ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - asrock 870 extreme3 r2.0 not seeing 32GB Ram
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

asrock 870 extreme3 r2.0 not seeing 32GB Ram

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
Konyak View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Konyak Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2017 at 3:02am
Hey guys

Ok, 1600MHz is working.  CPU-Z says the timings are 9-10-9-26-36.  Timings were 10-10-10 at 1833MHz so as you said, the difference will be very slight or 0.53 ns.  (from a CAS chart on wiki) 
I'm not sure if I should look into adjusting the timings further.  I have the voltage still at 1.5v. 

I'm open to suggestions regarding overclocking or tweaking of any sort :) 

Thanks again! 
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2269
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2017 at 5:39am
yeah its simple mate
lower the timings one at a time
restart and run a decent stress test
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2269
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2017 at 5:41am
p.s. we seem to have proved your memory controller is crapping itself at 1833

overall with all that ram ,i dont think you have had a bad result
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6367
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16 Sep 2017 at 10:03am
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

p.s. we seem to have proved your memory controller is crapping itself at 1833

overall with all that ram ,i dont think you have had a bad result


Thumbs Up
Back to Top
Konyak View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 13 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Konyak Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 21 Sep 2017 at 11:48pm
I agree, it is a good result Clap

I have not had much time to mess around with timings, I need to read up on some things there and find a good memory stress tester.  I downloaded HCI Memtest but it only allowed me to test 2000MB per session ( I ran 6, one for each core ) and the computer was frozen when I returned some hours later. 

That was at the 9-10-9 timings which auto settings selected, but the Ram is listed at 10-10-10.  Perhaps it's already unstable at 9-10-9.  
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 2269
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Sep 2017 at 1:16am
frozen could have been an issue with sleep mode and the full on test at same time

which is something you probably wouldnt encounter in real use
[url=https://valid.x86.fr/jpg250][/url]

3800X, powercolor reddevil vega64, gskill tridentz3866, taichix370, evga750watt gold
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.