 1.248v. But after i try to reboot and check it again in bios at 3rd time , the Vcore will show 1.298v. Shocked

In other words, with pstate oc and CPU voltage offset in Bios 3.20, the CPU Vcore in Bios become different each time after we reboot the system. As a result, i cannot set an accurate value of CPU Vcore. Besides, i don't use any user profile and will always clear cmos / reset default before flashing to new Bios. And this issue will not happen if i use OC Tweaker in Bios to OC the CPU.

So, i think maybe is some bug with Bios 3.20?

Fyi, i use LLC level 4 and using Asrock X370 K4.
downgrade back to Bios 3.10, no more issue like this. Waste few hours on this  Sleepy
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.051 seconds.