ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > OverClocking(OC) Zone > OC Technical Discussion
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - X299 Overclock Per Core
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

X299 Overclock Per Core

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
ksnyder View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ksnyder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: X299 Overclock Per Core
    Posted: 23 Sep 2017 at 4:55am
I have an Asrock X299 Taichi motherboard. I overclocked my Intel 7820x to 4.4ghz. I have been able to overclock at a relatively low voltage of 1.125 volts. While rendering in Cinema 4d, I can render for extended periods and never get out of the mid-70s using my AIO (on quiet mode). I would like to run my machine at 4.6 GHz as Adobe After Effects works better with higher frequencies. In order to hit 4.6 GHz, I generate too much heat while rendering in Cinema 4D (it creates as much heat as AIDA64). I could create two different profiles for the different programs, but I don't want to bounce around with my settings. I would rather just leave it on one setting. Unfortunately, my Core #3 runs about 8 degrees hotter than the other cores. If Core #3 was cooler, 4.6 GHz temps would be much lower. To keep Core #3 cooler, I would like to run all cores at 4.6 GHz and run Core #3 at 4.4 GHz.

Is it possible to do that using per core settings?

Thank you for any advice you can offer. 

Kevin
Back to Top
bahgoogen View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bahgoogen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2017 at 8:28am
Did you OC using the BIOS or the Intel Extreme Tuning Utility?
I'm interested in a similar thing, but i don't have much experience with overclocking.

I have the same MB with a 7900x.

You can definitely use per-core OC's using the Intel Tuning Utility, but i'm not sure where to find it in the BIOS.
Back to Top
ksnyder View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 07 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ksnyder Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Oct 2017 at 1:39am
I was looking at doing the per core overclock in the Bios. When you set the CPU speed, you can change it to per core instead of all cores. There are two options for per core, but the documentation is really limited. I assume that most people don't use the feature. I opted for an all core overclock. I have noticed that if you turn off SpeedStep and SpeedShift my overclock is much faster in some programs. Adobe After Effects renders a project 2 minutes faster with them off. 
Back to Top
bahgoogen View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 22 Sep 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 12
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bahgoogen Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Oct 2017 at 11:10am
That's interesting. I tested your theory and it's absolutely true.
Weird how by turning off SpeedStep that you can get a faster render from AE, when theoretically it should be boosting to that frequency and beyond when needed via speedstep.

I wonder if there's any other pitfalls of having Speedstep off all the time other than the constant higher power draw. i have turned mine off for now also as my primary app is AE and any way i can shave off 20% off my render times is good for me.

I even turned speedstep back on and set an all-cores OC to 4.4 and it still wasnt as fast as no-OC with speedstep off.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.046 seconds.