ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - vCores please [1700x/TaiChi]
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

vCores please [1700x/TaiChi]

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Message
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1011
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2017 at 4:56am
yes the vcore dropping itself ONLY started from bios 3.1 onwards (or maybe version3)
all bios before that the vcore stayed firmly at 1.3 volts

as ive said i cannot explain why, i am quite strict and practised at setting up my overclock
(i still follow techcity's you tube guide which was based on bios version 1.6)

all i can say is

it works well for me Smile

the down-volting wasnt required as has been proven enough even stuck at 1.3 volt the cpu's current drops off when on idle as does the temps so i never bothered with worrying about downvolting (i still get 23 degrees idle)
and yes i use ryzen power plan

im U.K. based as well
south london your welcome to pm me for a phone call if you want
Back to Top
VUMeter View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Sep 2017
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 42
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VUMeter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04 Oct 2017 at 6:02pm
Cor blimey, cheers cobber! ;)
OK, so it might be worth me just going to v3.10 if not for the potential for it to down volt itself, but to get the fan control options as well.

You raise an interesting point.  Volts aren't necessarily heat.  There is another component in the Ivy-Watts equation, current.  Current the actual amount of flow of electrons, rather than the steepness of the gradient and thus their speed.  Low current  = low heat with same volts.  Though low volts and low current mean lower temps (potentially) longer life etc.

Mine is sitting around 23°C Tdie on idle and 25.5°C T-socket on idle.  NH-U14s A14 is on 20% duty ~350rpm, Fractal GP-14s on medium setting (7v).

I'll take a gander at techcity and see what notes I can take.

Thanks for the offer to chat.  I may take you up on that if I get real stuck.  It'll be a message sent from the RPi crying "Help" when something won't turn on :D


Aside from these tweaks, every morning I put this machine on I have a great big smile on my face as it boots quicker than I can put a T-shirt on, and is taking everything I can throw at it, and quietly!
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1011
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 05 Oct 2017 at 1:41am
bryans you tube taichi overclocking guide

second half is the p states bit

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=52Tw-wcT7o4
Back to Top
VUMeter View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Sep 2017
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 42
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VUMeter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2017 at 7:42pm
...back to this again.

I thought I'd have another little play around.
Dropped Fixed Voltage to 1.325 (minus 4).

CPU MHz still drop to ~2.2GHz and boost up to XFR speed to ~3.9GHz, so all is working there.

I think I still need a little clarification on just what numbers I should be monitoring:

Individual Core VID I think might be a bit bogus - well 1.55v is shocking if not!
We know that the frequency isn't strictly true either, as when using "Ryzen Balanced" powerplan, the frequency is pegged at max always.

The bottom screen grab shows two lots of info that might be at least believable.
However, who's numbers are correct?  I know the 'Tdie' is a real sensor on the chip, and the 'CPU' temp (lower) is the Tsocket sensor in the motherboard.
But regarding voltages?  I set it to 1.325 LL2, so they are both quite close.





My temps are still nicely low, and I don't see 1.4v+ any longer, so that's good.  I haven't yet ventured into P-states, but could do so.

Maybe I should check out UEFI 3.1 and see if the vCore drops off more when idle, as this is pretty static, even though the low temp shows that it's clearly not burning the chip up.
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1011
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Dec 2017 at 7:49pm
since writing the above
i have been playing myself
mainly getting my ram sorted

i now overclock a little different

i dont set p states anymore
i just liteally set freq, and volts on the oc tweaker page (top section)
and leave the lower voltage set to auto (further down page)
i do however set the llc to l2 down the page
0.384 - 0.688 on idle  while still at 3.9 ghz

im still on bios 3.1 (and will be for a while )
Back to Top
VUMeter View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 14 Sep 2017
Location: UK
Status: Offline
Points: 42
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote VUMeter Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2017 at 3:42am
Interesting you say that you adjust the uppermost voltage, and not the lower.
I found that if I edit the voltage lower down the page it makes a difference, whilst the upper does not.

Maybe I need to jump to p3.10.

I am still very impressed at just what this system is capable of.  It's mildly annoying that the router and modem take longer to start than this PC gets to the Windows desktop, I never expected that to be the case.


Note: These are not actual screen shots of what I have edited.
In the top image I have it set to Auto.
In the bottom image I have it set to Fixed mode, 1.325v Level 2 for both LLC options.

It looks like there is still some playing around here to get the most out of it.  AS far as I am concerned, I am totally happy with the stock performance and have no need to disable that.  But why have extra volts running through it when they aren't needed?
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2016 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.