ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X370 Fatal1ty Pro - Unable to Create Large RAID0
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X370 Fatal1ty Pro - Unable to Create Large RAID0

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 7>
Author
Message
visualsoul View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2017
Location: Detroit, MI
Status: Offline
Points: 24
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote visualsoul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X370 Fatal1ty Pro - Unable to Create Large RAID0
    Posted: 09 Sep 2017 at 11:16pm
I was wondering if anyone could help here.  I have a X370 Fatal1ty Pro board with 1800x processor.  The OS is installed on a Samsung 960 EVO 1TB, but I am trying to create a RAID0 with two of my 2TB Seagate SSHD's.  I tried using the BIOS utility, but that seems to limit you to 2TB an under.  I've tried installing the RAIDXpert utility on the disk, but once it's been installed and running, there are zero options for me to create a RAID.  I've also downloaded and installed a RAIDXpert2 option and that doesn't even allow me to login once the app has been installed.  Not sure why they make this such a pain in the butt.  On my previous Intel systems, it was so incredibly easy and quick.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks!
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2269
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2017 at 1:02am
have you tried the amd raid utility ?

it appears when you search for chipset drivers for x370 along with the latest amd chipset driver
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2017 at 2:08am
datonyb, I think you are talking about RAIDXpert.  Please correct if I am wrong but that is all I see and visualsoul has tried it and RAIDXpert2.

visualsoul, please look at the manuals (.pdf).  RAIDXpert2 says the max is 2.119 TB.  I did not read details in the RAIDXpert manual but it talked about migrating 16 TB LDs (Logical Devices, I think).  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2269
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2017 at 2:13am
john i dont even know the name of it

i just recall amd have thier own one on the chipset page

if it is the same one then im sorry for suggesting it
allthough the guys is in safe hands with you
your a lot better at raid stuff than myself Smile
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2017 at 4:01am
datonyb, you did and are doing fine.  I have used RAIDXpert before and am thinking about a RAID now.  Your post prompted me to DL the applications and manuals.  I suspect visualsoul has the apps but not the manuals.  I have done almost no research on RAID so far.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2017 at 4:09am
visualsoul, please DL and read the RAID manual from here.  See Way2 for creating a RAID greater than 3GB.  Using the BIOS RAID setup:
Quote Onboard RAID 3TB+ Unlocker

Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2017 at 10:00am
Originally posted by visualsoul visualsoul wrote:

I was wondering if anyone could help here.  I have a X370 Fatal1ty Pro board with 1800x processor.  The OS is installed on a Samsung 960 EVO 1TB, but I am trying to create a RAID0 with two of my 2TB Seagate SSHD's.  I tried using the BIOS utility, but that seems to limit you to 2TB an under.  I've tried installing the RAIDXpert utility on the disk, but once it's been installed and running, there are zero options for me to create a RAID.  I've also downloaded and installed a RAIDXpert2 option and that doesn't even allow me to login once the app has been installed.  Not sure why they make this such a pain in the butt.  On my previous Intel systems, it was so incredibly easy and quick.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks!


The default login ID and password are both admin, which you can later change.

For disk arrays larger than 2.2TB, the disks must be GPT formatted. As said above, use the "Way 2" instructions, but be sure to use the X370 chipset section, very important!

Yes, I agree the Intel RAID configuration is much easier. I used the AMD for the first time with RYzen and was surprised.
Back to Top
visualsoul View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 09 Sep 2017
Location: Detroit, MI
Status: Offline
Points: 24
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote visualsoul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2017 at 11:33am
@MisterJ That isn't an even an option on my motherboard.  Could not find it located anywhere.  

@parsec I can login, but there should be a tree along the left hand side that allows me to RAID my drives, but there's nothing there.  No logical drives or anything.
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6367
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2017 at 1:33pm
Meh, Create and manage RAID through Windows.

http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/chipset?os=Windows+10+-+64

Grab both 17.30 files, Chipset and the AMD RAIDXpert Utility.

Install the 17.30 Chipset Drivers first, reboot immediately after, then and only then install the Windows based 17.30 AMD RAIDXpert Utility.

Give that a try visualsoul.

From me, a Michigander(Kalamazoo) myself until I retired here to AZ a year and a half ago.


Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6367
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Sep 2017 at 4:57pm
Oh sh*t guys.........

visualsoul, you don't by chance have these two drives connected to the lower two SATA ports do you?

If you do that would explain everything. The lower two SATA ports, SATA3_A1 and SATA3_A2, are on the ASMedia SATA Controller and will NOT be seen by any AMD RAID config.




Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 7>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.