ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - question about ryzen/am4/mobo/ssd
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

question about ryzen/am4/mobo/ssd

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
sirtoby1337 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sirtoby1337 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: question about ryzen/am4/mobo/ssd
    Posted: 11 Sep 2017 at 2:22am
Hi, so i just got myself a ryzen 1700x with asrock Fatal1ty X370 Gaming-ITX/ac and everything Works really well but i got a "problem" with my SSDs (samsung 850 evo 500gb).

The "problem" is that when i benchmark the ssds the IOPS is now at 40-45k instead of the 90k when i was on my old mobo with intel cpu.

So has this something to do with it being asmedia sata? or is it just the motherboard itself or is there something else i missed?...

Installed the AMD chipset drivers etc and its still the same.

PC:
evga 1080 ti
ryzen 1700x
16gb ddr4 g skill trident z 3200mhz 14cl..
evga 650 g3
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2269
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2017 at 3:47am
have you connected the sata drive to sata0 sata1 ?
this is the direct connection to the ryzen cpu  and not the x370 chipset
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2269
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2017 at 3:48am
p.s.
samsung magician version 5.1 is out
it shows better speeds than version 4 or 5 did on my drive
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2017 at 5:39am
sirtoby1337, are you using an M.2 socket - I assume?  If so which one.  Please use the latest Magician (as datonyb recommended) and check the temperatures in the SMART data (on main page below bytes written).  At the top will be a Celsius temperature and further down will be Temperature Sensor 1 and 2.  These are in degrees Kelvin in hex.  Convert sensor 2 to decimal and subtract 273.  This will be the Celsius temperature.  It runs about 10 degrees higher that the temperature at the top on my drives.  I asked Samsung technical support what all this meant and I was guaranteed that the drive had no temperature sensors.  The problem I am pursuing is that the drive throttles at 70 degrees Celsius.  I have purchased and mounted heat sinks on my drives.  Thanks and enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
sirtoby1337 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sirtoby1337 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2017 at 5:50am
[URL=][/URL][URL=][/URL]
Originally posted by MisterJ MisterJ wrote:

[URL=][/URL]sirtoby1337, are you using an M.2 socket - I assume?? If so which one.? Please use the latest Magician (as datonyb recommended) and check the temperatures in the SMART data (on main page below bytes written).? At the top will be a Celsius temperature and further down will be Temperature Sensor 1 and 2.? These are in degrees Kelvin in hex.? Convert sensor 2 to decimal and subtract 273.? This will be the Celsius temperature.? It runs about 10 degrees higher that the temperature at the top on my drives.? I asked Samsung technical support what all this meant and I was guaranteed that the drive had no temperature sensors.? The problem I am pursuing is that the drive throttles at 70 degrees Celsius.? I have purchased and mounted heat sinks on my drives.? Thanks and enjoy, John.


Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

[URL=][/URL]have you connected the sata drive to sata0 sata1 ?
this is the direct connection to the ryzen cpu? and not the x370 chipset


Im using magician 5.1 and its the same there 40-45k IOPS and i tried all the 4 sata ports without luck and the SSDs are 28-32c so doubt its throttling.

I rly dont know why its like this but i had this problem too when i was on my old old mobo that had 2 asmedia ports.. same thing there the speed was reduced alot but that got fixed by moving to 2 ports that used Intel controller.

Edited by sirtoby1337 - 11 Sep 2017 at 6:42am
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2017 at 7:31am
sirtoby1337, queue depth makes a huge difference in IOPS.  I am trying to figure out how to set it, but failing so far.  Other performance tests allow the user to specify queue depth for the test.  Perhaps you should try one.  Have you tried using Rapid Mode in Magician?  If not, please do.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
sirtoby1337 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sirtoby1337 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2017 at 7:32am
After playing with it some more i managed to force the AMD controller driver on the other one that was in device manager and it improved the performance with 50% so im at 60-75k now.. and i think the SSDs already is using the sata controller on the CPU, but i still cant figure out how to get it up to 90k again.

Edited by sirtoby1337 - 11 Sep 2017 at 6:03pm
Back to Top
sirtoby1337 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sirtoby1337 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2017 at 6:06pm
[URL=][/URL][URL=][/URL][URL=][/URL]
Originally posted by MisterJ MisterJ wrote:

[URL=][/URL]sirtoby1337, queue depth makes a huge difference in IOPS.? I am trying to figure out how to set it, but failing so far.? Other performance tests allow the user to specify queue depth for the test.? Perhaps you should try one.? Have you tried using Rapid Mode in Magician?? If not, please do.? Enjoy, John.


Enabled RAPID MODE and results are 3600MB read / 2900 write / and IOPS is worse now at around 40-45k again.

And Magician says this when enabling it too.

from magician
"under current system environment, some functions in magician CANNOT be run.
if multiple iterations of read and write are performed, RAPID mdoe may become inactive due to system internal errors on some of the AMD / AsMedia controller or driver."

But even tho i managed to get the IOPS up to 75k after forcing the AMD controller driver on both controllers the IOPS is still kinda unstable it jumps around between 45-75k so i pretty much only increased the max IOPS but its not stable there at all.

Here is a benchmark with crystaldiskmark showing im way off on the 4k Q32T1 read/write

http://imgur.com/a/WXSvM

Edited by sirtoby1337 - 11 Sep 2017 at 7:04pm
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2269
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2017 at 9:27pm
heres another thought

did you manually check in device manager you have an actual AMD sata driver listed ?

the chipset driver dosnt install this automatically

you have to click each sata generic driver and try to update it manually by pointing it to the amd driver folder

one of your two or three sata drivers will update to amd then
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
sirtoby1337 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 11 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 10
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote sirtoby1337 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11 Sep 2017 at 10:00pm
[URL=][/URL][URL=][/URL]
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

[URL=][/URL]heres another thought

did you manually check in device manager you have an actual AMD sata driver listed ?

the chipset driver dosnt install this automatically

you have to click each sata generic driver and try to update it manually by pointing it to the amd driver folder

one of your two or three sata drivers will update to amd then


I manually updated one of the IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers in device manager with the AMD chipset driver and then the other one i kinda forced to use the AMD chipset driver too since it kept using the microsoft one.

And it only improved the performance by 50% but not stable it go up and down... sometimes 55k and other times 75k.

The driver version is 1.2.1.402 and there is a 1.3.1.277 but i think thats for server or something but it makes performance worse.

Saw on another topic that 7901 is the x370 chipset and 43B5 is the CPU.


Edited by sirtoby1337 - 11 Sep 2017 at 10:33pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.