ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - question about ryzen/am4/mobo/ssd
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

question about ryzen/am4/mobo/ssd

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2017 at 11:41pm
sirtoby1337, thanks for the RAPID experiment.  The research I have done indicates you probably should not use it regularly.  It is not even an option for my SSD.  Datonyb is your best guide for sorting drivers for your drive.  Good luck and enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
sirtoby1337 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sirtoby1337 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 4:08am
Guess nobody knows or got any other ideas how to fix this :s
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6367
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 4:26am
Originally posted by sirtoby1337 sirtoby1337 wrote:

Guess nobody knows or got any other ideas how to fix this :s


Is this with a fresh OS install with only the 850 EVO connected?

How "full' is this 850 EVO?



Too, IOPS, as a benchmark, isn't necessarily something to concern yourself with. You'll never realize that performance metric on a desktop machine. ie: you'll never max IOPS on a desktop, so, IMO, it's a waste of time. IMO.

Transfer rates/throughput. That is what a desktop user should be looking.


Edited by wardog - 14 Sep 2017 at 4:26am
Back to Top
sirtoby1337 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sirtoby1337 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 5:34am
Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

[URL=][/URL]
Originally posted by sirtoby1337 sirtoby1337 wrote:

Guess nobody knows or got any other ideas how to fix this :s


Is this with a fresh OS install with only the 850 EVO connected?

How "full' is this 850 EVO?



Too, IOPS, as a benchmark, isn't necessarily something to concern yourself with. You'll never realize that performance metric on a desktop machine. ie: you'll never max IOPS on a desktop, so, IMO, it's a waste of time. IMO.

Transfer rates/throughput. That is what a desktop user should be looking.



No its not a fresh install, and they got around 150gb left each and both are 850 evo, and did try with just one on and same thing there, and its not just the IOPS that dropped, but i lost around 130mb on the 4k Q32T1 test in crystaldiskmark.

But do u think reinstalling W10 can solve this?, bcus everything worked just fine with my i7 4790k / gigabyte gaming 5 z97n, and wud suck if that doesnt solve it either, so wud rather try everything out that can maybe fix it before i try that.   
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6367
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 5:52am
Originally posted by sirtoby1337No its not a fresh install, <br><br>............<br><br>But do u think reinstalling W10 can solve this?, bcus everything worked just fine with my i7 4790k / gigabyte gaming 5 z97n, and wud suck if that doesnt solve it either, so wud rather try everything out that can maybe fix it before i try that.   <img src=smileys/smiley1.gif border=0 align=middle />[/QUOTE sirtoby1337No its not a fresh install,

............

But do u think reinstalling W10 can solve this?, bcus everything worked just fine with my i7 4790k / gigabyte gaming 5 z97n, and wud suck if that doesnt solve it either, so wud rather try everything out that can maybe fix it before i try that.   [/QUOTE wrote:




Oh hell yea. You just moved an old OS tuned for Intel onto an AMD system. It's 99.99% req'd to do.


Copy the data off one of the 850EVO to a spare HDD/SSD and install a fresh Windows.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10

Use the above link to grab the media creation tool, put an 8GB of larger USB stick in, start the tool, and let it make


Oh hell yea. You just moved an old OS tuned for Intel onto an AMD system. It's 99.99% req'd to do.


Copy the data off one of the 850EVO to a spare HDD/SSD and install a fresh Windows.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10

Use the above link to grab the media creation tool, put an 8GB of larger USB stick in, start the tool, and let it make a bootable 10 installation USB stick.

That way you have the latest 10 release. I did this last night and after the install Windows Update took all of 5 mins.


Also, install the latest 17.30 chipset drivers from AMD immediately after the OS is installed:
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download

AMD Chipset, AHCI, USB 3.0 and RAID Drivers






Edited by wardog - 14 Sep 2017 at 9:32am
Back to Top
sirtoby1337 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sirtoby1337 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 7:30am
Originally posted by wardog wardog wrote:

Originally posted by sirtoby1337No its not a fresh install, <br /><br />............<br /><br />But do u think reinstalling W10 can solve this?, bcus everything worked just fine with my i7 4790k / gigabyte gaming 5 z97n, and wud suck if that doesnt solve it either, so wud rather try everything out that can maybe fix it before i try that.   <img src=smileys/smiley1.gif border=0 align=middle /></td></tr></table><br /><br />Oh hell yea. You just moved an old OS tuned for Intel onto an AMD system. It's 99.99% req'd to do.<br /><br /><br />Copy the data off one of the 850EVO to a spare HDD/SSD and install a fresh Windows.<br /><br />https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10<br /><br />Use the above link to grab the media creation tool, put an 8GB of larger USB stick in, start the tool, and let it make a bootable 10 installation USB stick.<br /><br />That way you have the latest 10 release. I did this last night and after the install Windows Update took all of 5 mins.<br /><br /><br />Also, install the latest 17.30 chipset drivers from AMD immediately after the OS is installed:<br />http://support.amd.com/en-us/download<br /><br /><span id=DeltaPlaceHolderMain><div =supItem><div =grouper item medium>AMD Chipset, AHCI, USB 3.0 and RAID Drivers</div><ul =dfwp-list><li><div =item>Windows 10??7 (<a href=http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/chipset%3cos=Windows+10+-+32 target=_blank rel=nofollow>32-bit</a> | <br />            <a href=http://support.amd.com/en-us/download/chipset%3cos=Windows+10+-+64 target=_blank rel=nofollow>64-bit</a>?�​�??�​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​�?/div></li></ul><p><br /></p><p><br /></p><p><br /></p></div></span>[/QUOTE sirtoby1337No its not a fresh install,

............

But do u think reinstalling W10 can solve this?, bcus everything worked just fine with my i7 4790k / gigabyte gaming 5 z97n, and wud suck if that doesnt solve it either, so wud rather try everything out that can maybe fix it before i try that.   


Oh hell yea. You just moved an old OS tuned for Intel onto an AMD system. It's 99.99% req'd to do.


Copy the data off one of the 850EVO to a spare HDD/SSD and install a fresh Windows.

https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/software-download/windows10

Use the above link to grab the media creation tool, put an 8GB of larger USB stick in, start the tool, and let it make a bootable 10 installation USB stick.

That way you have the latest 10 release. I did this last night and after the install Windows Update took all of 5 mins.


Also, install the latest 17.30 chipset drivers from AMD immediately after the OS is installed:
http://support.amd.com/en-us/download

<span id=DeltaPlaceHolderMain><div =supItem><div =grouper item medium>AMD Chipset, AHCI, USB 3.0 and RAID Drivers<ul =dfwp-list>
  • <div =item>Windows 10??7 (32-bit |
                64-bit?�​�??�​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​�?/div>



  • </span>[/QUOTE wrote:



    Well i just reinstalled w10 and secure erased the SSD with magician and yeah my SSDs are back to 100% performance.

    I guess i hoped i didnt have to do it, but oh well its fixed now :D so thanks everyone for helping out.

    Time to download all the games again :D but with 350mbit it wont take long haha.


    Well i just reinstalled w10 and secure erased the SSD with magician and yeah my SSDs are back to 100% performance.

    I guess i hoped i didnt have to do it, but oh well its fixed now :D so thanks everyone for helping out.

    Time to download all the games again :D but with 350mbit it wont take long haha.
    Back to Top
    wardog View Drop Down
    Moderator Group
    Moderator Group
    Avatar

    Joined: 15 Jul 2015
    Status: Offline
    Points: 6367
    Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Sep 2017 at 9:29am
    Originally posted by sirtoby1337 sirtoby1337 wrote:

    Well i just reinstalled w10 and secure erased the SSD with magician and yeah my SSDs are back to 100% performance.

    I guess i hoped i didnt have to do it, but oh well its fixed now :D so thanks everyone for helping out.

    Time to download all the games again :D but with 350mbit it wont take long haha.


    Glad to hear.

    Yea. Intel to AMD and vice versa , a fresh OS install.


    Again, it's work, sure. But you've done what is needed/req'd.

    Enjoy
    Back to Top
     Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
      Share Topic   

    Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

    Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
    Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

    This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.