ASRock.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > Technical Support > AMD Motherboards
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - ASRock x370 Gaming X Memory Compatibility is fake?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

ASRock x370 Gaming X Memory Compatibility is fake?

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
Author
Message Reverse Sort Order
MrMoon View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 03 Feb 2018
Location: Guatemala
Status: Offline
Points: 7
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote MrMoon Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: ASRock x370 Gaming X Memory Compatibility is fake?
    Posted: 03 Feb 2018 at 2:22am
AB350+ Ryzen 5 1600 (stock clock) + Patriot Viper 4 RAM (pv416g340c6k), i confirm that with BIOS 4.40 RAM runs at 3333MHz with XMP profile.
Back to Top
Ron3438 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 25 Nov 2017
Location: FL
Status: Offline
Points: 1
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ron3438 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25 Nov 2017 at 1:53am
I have same MB and CPU, Ryzen CPU only can handle memory to 3000hz. I got 3200 as well but it will not quite reach 3000 in reality.
Ron Haight
Back to Top
Lobsang15 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 02 Oct 2017
Location: Indonesia
Status: Offline
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Lobsang15 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 2017 at 1:21pm
Ive been using x370 gaming x + ryzen 5 1600 stock clock + patriot viper pv416g340c6k (2x8gb). Bios 3.20 newest

Xmp profile enable, running on 3200mhz 16-17-17-17-36. 1,35voltage, and everything else on auto. Sticked in dram slot a2 - b2

That setting is the most stable for playing games hours without crashing nor bluescreen, cool boot no issue.

This is my first asrock mobo and had no problems so far. Before i was with msi+fx8370e the vrm got too hot when OC so i sold it n upgrade to am4.

Edited by Lobsang15 - 14 Oct 2017 at 1:21pm
Back to Top
Ivan_83 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 78
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ivan_83 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 14 Oct 2017 at 2:02am
Yes, gigabyte gaming 3 is crap.
It was my first am4 mobo, and I RMA it in fist weak because VRM overheat.
You can get 3200 and save 400$ but it not work under full load long time without very active cooling.
If you want gigabyte that choose between:
Aorus GA-AX370-Gaming K7
Aorus GA-AX370-Gaming 5
only these two have good VRM on IR35201 6 phases.

Asrock make 6 phases even on cheap A320M Pro4/AB350M Pro4/AB350 Pro4 (ISL95712 and 3 doubled phases = 6 phases)

https://www.hardwareluxx.de/community/f12/pga-am4-mainboard-vrm-liste-1155146.html
IMHO if mobo does not have 6 phases (real or 3 doubled) - that it crap that can work only with 65 Watt TDP CPU without overclocking, and requires good cooling.

By my personal VRM criteria:
- almost all asrock is good
- almost all: asus, gigabyte, biostar and msi - is crap.


PS: I never use asrock before am4, I use 4years with asus, 3 years with epox and last ~10 gigabyte.
I try gigabyte at first with am4 and fail die to bad VRM design.
I see gigabyte for intel and compare gigbyte for AM4 - and see only ultra low price mobos and two highend (really one with differ only one chip). No ud3, ud5 and other REAL middle segment are present.

ASRock not ideal, but for am4 now it is more good than all other.
Back to Top
Valter84 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Valter84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 13 Oct 2017 at 3:26pm
Originally posted by Ivan_83 Ivan_83 wrote:

gigabyte ab350 gaming 3 - is CRAP!
Goto bios, and wait for 1 hour. VRM will overheat and mobo tuns off, or you need agressive cooling system.
For sure the gigabyte ab350 gaming 3 is worse then the asrock x370 gaming x but I am able to use my memory @ 3200mhz and I have saved 40??
Amd Ryzen 7 1700 (3800mhz @ 1.28750v)
MasterLiquid 120 Lite
ASROCK x370 Gaminx X (bios V3.20)
2x8Gb hx432c16pb3k2/16 @ 3066mhz
Kingston 500Gb SSD
GigaByte 1080Ti Xtr Ed
Seasonic 850w Plat
Corsair 200R
Back to Top
Ivan_83 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22 May 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 78
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Ivan_83 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 12 Oct 2017 at 10:07pm
gigabyte ab350 gaming 3 - is CRAP!
Goto bios, and wait for 1 hour. VRM will overheat and mobo tuns off, or you need agressive cooling system.
Back to Top
Valter84 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Valter84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 10 Oct 2017 at 3:58pm
Hello, I have retorned this motherboard and move to gigabyte ab350 gaming 3.
I am now able to get 3200mhz from my memory.
Thank you for your help.
Amd Ryzen 7 1700 (3800mhz @ 1.28750v)
MasterLiquid 120 Lite
ASROCK x370 Gaminx X (bios V3.20)
2x8Gb hx432c16pb3k2/16 @ 3066mhz
Kingston 500Gb SSD
GigaByte 1080Ti Xtr Ed
Seasonic 850w Plat
Corsair 200R
Back to Top
Valter84 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Valter84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07 Oct 2017 at 4:20am
Originally posted by datonyb datonyb wrote:

your cpu voltage is on the low side for 3.8

this may be part of the issue
it is not extremely low but it is in the region of stable only with the top 20-25% maybe of 1700's

i would advise if trying/testing ram stability to increase it to known good voltages to eleiminate that from the equation (e.g. 1.35+ volts) while you are testing ram
When I am testing ram OC, I always set cpu to auto.
Amd Ryzen 7 1700 (3800mhz @ 1.28750v)
MasterLiquid 120 Lite
ASROCK x370 Gaminx X (bios V3.20)
2x8Gb hx432c16pb3k2/16 @ 3066mhz
Kingston 500Gb SSD
GigaByte 1080Ti Xtr Ed
Seasonic 850w Plat
Corsair 200R
Back to Top
datonyb View Drop Down
Senior Member
Senior Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2017
Location: London U.K.
Status: Offline
Points: 1728
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote datonyb Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Oct 2017 at 8:58pm
your cpu voltage is on the low side for 3.8

this may be part of the issue
it is not extremely low but it is in the region of stable only with the top 20-25% maybe of 1700's

i would advise if trying/testing ram stability to increase it to known good voltages to eleiminate that from the equation (e.g. 1.35+ volts) while you are testing ram

r7 1700 powercolor reddevil vega64 gskill tridentz3866 taichi x370 evga 750watt gold
Back to Top
Valter84 View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 01 Oct 2017
Status: Offline
Points: 18
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Valter84 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Oct 2017 at 5:38am
I have news.

I am already able to boot with 3200mhz but the system is not stable.
I have set xmp profile 1, set 2T, gear down mode and power down disabled, vdcr +300mv and dram voltage to 1.395.
The system boots, I can shut down the pc or restart it and always boots fine but windows is unstable.
Getting blue screens and all software to test system stability fails.

I hope that with another bios update from asrock we fix these issues. I have researched and there is a review online for the same specific RAM modules I have and the guy was able to get 3200mhz stable from a ryzen 7 1700 with a gigabyte x370 gaming 5.

So for now, I am runing @ 3066mhz but changed the settings to 16-17-17-36-34-1T. Ram Voltage 1.375 and VDCR +180mv. I also have changed cpu voltage to 1.2875 @ 3800mhz. It`s stable and I am getting 1657 on Cinebench.

I hope this will help others.

Best regards,



Edited by Valter84 - 06 Oct 2017 at 5:49am
Amd Ryzen 7 1700 (3800mhz @ 1.28750v)
MasterLiquid 120 Lite
ASROCK x370 Gaminx X (bios V3.20)
2x8Gb hx432c16pb3k2/16 @ 3066mhz
Kingston 500Gb SSD
GigaByte 1080Ti Xtr Ed
Seasonic 850w Plat
Corsair 200R
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 4>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.06
Copyright ©2001-2018 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.