ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X399 Dr. Debug EE error
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X399 Dr. Debug EE error

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
xumepoc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Jun 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xumepoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X399 Dr. Debug EE error
    Posted: 17 Sep 2017 at 12:08am
Anyone knows what is code EE on post? It is missing from the site info
Back to Top
wardog View Drop Down
Moderator Group
Moderator Group
Avatar

Joined: 15 Jul 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 6367
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote wardog Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 2017 at 12:18am
New build, or one that's ran fine?

Guessing new build. Do you have a HDD/SSD connected?
Back to Top
xumepoc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Jun 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xumepoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 2017 at 12:22am
Yes it is a new build. I have ssd and hdd connected
Back to Top
xumepoc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Jun 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xumepoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 2017 at 3:10am
I switched from E5-2667 v3/X99 ASRock Extreme6/3.1 and RDIMM ECC. Could it be the RDIMM ECC memory. Shouldn't then be one of the codes for memory not "EE"?  
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 2017 at 3:16am
xumepoc, ASRock needs to publish a compete list of all codes their boards can produce.

EE - Reserved for future AMI error codes 31

I found this here, a more complete list: http://forum.hwbot.org/showthread.php?t=16017

31 says Memory installed.  Check your memory and if all looks OK, remove all but one and see if it will boot.  You MUST post all your system specifications for us to have a chance of helping you!  Please see mine in my signature.  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
xumepoc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Jun 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xumepoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 2017 at 3:25am
Specs:
Motherboard: Fatal1ty X399 Professional Gaming
CPU: AMD Ryzen 1950X
Memory: Kingston KVR21R15S4K4/32 RAM 32 GB 2133 MHz DDR4 ECC Reg CL15 DIMM Kit <-- I think this is the probem as it is RDIMM, not UDIMM
Video: Asus Strix 1080 Gaming
PSU: EVGA 850
SSD/HDD: Sasmung 850 Pro 500GB

If I remove the memory I get C0, not the expected 55 Confused


Edited by xumepoc - 17 Sep 2017 at 3:27am
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 2017 at 3:45am
xumepoc, the board description says specifically that UDIMM is supported, so you are correct, RDIMM will not work.  ECC is supported and should work OK.  I think others here have successfully used ECC.  You will need to get some unbuffered memory and try it.  "C0 - OEM BDS initialization codes" and I do not know what that means.  BDS means "Boot Device Selection".  What are you booting from?  Enjoy, John.
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
xumepoc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Jun 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xumepoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 2017 at 3:50am
I know ECC will work if the dimms are unbuffered, but I had RDIMM from the previous Xeon/X99 build so I thought to try. But it is strange to get this code and not something else. I will order some unbuffered non ECC 3200 memory. 

I boot from Samsung 850 Pro, but I can't even get to the UEFI to reach the boot sequence 
Back to Top
MisterJ View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Apr 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 1082
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MisterJ Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 2017 at 4:20am
xumepoc, I suggest you get some memory on the Qualified list.  It looks like to me that TR does not have the AGESA for faster memory (1.0.0.6b in Ryzen 1800X, I have 1.0.0.3), so hopefully the SPD will be below 3200 MHZ, I am waiting to try higher performance memory till after a new AGESA and BIOS are released.  I have opened technical support tickets with both AMD and ASRock over this issue.  Please keep us informed.  Enjoy, John.

EDIT: I would think you should be able to boot into BIOS by hitting F2 up front without needing a boot device.  When I first booted my TR, it booted to a message saying no OS found and I could boot into BIOS with F2 with no problem.


Edited by MisterJ - 17 Sep 2017 at 4:24am
Fat1 X399 Pro Gaming, TR 1950X, RAID0 3xSamsung SSD 960 EVO, G.SKILL FlareX F4-3200C14Q-32GFX, Win 10 x64 Pro, Enermx Platimax 850, Enermx Liqtech TR4 CPU Cooler, Radeon RX580, BIOS 2.00, 2xHDDs WD
Back to Top
xumepoc View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 21 Jun 2016
Status: Offline
Points: 16
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote xumepoc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17 Sep 2017 at 4:27am
I choose Corsair CMK32GX4M4B3200C16 Vengeance LPX 32 GB which is in the compatible list for X399 Fatal1ty Pro Gaming.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.