ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - cannot start up from the network with Wake On Lan
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

cannot start up from the network with Wake On Lan

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
pan883 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06 Aug 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 6
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote pan883 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: cannot start up from the network with Wake On Lan
    Posted: 22 Sep 2017 at 3:38pm
I want to start with Wake On Lan from the power off state on Win10, but I can not do it. 

X370 Gaming K4 BIOS set the following setting to Enabled.
1. Advanced / ACPI Configuration / PCIE Decices Power On
2. Boot / Boot from Onboard LAN
I also tried making the latest version of Intel's network driver, but it does not change.

Thanks for help in advance.

Back to Top
ASRock_TSD View Drop Down
ASRock_Official
ASRock_Official


Joined: 20 Mar 2015
Status: Offline
Points: 2092
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ASRock_TSD Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22 Sep 2017 at 3:45pm
Dear pan883,

Greetings, this is ASRock TSD.


Please refer to the following steps for setting up Wake On Lan function:
1. BIOS setting:
Step1: Power on the system.
Step2: When POST screen is displaying then press the keyboard "Del" key to enter to the BIOS setting.
Step3: Switch to Advanced page, select ACPI Configuration, change PCIE Devices Power On to Enabled.
Step4: Press "F10" key to save the BIOS setting and restart the system.

2. Network adapter settings:
Step1: Start Windows and open Device Manager.
Step2: Expand "Network adapter", right-click "Intel (R) I 211 Gigabit Network Connection", and click "Properties".
Step3: Select the "Power Management" tab.
Step4: Please check "Enable computer to release standby state on this device".
Step5: Next, click the "Advanced Settings" tab, select the "Wake on Magic Packet" from the "Property" column, confirm that the "Value" is "Enabled" and click the "OK" button.

3. Check the power option:
Step1: Open the Power Option item in control panel.
Step2: Click the Choose what the power buttons do link.
Step3: Click Change settings that are currently unavailable.
Step4: Clear the Turn on fast startup(recommend) check box.
Step5: Click Save changes.
After above setting, WOL function should work properly.


Thanks!

All the best,
ASRock TSD

Back to Top
Kagey_bee View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Nov 2017
Location: Australia
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Kagey_bee Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 01 Nov 2017 at 3:49pm
These instructions dont work.

I've enabled everything I need to in bios. I've followed the instructions in Windows the best I can. However they don't seem to be 100% accurate to what I see in Windows 10.



This image shows an example of what in see. Not actually taken from my pc. But it's the same. No "Enable computer to release standby state on this device" option.

Power options regarding fast startup also don't exist.
Back to Top
hellsolo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 25 Jun 2018
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote hellsolo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Jun 2018 at 3:05am
Hello, I was looking for a solution to the problem with WOL and found, specially registered here to share with you. I have the same motherboard. In order for everything to work, download the driver for the network adapter from the official Intel site, and in his settings put a tick opposite - "WOMP from power off state". In BIOS, turn on the PCI power. Hope i am helped you.
Back to Top
ggalt View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 04 Feb 2019
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ggalt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Feb 2019 at 3:00am
Any suggestions for Linux? Loading a device driver (windows based) or using the Windows settings dialog is not an option.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.