ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Loading A-XMP profile
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Loading A-XMP profile

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
dhavalbbhatt View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dhavalbbhatt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Loading A-XMP profile
    Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 12:31am
Hello all,
I have Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Gaming X motherboard with BIOS version 3.10. I have been trying to overclock the CPU and RAM. I believe I have the CPU to where I need for it to be w.r.t. overclocking it. With regards to overclocking RAM (Gskill Flare X Series DDR4-2133 PC4 17000), I was hoping to do that by loading A-XMP profile, however, I can't seem to find it on this motherboard/BIOS. Can someone let me know how to load that profile ? Do I need to upgrade to 3.20 version for BIOS?

Motherboard: Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Gaming X
CPU: AMD Ryzen 1700 (currently overclocked to 3.6GHz @ 1.1875V)
RAM: GSkill Flare X Series 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4-2133 PC4 17000 SDRAM
Cooler: Stock AMD cooler (Wraith)

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Dhaval
Dhaval
Fatal1ty x370 Gaming X | Ryzen 1700 @ 3.725GHz/1.275v | GSkill Flare X 4x8GB OC @ 2667/1.275v | MSI GeForce1030 ITX 2GB | WD 256GB NVMe | Noctua NHD15AM4 | Win 10 | Ubuntu 17.04 | BIOS 3.10
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6367
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 3:29am
It'll be XMP, not A-XMP.

It should be shown when on the top of the OC Tweaker page you change CPU Frequency and Voltage Change to Manual
Back to Top
dhavalbbhatt View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dhavalbbhatt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 4:50am
I will check for that, but I am sure I did not see that. Like I mentioned, I have overclocked the CPU, so I would have expected to see it - but I will check for it again.

Thanks!
Dhaval
Fatal1ty x370 Gaming X | Ryzen 1700 @ 3.725GHz/1.275v | GSkill Flare X 4x8GB OC @ 2667/1.275v | MSI GeForce1030 ITX 2GB | WD 256GB NVMe | Noctua NHD15AM4 | Win 10 | Ubuntu 17.04 | BIOS 3.10
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6367
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 4:53am
Originally posted by dhavalbbhatt dhavalbbhatt wrote:

I will check for that, but I am sure I did not see that. Like I mentioned, I have overclocked the CPU, so I would have expected to see it - but I will check for it again.

Thanks!


That's what I was thinking as I typed that out? "He OC'd his CPU w/o changing to Manual?"
Back to Top
dhavalbbhatt View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dhavalbbhatt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 9:28am
Well, I did check and I am not seeing a place where I can load XMP profile. Maybe I will try to manually overclock the RAM. BTW, I have also heard about issues with 4 sticks of RAM, wondering if that is what is causing the issues.

Thanks,
Dhaval
Dhaval
Fatal1ty x370 Gaming X | Ryzen 1700 @ 3.725GHz/1.275v | GSkill Flare X 4x8GB OC @ 2667/1.275v | MSI GeForce1030 ITX 2GB | WD 256GB NVMe | Noctua NHD15AM4 | Win 10 | Ubuntu 17.04 | BIOS 3.10
Back to Top
parsec View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 04 May 2015
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 4996
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote parsec Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 11:24am
Originally posted by dhavalbbhatt dhavalbbhatt wrote:

Hello all,
I have Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Gaming X motherboard with BIOS version 3.10. I have been trying to overclock the CPU and RAM. I believe I have the CPU to where I need for it to be w.r.t. overclocking it. With regards to overclocking RAM (Gskill Flare X Series DDR4-2133 PC4 17000), I was hoping to do that by loading A-XMP profile, however, I can't seem to find it on this motherboard/BIOS. Can someone let me know how to load that profile ? Do I need to upgrade to 3.20 version for BIOS?

Motherboard: Asrock Fatal1ty X370 Gaming X
CPU: AMD Ryzen 1700 (currently overclocked to 3.6GHz @ 1.1875V)
RAM: GSkill Flare X Series 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4-2133 PC4 17000 SDRAM
Cooler: Stock AMD cooler (Wraith)

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Dhaval


What UEFI/BIOS version is in your board? The Main screen of the UEFI will display the version installed.

Given your board's manual, and our experience with the early UEFI versions in the AM4 boards, the Load XMP Profile option may be simply not available. As said above, it will be in the OC Tweaker screen, unless for your board it was put in the DRAM Configuration screen.

Regardless, I have a question about your memory. You listed it in your first post as: GSkill Flare X Series 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4-2133 PC4 17000.

Is that the G.SKILL memory model number F4-2133C15Q-32GFX kit? This for example:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820232517&ignorebbr=1

If so, and the memory speed you listed is 2133, then I doubt that your memory has an XMP profile.

XMP profiles are usually for memory over clocks, not the stock speed of the memory, also called the JEDEC speed of the memory. For Ryzen processors, memory speeds above 2666 are memory over clocks. Memory is sold at its highest rated speed, even if it is an over clock. If your memory is sold as 2133 speed, then it most likely does not have an XMP profile, which could explain why you don't have an option to enable the XMP profile.

What is the G.SKILL model number of your memory?


Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6367
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 11:43am
Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:

If so, and the memory speed you listed is 2133, then I doubt that your memory has an XMP profile.


Good call. If that is his G.Skill PN, it doesn't.
Back to Top
dhavalbbhatt View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: USA
Status: Offline
Points: 13
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote dhavalbbhatt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15 Sep 2017 at 1:23pm
Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:



What UEFI/BIOS version is in your board? The Main screen of the UEFI will display the version installed.



It is version 3.10.

Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:



Regardless, I have a question about your memory. You listed it in your first post as: GSkill Flare X Series 32GB (4x8GB) DDR4-2133 PC4 17000.

Is that the G.SKILL memory model number F4-2133C15Q-32GFX kit? This for example:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820232517&ignorebbr=1


Yes, that is exactly the RAM memory that I have.


Originally posted by parsec parsec wrote:


If so, and the memory speed you listed is 2133, then I doubt that your memory has an XMP profile.

XMP profiles are usually for memory over clocks, not the stock speed of the memory, also called the JEDEC speed of the memory. For Ryzen processors, memory speeds above 2666 are memory over clocks. Memory is sold at its highest rated speed, even if it is an over clock. If your memory is sold as 2133 speed, then it most likely does not have an XMP profile, which could explain why you don't have an option to enable the XMP profile.



I suppose that explains why I don't see the XMP profile. Having said that, is that also the reason why I can't seem to OC the RAM? Can't this RAM be over clocked, even manually? I would hope that is not the case.

Thanks,
Dhaval
Dhaval
Fatal1ty x370 Gaming X | Ryzen 1700 @ 3.725GHz/1.275v | GSkill Flare X 4x8GB OC @ 2667/1.275v | MSI GeForce1030 ITX 2GB | WD 256GB NVMe | Noctua NHD15AM4 | Win 10 | Ubuntu 17.04 | BIOS 3.10
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.